License Fee Changes Announced for Oklahoma Food, Lodging, Pool and X-ray Facilities
For Release: September 15, 2017 – Cody McDonell, Office of Communications (405) 271-5601
Starting Oct. 1, businesses in Oklahoma that are required to have a permit to operate, including restaurants, hotels, public pools, and x-ray facilities, will have a new set of fees. The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) has worked with the Oklahoma Food Service Advisory Council for nearly a year to develop these changes.
These fee changes will bring Oklahoma closer to the regional average price for licenses. Fees for new food, drug and lodging facilities in surrounding states can range from below $100 to nearly $2,000. Oklahoma has not seen an increase in these fees since 2009 when they were raised $100.
The proposed changes went through a public comment period in October and November 2016. They were then presented to the Oklahoma State Board of Health in February 2017 and eventually sent to the legislature. Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin approved the fee changes in June 2017 to be effective Oct. 1, 2017. The fees that have been changed are initial licensing fees, plan review fees, renewal fees, and late renewal fees.
These fees will go towards sustaining the consumer protection programs of the OSDH and ensuring facilities are being inspected according to state law. These routine inspections make sure all food, lodging, and other services are safe for the public. The inspections look for overall cleanliness, ensure food is being handled properly, and protect the overall health of the public.
Part of the changes to the fees was to simplify the licensing of X-ray tubes in dental, veterinarian, and other facilities. The old fees were confusing to many licensees and proved to be unnecessarily complicated. Some facilities will see little to no change in fees, while others might see a slight increase.