Skip to main content

Categorical Eligibility

Categorically eligible households are households that are exempt from SNAP resource requirements because they receive or are authorized to receive benefits from certain programs.


A household is categorically eligible when all its members qualify for

  • Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) cash assistance,

  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI),

  • a combination of TANF and SSI, or

  • 211 Oklahoma services.

To qualify, the household must both be eligible for the benefit or service and receive notice of its eligibility.

Households that lose categorical eligibility

Although all Oklahoma households are eligible to receive 211 services, there are certain households that lose categorically eligibility. These households must meet SNAP resource requirements.

A household loses categorical eligibility when:

Note: categorical eligibility is not the same as categorical relationship. Categorical eligibility is a SNAP concept. Categorical relationship is a Medicaid concept.

Back to Top