Skip to main content

OSDH Chief Medical Officer Dr. Edd Rhoades Named Recipient of National Award

Friday, November 02, 2018
For Release: November 2, 2018 - Tony Sellars, Office of Communications – 405/271-5601
Newly appointed Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) Chief Medical Officer Dr. Edd Rhoades has been selected as the 2018 Ray Helfer, MD, Award honoree.
The award, sponsored by the National Alliance of Children’s Trust and Prevention Funds and the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Section on Child Abuse, is named for the man considered the “father of children’s trust and prevention funds”. Established in 1993, it is presented each year to a distinguished pediatrician for his or her contribution to the prevention of child abuse and neglect.
Dr. Rhoades will be honored at the National Alliance of Children’s Trust and Prevention Funds conference being held November 13-15 in Charleston, SC.
In his 40 year career at OSDH, Dr. Rhoades has held a variety of leadership positions and has most recently served as the OSDH Medical Director for Family Health Services. He spearheads the state’s Infant and Child Health Advisory Task Force and the Children’s Health Group. He was nominated for the award by Annette Jacobi, former OSDH Family Support and Prevention Director, who is now the director of the Oklahoma Commission on Children and Youth.
“For many years, Dr. Rhoades has provided guidance for all of us involved in child abuse prevention and children’s health,” said Jacobi. “He is a bridge builder and has used his experience to build consensus on many critical issues key to preserving child prevention funds. I can think of no better example of Dr. Helfer’s legacy than Dr. Edd Rhoades.”
“I am overwhelmed and extremely honored to be receiving such a prestigious award,” said Dr. Rhoades. “Dr. Helfer’s work set the standard for all of us to follow and I appreciate being recognized for trying to uphold that standard.”
A graduate of the University Of Oklahoma School Of Medicine, Dr. Rhoades also holds a Masters of Public Health in Health Administration from the University Of Oklahoma College Of Public Health. He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Pediatrics and has received numerous awards for his work in maternal and child health and environmental protection. Among his other honors are the Joan K. Leavitt, M.D. Award from the Oklahoma Public Health Association and the Mike Synar Environmental Excellence Award.
Last Modified on Jun 03, 2022
Back to Top