Skip to main content


Wednesday, May 08, 2019

Oklahoma City, Okla. (May 8, 2019) – Governor Kevin Stitt today amended an executive order declaring a State of Emergency to include 14 additional counties impacted by the latest round of severe weather that began April 30.

Counties added to the governor’s declaration are: Alfalfa, Beckham, Caddo, Custer, Dewey, Greer, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Jackson, Noble, Roger Mills, Washita, Woods.

As severe weather has continued to impact the state, these counties have experienced flooding, severe storms, tornadoes, and straight-line winds during. Damage assessments are ongoing and, in some areas, cannot be completed until floodwater recedes.

The 52 counties listed in the governor’s original declaration on May 1 are Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington.

Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.


Last Modified on Aug 13, 2021
Back to Top