Skip to main content

Attention:

If you applied for or received your intial OMMA business license before August 30, 2019, and your renewal application has been rejected for failure to meet the 2-year/5-year residency requirements, please submit your application. 

Guidance for Physicians

New Program Changes for Physicians:

  • Podiatrists- Physicians licensed by and in good standing with the Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners will be authorized to recommend medical marijuana. Please select this board on patients’ Physician Recommendation Form if you are a podiatrist that meets these requirements.
  • Short-term Licenses - A new short-term, 60-day medical marijuana patient license will be available for Oklahoma patients whose physician recommendation is only valid for 60 days. Patients will need to provide a 60-Day Physician Recommendation Form, which will be available on this webpage, and select this license type in their online application.
  • Physician Termination of Patient Licenses – Recommending physicians will be authorized by law to terminate the license of a patient who no longer meets the requirements for the continued use of medical marijuana. Recommending physicians who wish to terminate a patient’s license must complete the Physician Termination of Patient License Form, which will be available on this webpage.

Registered Physicians List

Recommending Physician Statndards

Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form

In June of 2018, Oklahoma voters approved medical marijuana through the passage of State Question 788. The law allows qualifying patients to purchase and use medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary if certain criteria are met. Patients must provide a recommendation form signed by a physician. The following information provides guidance on physician registration and physician recommendations.


Frequently Asked Questions

  • A physician must hold a valid, unrestricted and existing license to practice in the State of Oklahoma as a doctor of medicine or doctor of osteopathic medicine.
  • The physician must establish a medical record for the patient and must have a bona fide physician-patient relationship.
  • The physician must recommend a medical marijuana license according to the accepted standards a reasonable and prudent physician would follow for recommending or approving any medication.
  • If applicable, the physician may certify that the patient is homebound or does not have the capability to self-administer or purchase medical marijuana due to a developmental disability or a physical or cognitive impairment; and the physician believes the patient would benefit from having a caregiver with a caregiver’s license designated to manage the patient's medical marijuana on the patient's behalf.
  • The physician must verify the patient’s identity as provided in the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority Rules (310:681-1-7).

The following information should be readily available:

  • Contact information for the medical practice, including professional email address
  • Medical licensure number
  • National Provider Identifier (NPI) number

Yes, a patient is required to submit an official Physician Recommendation Form. These forms are available at omma.ok.gov under adult patients and minor patients. The patient can provide the form, or you can access it from this site.

Yes, the law now authorizes recommending physicians to terminate the license of a patient who no longer meets the requirements for the continued use of medical marijuana. Recommending physicians who wish to terminate a patient’s license must complete the Physician Termination of Patient License Form.

Yes, but any minor application must provide two separate recommendation forms from two physicians. These forms are available in the Minor Patients section.

The information you provide on the registry form will only be shared with the public with your permission. You may indicate your preference on the registry form.

Yes, information submitted will be verified with the respective licensure board.

Yes, the law now authorizes recommending physicians to terminate the license of a patient who no longer meets the requirements for the continued use of medical marijuana. Recommending physicians who wish to terminate a patient’s license must complete the PDF icon Physician Termination of Patient License Form.

No, physician registration is optional.

No. Temporary out-of-state licenses are 30 days and require an out-of-state, state-issued medical marijuana license, as opposed to a physician recommendation.

Back to Top