Oklahoma Dental Loan Repayment Program (ODLRP)
The Oklahoma Dental Loan Repayment Act, authorized by the state legislature in 2006, created a program designed to increase the number of dentists serving and caring for those dependent upon the state for dental care and to make dental care accessible to underserved metropolitan and rural areas by providing educational loan repayment assistance for up to a total of twenty-five Oklahoma licensed dentists for a 2 to 5 year period per dentist. Dentists entering the Program agree to teach at the University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry if applicable faculty positions are available, or provide dental care in a designated dental health professional shortage area. Shortage area participating dentists agree that a minimum of 30% of his/her patients treated during the service obligation or contract period are Medicaid recipients. An exemption from the requirement to practice in a designated dental health professional shortage area is allowed for Pediatric Dentistry Specialists or any dentist practicing in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC), FQHC look-alike, county health department, or city-county health department.
The amount of the award, at least $25,000 per year for each participating dentist, shall be determined by the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) annually based upon the amount of funds appropriated to OSDH. If the participating dentist's eligible loans are less than the cumulative repayment assistance total available over five years, that participating dentist shall be in the ODLRP no longer than required to pay off the total eligible loans and shall not receive more funding assistance than the total eligible indebtedness.
Each award shall be distributed to the participating dentist by two-party drafts made payable to the dentist and the appropriate lending institution in equal monthly disbursements throughout the yearly service obligation.
After reviewing the information below, if questions still exist, please e-mail ODLRP@health.ok.gov.
Oklahoma Dental Loan Repayment Act (63 O.S. Section 1-2710 et seq.
Chapter 526 Dental Services (OAC 310:526-1-1 et seq.
For more information, guidelines, and to download application forms, please click below.
Application Guidelines (46k .pdf)
Application Forms: (must include below four sets of documents)
Application (ODH Form 323) (53k .pdf)
Practice Site Confirmation (ODH Form 323B) (32k .pdf)
Includes Non-Faculty Applicant Employer Agreement (ODH Form 323C) and
Faculty Applicant OU College of Dentistry Agreement (ODH Form 323D)