The bedding industry inspection program regulates the safe manufacture and processing of wholesale and retail bedding products and for the germicidal treatment of used bedding products. On-site inspections of the establishments are performed by Consumer Health Service personnel.
How do I?
Learn more about:
Types of Bedding Permits
If your facility manufactures, sells, leases, or imports bedding products then you would be required to have a Manufacturing Permit
Second-hand bedding products sold in the state of Oklahoma are required to be cleaned, have stains and odors removed, and be germicidally treated before they are sold.
If your facility renovates, repairs or germicidally treats bedding products then you would be required to have a Germicidal Permit.
NOTE: If the second-hand bedding products your facility leases or sells are treated offsite by another permitted establishment then your facility will only need a manufacturing permit. If your facility germicidally treats the second-hand bedding products onsite, then you will need both manufacturing and germicidal permits.
A link to the requirements for an Oklahoma germicidal treatment facility can be found here.
How to Apply for an Initial Bedding Permit
A Bedding Permit is required for all persons, partnerships, corporations, and associations engaged in the business of manufacturing, repairing, renovating, germicidally treating, leasing, selling or offering to sell items of bedding within the state of Oklahoma.
Bedding is defined as mattresses, upholstered springs, sleeping bags, pads, comforters, pillows, cushions, and dual purpose furniture such as sofa beds, studio couches, and futons.
Facility Licensed/Registered in another state: If your facility is already registered in another state complete the Bedding Permit Application and mail it in along with two copies of the law label and the appropriate payment.
Facility not licensed/registered in another state: If your facility is not already licensed or registered in another state you have the option of registering and receiving a URN in Oklahoma first or registering in another state and then applying for a permit in Oklahoma.
In order to apply for a bedding permit in Oklahoma, please complete the Bedding Permit Application and mail it in along with two copies of the law label and the appropriate payment. Once the application and payment are received by our office, it will be reviewed to ensure it is filled out completely and accurately, and a permit will be mailed to the mailing address listed on the application.
Bedding Permit Fees
Initial Manufacturing Permit - $5
Renewal Manufacturing Permit - $5
Initial Germicidal Treatment Permit - $25
Renewal Germicidal Treatment Permit - $5
Initial Both Permits - $30
Renewal Both Permits - $10
How to Renew a Bedding Permit
All Oklahoma Bedding Permits expire on June 30 of each year. Renewal reminders are sent out approximately 60 days prior to the expiration of the permits. If you do not receive a renewal reminder please complete the Bedding Permit Application form and select “Renewal” at the top. Mail the application along with the appropriate payment to the address listed at the top of the application in order to renew the permit.
Permits that are not renewed prior to July 31 will be subject to a late fee of $2.50.
Filing a Yearly Report
The Bedding Yearly Report form (downloadable here) is for reporting each bedding article manufactured, renovated, sold, or germicidally treated in the State of Oklahoma. All licensees reporting more than 100 bedding articles per quarter (400+ per year) should report the number of bedding articles manufactured, renovated, sold, or germicidally treated in the State of Oklahoma during the current renewal period (e.g. July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021). Facilities reporting fewer than 100 bedding articles per quarter (fewer than 400 per year) should purchase Bedding Stamps and place them on the bedding tags.
How to Cancel a Bedding Permit
If your facility no longer manufacturers, repairs, renovates, germicidally treats, or sells items of bedding within the state of Oklahoma you can request your permit be cancelled. Written notification must be given to the Oklahoma State Department of Health in order to cancel the permit. Notifications may be sent to CHSLicensing@health.ok.gov.
If the facility begins to manufacture, repair, renovate, germicidally treat, lease or sell items of bedding within the state of Oklahoma, then a new Bedding Permit Application will have to be completed and a new permit fee paid.
Order Bedding Stamps
Oklahoma Bedding adhesive stamps are to be affixed to the bedding label of each product renovated, sold and/or germicidally treated in the state of Oklahoma, and are required for facilities that sell fewer than 100 articles of bedding products per quarter in the state. Facilities that sell 100 articles or more per quarter in the state of Oklahoma can apply for a Non-Stamp Permit and not be required to purchase bedding stamps.
Bedding Stamps are ordered from the Oklahoma State Department of Health by completing and mailing in the Bedding Stamp Order Form. Bedding stamps are $.05 each and can only be ordered in quantities of 100.
The Bedding Regulation Act shall not apply to:
- Individuals who make, repair, renovate or germicidally treat bedding products for their own personal use;
- Individuals (not a corporation) who make, repair, renovate or sanitize quilts, comforters or pillow covers, including decorative pillows;
- Any person who offers for sale or sells goods, wares or merchandise to the highest bidder (auctioneer at a private auction);
- Any person who offers for sale or sells goods, wares or merchandise at a high price and then offers the same at successive lower prices until a buyer is secured; or
- Any individual, not in the business of selling bedding products, that sells at a private sale at the individual’s residence.
How to Make a Complaint
If you have a complaint against a facility that manufacturers, repairs, renovates, germicidally treats, or sells items of bedding, please click here.
Oklahoma State Department of Health
Consumer Health Service
PO Box 268815
Oklahoma City, OK 73126-8815
Oklahoma State Department of Health
Consumer Health Service
123 Robert S. Kerr Ave., Ste 1702
Oklahoma City, OK
Phone: (405) 426-8250
Fax: (405) 900-7557