340:100-3-34. Incident reporting
(a) Reporting requirement. Contract provider staff and Developmental Disabilities Services (DDS) staff must report critical and non-critical incidents involving the health and welfare of any person receiving DDS services, excluding Family Support Assistance Payment Program recipients per Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) 340:100-13. • 1
(b) Critical incidents. Critical incidents include:
(1) suspected maltreatment including abuse, verbal abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, financial neglect, exploitation, or sexual exploitation of a vulnerable adult per Section 10-103 of Title 43A of the Oklahoma Statutes (43A O.S. § 10-103) or abuse, neglect, sexual abuse, or sexual exploitation of children per 10A O.S. § 1-1-105;
(2) threatened or attempted suicide by a service recipient;
(3) death of a service recipient;
(4) an unplanned hospital admission of a service recipient;
(5) a medication event resulting in emergency medical treatment for a service recipient;
(6) law enforcement involvement in a situation concerning a service recipient;
(7) property loss of more than $500 involving a service recipient;
(8) a service recipient who is missing; and
(9) a highly restrictive procedure used on a service recipient, such as:
(A) p.r.n. medication for behavioral control; or
(B) physical hold.
(c) Non-critical incidents. Non-critical incidents include:
(1) an injury or an unplanned health-related event involving a service recipient;
(2) physical aggression by a service recipient;
(3) fire setting by a service recipient;
(4) deliberate harm to an animal by a service recipient;
(5) property loss of less than $500 involving a service recipient;
(6) a vehicle accident involving a service recipient;
(7) the suspension, termination, or removal of a service recipient's program, including employment; and
(8) a medication event involving a service recipient, including:
(A) a dose at the wrong time;
(B) a missed dose;
(C) a wrong dose;
(D) the wrong medicine;
(E) the wrong route;
(F) an incorrect medicine label or instructions;
(G) a medication refused by the service recipient;
(H) incorrect medication documentation; or
(I) any other significant occurrence involving medication.
(d) Incident notification requirements.
(1) For Waiver funded service recipients, contract provider staff:
(A) report incidents electronically via the DDS Provider Reporting System for all critical and non-critical incidents; • 2
(B) program coordination staff:
(i) review and submit reports of all critical incidents per OAC 340:100-3-34(b) within one business day of the incident; and
(ii) review and submit reports of all non-critical incidents per OAC 340:100-3-34(c) within three business days of the occurrence.
(C) notify the service recipient's family or guardian, in accordance with provider policies;
(D) notify other persons or entities as required by law or regulation, including:
(i) when a service recipient dies per OAC 340:100-3-35; and
(ii) investigative authorities immediately in cases of suspected maltreatment, including:
(2) For critical incidents involving state funded service recipients, contract provider staff submits Form 06MP046E, Incident Report, to DDS State Office within one business day of the incident. For non-critical incidents, contract provider staff maintains a copy of Form 06MP046E per OAC 340:100-3-40.
INSTRUCTIONS TO STAFF 340:100-3-34
1. The Developemental Disabilities Services (DDS) case manager or local administrator notifies the Office of Client Advocacy when a member of the Homeward Bound class:
(1) is admitted or is to be admitted to a psychiatric facility or other temporary placement;
(2) is injured and requires emergency room treatment or hospitalization;
(3) dies; or
(4) when law enforcement is contacted or involved.
2.When the provider program coordination staff submits the incident report, the DDS Provider Reporting System automatically sends the incident report to the assigned case manager.The case manager reviews the incident report and completes the DDS Action Taken portion of the report within five business days of receipt.
3.The DDS case manager forwards a copy of Form 06MP046E, Incident Report, to the Office of Client Advocacy for members of the Homeward Bound class.