Skip to main content

ODOC honors 20 staff at 2017 Employee Awards ceremony

Friday, November 17, 2017

Group photo of the 2017 employee award winners. 2017 Employee Award winners 

OKLAHOMA CITY - The Oklahoma Department of Corrections held its annual Employee Awards ceremony Nov. 17 at 11:30 a.m. at the Will Rogers Theatre in Oklahoma City. Nineteen employees were honored for their hard work and dedication to the agency and the State of Oklahoma.

The ceremony began with the Presentation of the Colors by Oklahoma Department of Corrections Honor Guard. The ODOC Honor Guard included Jason Madris, Cayla Seawright, Kameron Bonard and David Edelman. Kimberley Owen, the Executive Assistant to the Director, sang the national anthem.

ODOC Director, Joe Allbaugh, welcomed attendees and provided opening remarks. Sen. Roger Thompson, R-District 8, was the keynote speaker. Thompson commended ODOC employees’ work ethic and dedication to the rehabilitation of the inmate population. Agency Chaplain and Volunteer Coordinator Leo Brown gave the invocation before lunch was served.

Board of Corrections member Adam Luck, Rep. Greg Babinec, R-District 33, and Director Allbaugh presented the awards while Director of Communications, Matt Elliott, read biographies of each award winner.

While 20 employees received awards, the ODOC is deeply grateful for all staff’s commitment and excellence in continuing its mission to serve the public, its employees and the inmate population.

The employees who received awards are listed below.

 Volunteer of the Year - Christie Luther

Volunteer Organization of the Year - Kay Stout

Teacher of the Year - Sherri Toole

Nurse of the Year - Jody Miller

Oklahoma Department of Corrections Special Commendations - Mike McMillen

Oklahoma State Penitentiary Special Commendations Group Oklahoma Department of Corrections Special Commendations - Ty Hull

Meritorious Service Award - Tyler Broussard

Correctional Officer of the Year - Tammy Werner

Correctional Supervisor of the Year - Bryan Cox

Probation and Parole Officer of the Year - Cassandra Wylie

Employee of the Year - Michele Minietta

Back to Top