Skip to main content

State lawmakers honor Oklahoma Department of Corrections employees

Monday, May 06, 2019
Employees honored on senate floor

OKLAHOMA CITY – State lawmakers honored Oklahoma Department of Corrections employees today at the Capitol, marking their service and commemorating their sacrifice in service of the State of Oklahoma and its citizens.

ODOC staff, correctional officers, probation and parole officers, and volunteers were on the House and Senate floors as lawmakers recognized them with standing ovations and handshakes.

In the Senate, Sen. Wayne Shaw, R-Grove, sponsored the resolution honoring agency staff. In the House, Rep. Justin Humphrey, R-Lane, sponsored the resolution in that body.

“Every day, our staff give their all for the State of Oklahoma and its citizens,” ODOC Director Joe M. Allbaugh said. “This is our way of thanking them for their sacrifice and hard work. We thank all of the legislators who sponsored the resolutions honoring these dutiful employees.”

The individuals honored on the floor on Monday were the honorees from last year’s employee awards ceremony for ODOC, Oklahoma’s second-largest agency by employee-count.

They included a Dick Conner Correctional Center sergeant who comforted an accident victim after a wreck, and an Oklahoma City-area church that donated audio and video equipment to Joseph Harp Correctional Center inmates, allowing them to participate in church services.

The award recipients were:

Sgt. DaRell Guess, Dick Conner Correctional Center – Award of Merit

Correctional Officer Rodney Spencer, North Fork Correctional Center – Medal of Valor*

Deborah Moore, Division Support Coordinator – Agency Employee of the Year

Sgt. Tyler Babbie, Mabel Bassett Correctional Center – Agency Correctional Officer of the Year

Brandi Chamberlain – Agency Probation and Parole Officer of the Year

Lt. Steve Clay, Jess Dunn Correctional Center – Agency Correctional Officer Supervisor of the Year

Probation and Parole Officer Jonathan Herlan – Agency Probation and Parole Supervisor of the Year

Sally Stone, Eddie Warrior Correctional Center – Agency Teacher of the Year

Rainey Alvarado, LPN – Agency Nurse of the Year

Stan and Pat Mills – Agency Volunteers of the Year

Crossings Community Church – Agency Volunteer Organization of the Year

Jonathan Herlan’s Region I Probation & Parole – Team Excellence Award

*Spencer no longer works for ODOC.


Employees honored on the House floor

Back to Top