Skip to main content

Birth Certificates

Announcement

Vital Records offers multiple options for obtaining your records. While our lobby is no longer open to walk-ins, we do offer quick affordable turnaround options to help meet your needs. This shift in service allows Vital Records to provide improved customer service and to process and have complete online orders in the mail within two (2) business days. For time-sensitive orders, Will Call begins July 6, 2021 at three locations – Oklahoma City, Tulsa and McAlester. Failure to complete the applications in full and include all required items will result in processing delays.  

The Oklahoma State Department of Health Division of Vital Records is responsible for registering every birth which occurs in the State of Oklahoma as well as preserving, amending and issuing certified copies of those records in accordance with state law.

Frequently Asked Questions

Our lobbies are currently closed to the public.

By state law, birth records filed are not open for public inspection. Obtaining a birth certificate by or for fraudulent purposes is punishable by law.

The person requesting the certificate must meet one of the following eligibility standards:

  • Subject of the Record
  • Person Acting the Subject’s Best Interest
    • Parent named on the record
    • Spouse, Step Parent, Grandparent or Adult Child/Grandchild of the Subject along with a signed authorization from the subject and a copy of the subject’s ID if the subject is age 18 or older
    • Attorney for the Subject, Adoptive Parents, Representative with Power of Attorney Document, Legal Guardian, or Person with a Court Order
  • Genealogist or Others (see link for more information - Birth Certificate Eligibility)

Additional documentation may be required demonstrating the requestor’s authorization to obtain the birth record requested.

A photocopy of a valid government issued photo ID by either the applicant or an individual attesting for the applicant is required for issuance of certificates.

If you are mailing your application - Send a photocopy. Do not send your original ID. Photocopies must be legible.

Primary Identification - NEED ONE OF THE FOLLOWING:

  • U.S. Issued Driver’s license or Identification card (current or expired less than 3 years ago)
  • U.S. Passport
  • Foreign Issued Passport with Visa (I-94)
  • Government issued Military photo ID
  • Tribal Photo Identification Card containing the bearer’s signature
  • Oklahoma Self-Defense Act (SDA) License or OK Concealed Carry permit
  • Resident Alien Card (Form I-551)
  • Employment Authorization Card (Form I-766)
  • Employment Authorization Card (Form I-688A)
  • Temporary Resident Card (Form I-688)
  • Oklahoma Dept of Corrections Consolidated Record Card (CRC)
If you do not have a primary ID, then two Secondary IDs must be presented. One of the Secondary IDs must show your current address. Certificates  requested using secondary ID will be mailed to the applicant at the address provided and cannot be picked up at a Vital Records office. See link for a list of secondary IDs (Acceptable Forms of Identification).

Out of an abundance of caution due to increasing COVID-19 cases around the state, appointments have been suspended through the end of the year at all locations. Online and phone orders are typically processed the next business day.

Complete your order via mail and the record will be returned to you by mail within 10 weeks.

Required:

  1. Application birth,
  2. Photo ID
  3. Fees birth checks or money orders should be payable to OSDH
  4. Birth and death records are confidential. If you are not a named parent or the subject of the record, you will need to include additional documentation before a record can be released.

Address: 

Vital Records Service
Oklahoma State Department of Health
PO Box 248964
Oklahoma City, OK 73124-8964

Failure to include all required items or submitting incomplete applications will cause delays in completing your request!

Complete your order online with our partner VitalChek and choose between receiving records by mail or pick-up at Will Call within two (2) business days. Online orders will receive 2 emails: Order Received and Order Processed.

The Oklahoma State Department of Health does not accept online or phone orders directly; however, for your convenience, you can process on-line requests through our partners. An additional fee is charged for using these services and all major credit cards are accepted including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.

 INTERNET or PHONE 877-817-7364: Birth and Death Certificates issued to eligible birth  applicants. Cost is $20.00 for the first copy and $15 for each individual copy. Online rates will vary for non-residents. Orders may be expedited for an additional fee.

AMENDMENTS ONLY. Cost is $13.95 processing fee, plus $40 for a birth record amendment and issuance of one certified copy. Orders may be expedited for an additional fee.

Online Orders – complete your order online with our partner VitalChek and choose between receiving records by mail or pick-up at Will Call within two (2) business days. Online orders will receive 2 emails: Order Received and Order Processed.

Phone Orders – complete full order over the phone with our partner VitalChek and choose between receiving records by mail or pick-up at Will Call within two (2) business days.

Applicant must bring a photo ID and the order confirmation. Will Call orders will receive 2 emails: Order received and Order ready for pick-up. Location options include OKC, Tulsa and McAlester.

Will Call Hours – 2:30 to 4:45 p.m.| Monday – Friday

Complete full order over the phone with our partner VitalChek and choose between receiving records by mail or pick-up at Will Call within two (2) business days.

The Oklahoma State Department of Health does not accept online or phone orders directly; however, for your convenience, you can process on-line requests through our partners. An additional fee is charged for using these services and all major credit cards are accepted including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.

PHONE 877-817-7364: Birth Certificates issued to eligible applicants. Cost is $20.00 for the first copy and $15 for each individual copy. Online rates will vary for non-residents. Orders may be expedited for an additional fee.


The fee for the search of a birth certificate is $15.00 and will include the issuance of one certified copy to a qualified applicant if the certificate is on file. Additional copies will be issued at a cost of $15.00 each. The searching fee is not refundable or transferable. All fees expire one (1) year from the receipt date. Online and phone orders are subject to a an additional service fee.

Please make your check or money order payable to OSDH.

Corrections or additions to birth certificates will require additional fees and the submission of required documentation. Instructions and assessment of fees will be made on an individual basis after your application has been received and reviewed.

BIRTH CERTIFICATES

    Search of files and the issuance of one (1) certified copy if certificate is on file

$15.00

    Additional copies (each)

$15.00

Delayed Birth Registration 

   First Certified Copy

$40.00

    Additional copies (each)

$15.00

Birth Certificate Substitution: Legitimation, Adoption, Paternity, Sealed 

    First Certified Copy

$40.00

    Additional copies (each)

$15.00

Amendments to Birth Certificates

    First Certified Copy

$40.00

    Additional copies (each)

$15.00

Heirloom Birth Certificates (includes one certified copy)

$35.00

Note: Below are the average processing times for general issuance, however requests which require certificates to be amended or replaced (e.g. adoption) will take longer.

  • Online and phone orders Complete order are issued in 1-2 business days. These may be expedited through our partner VitalChek. Mail orders will not be expedited.
  • Mail: allow at least 10 weeks for standard issuance.

You may also submit your application by Mail. Complete mail orders are typically processed within 10 weeks. Be sure to review before sending by mail to assure your order is complete. Missing items or information will delay our response.

NOTE: Applications which are incomplete or do not include proper fees or ID will be delayed. If additional documentation is requested, additional time will be required.

If you need to amend a birth to 1) correct an error or 2) legally change information e.g. name, sex, parentage, please go to our Amendment page for more specific direction.

For adoptions which occurred after Nov 1, 1997, an uncertified copy of the original birth record may be obtained by the adopted person if:

  1. The adopted person is at least 18 years of age AND
  2. The identified birth parent(s) did not sign Affidavits of Non-Disclosure AND
  3. The subject of the adoption provides a signed notarized affidavit stating that he/she is unaware of the location of a biological sibling who under the age of 18 and currently living in an adoptive family (Open Adoption Records).

The fee for the search and issuance of one certified copy (if the record is found) is $15.

For all other situations, the records are sealed and are not open for public inspection. In those cases, a certified court order from a court of competent jurisdiction is required to be submitted. The fee for the search and issuance of one certified copy (if the record is found) is $40.

In all cases, the request must be submitted along with a completed application and a valid photo ID.

The Heirloom Birth Certificate is 8 1/2 x 11 with a chocolate brown and mint green color palette bearing a depiction of a redbud - the official state tree. The certificate will reflect the child's name, date of birth, gender, place of birth and the names of the parents. The cost for an Heirloom birth certificate is $35.00. This $35 fee will provide for the issuance of both one Heirloom birth certificate and one standard Certified birth certificate.

The same eligibility and identity requirements for any birth certificate also apply to the request for an heirloom certificate. The Heirloom certificate is a commemorative certificate and should not be used for proof of birth or identity for legal purposes.

VR-Heirloom.jpg

To obtain an Heirloom Birth Certificate: if you are the subject of the record or a named parent: 1) Complete the Application, include a copy of your Photo ID and enclose $35.00 for each requested Heirloom certificate.

A Certificate of Foreign Birth may be placed on file in Oklahoma for minors born outside the US and who are adopted in Oklahoma by US citizens.

Two documents are required:

  • Court Document (one of the following)
    • Certified copy of a Decree of Adoption from a district court in Oklahoma*
    • Certified copy of a Certificate of Adoption from a district court in Oklahoma
    • Certified copy of a Decree of Adoption from the Country of Birth with a certified English translation (if applicable)
      *If a Decree of Adoption is Presented and it does not include all the information necessary to complete a Foreign Birth Certificate, a Certificate of Adoption may be required.
  • Identification Document
    • Copy of a Certified Birth Certificate from the country of birth with a copy of the certified English translation (if applicable)

Note: All documents presented will be reviewed and verified prior to acceptance

To place a record on file, complete the application and submit it to Vital Records with $40 (includes the filing and issuance of one certified copy) and a copy of your photo ID along with the two (2) required documents listed above.

To request a copy of a Certificate of Foreign Birth that has already been placed on file, complete the application and submit it to Vital Records with $15 per copy requested and a copy of your photo ID.

An Apostille can be attached to a certified copy of a birth record to verify that the person who certified the document was an official at the time of the certification. These are routinely required for foreign use. The Secretary of State’s office is authorized to issue an Apostille in Oklahoma.

Fees, location, and office hour information for the Secretary of State’s office is available at https://www.sos.ok.gov/business/apostilles.aspx.

Oklahoma began filing birth records in October of 1908. It was not mandatory, however, that these records be filed until 1917. Because birth records were not required for identification as they are today, not all records prior to 1940 were placed on file consistently.

It is the responsibility of the hospital or attendant at birth to properly obtain the information needed and file the certificate with the State Registrar in a timely manner. The birth certificate will still need to be ordered after the birth record has been filed with the state.

The National Center for Health Statistics has information on vital record for all states. For more information, view Where to Write for Vital Records.

  • Write:
    • Oklahoma Vital Records
      PO Box 248964
      Oklahoma City, OK 73124-8964
  • Call: (405) 426-8880
  • E-mail: AskVR@health.ok.gov

What people are saying about our will call service:

"Easy to do and takes very little time."

Back to Top