Skip to main content

The Oklahoma Veterans Commission

The Oklahoma Veterans Commission shall consist of nine (9) members all of whom shall be honorably discharged veterans; provided, one of the members shall be a veteran of the Vietnam Conflict and two shall be veterans of the Persian Gulf Wars.

The members shall be selected in the following manner:

The state executive board or committees of the veterans' organizations named in this section shall each submit to the Governor a list of five persons qualified to serve as members of the Oklahoma Veterans Commission. All appointments shall be broadly representative of the veterans of this state in terms of age, gender, and race or ethnicity.

  • American Legion
  • Veterans of Foreign Wars 
  • Disabled American Veterans 
  • Paralyzed Veterans of America 
  • Military Order of the Purple Heart 
  • National Guard Association of Oklahoma

The Governor shall name one member from each of these organizations to serve on the Commission. The Governor shall also appoint three members at large, one of whom may be a non-Veteran on the condition they have a family member residing in one of the state’s 7 Veterans Centers.

The members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Governor with advice and consent of the Senate, and shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. When a vacancy on the Oklahoma Veterans Commission occurs, the organization which is represented by the vacant position shall submit a list of five names to the Governor. The Governor shall choose a replacement from that list. 

No member of the Oklahoma Veterans Commission shall be employed by the Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs during the time of his or her service on the Oklahoma Veterans Commission nor shall any person who served as a member of the Oklahoma Veterans Commission be employed by the Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs subsequent to his or her service on the Commission for a period of two (2) years.

In addition, it administers the veterans program in Oklahoma through a Director appointed by and responsible to the Commission. The Office of the Director is maintained in the central office which is located in the Vezey Veterans Complex, 2132 NE 36th Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. From this location, the Director exercises operational oversight of the two principal operations of the Department: The Oklahoma Veterans Homes and the Claims and Benefits Division.

Meet Our Commissioners

Please click on the image above to meet our Commissioners and read their Bios.

Get Involved

The images above will direct to all information required by the Oklahoma Open Meetings Act.

Back to Top