Skip to main content

Library: Policy

317:30-5-660. Eligible providers

Revised 9-1-21

(a) FQHCs are community-based health care providers that receive federal funds to provide primary care services in underserved areas. FQHCs may be Community Health Centers, Migrant Health Centers, Health Care for the Homeless, and Health Centers for Residents of Public Housing. The facilities in this Part may also be referred to as "Health Centers" or "Centers".

(b) To qualify as an FQHC SoonerCare provider, Health Centers must meet one (1) of the following requirements:

(1) Received a grant under Section 330 of the Public Health Service (PHS) Act or is funded by the same grant contracted to the recipient;

(2) Based on the recommendation of the Health Resources and Services Administration within the Public Health Service, is determined by the Secretary to meet the requirements for receiving such a grant, which qualifies the entity as an "FQHC look-alike";

(3) Treated by the Secretary of HHS as a comprehensive federally funded health center; or

(4) Operating as an outpatient health program or facility of a tribe or tribal organization under the Indian Self-Determination Act or as an urban Indian organization getting funds under Title V of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act.

(c) Any entity seeking to qualify as a FQHC should contact the U.S. Public Health Service.

Back to Top