Voter Registration in Oklahoma
Register to Vote
It's easy to register to vote in Oklahoma! Choose one of the options below.
Complete the Voter Registration Application using the OK Voter Portal "Wizard."
- IMPORTANT: You must print, sign, and submit the application to your County Election Board to complete the process.
Update your voter registration address or party affiliation online using the OK Voter Portal.
Who Can Register?
You can register to vote if you are a citizen of the United States, a resident of the State of Oklahoma, and at least 18 years old or meet the age requirement to pre-register.
- Pre-registration - Persons who are at least 17½ years old may pre-register to vote in Oklahoma if they meet all eligibility requirements. Applicants who preregister cannot vote until they turn 18 years old and the application has been approved by the applicant's County Election Board. Applicants will be mailed a voter ID card upon approval of their registration. Applications received less than 25 days before an election, in which the applicant has turned 18 and is eligible to vote, will be held and processed immediately following the election.
- Persons Convicted of a Felony – A person convicted of a felony may register to vote when he or she has fully served his or her sentence of court-mandated calendar days, including any term of incarceration, parole or supervision, or completed a period of probation ordered by any court. A convicted felon who has been pardoned may register.
- Persons Judged Incapacitated - Persons judged incapacitated by a court may not register to vote.
How to Register
You must fill out a voter registration application form. Voter registration applications are available at your County Election Board, post offices, tag agencies, libraries and many other public locations. You will be offered a voter registration application when you get your driver's license and when you apply for assistance at some government agencies. You also may download an application form.
NEW! You may also register to vote using the OK VOTER PORTAL'S VOTER REGISTRATION WIZARD to complete your voter registration application online. Then print it, sign it, and mail it to your county election board. You will get a confirmation number that can be used by your county election board to check the status of your registration.
You must sign and date the oath printed on the form. When you sign the voter registration application form, you swear that you are eligible to register to vote.
Changing Your Registration
If you need to change your name, your address or your political affiliation, you must fill out another voter registration application form, or you can update your voter registration information online. You may change your registration at any time with one exception. You may not change your political affiliation during the period from April 1 through August 31, inclusive, in any even-numbered year. The last day on which you may change your political affiliation before the closed period is March 31; the first day on which you may change your political affiliation after the closed period is September 1.
Submitting Your Application
You may mail your voter registration application to the Election Board. The card is already addressed, but you must add a first-class postage stamp. You may also hand-deliver your application to your county election board. If you fill out your voter registration application form at a tag agency when you get your driver's license or when you apply for assistance at a government agency, the agency will mail the form to the State Election Board for you.
Voter Identification Card
You do not become a registered voter until the county election board in the county where you reside has approved your application. When your application is approved, the county election board will mail a voter identification card to you. Your voter identification card lists your name, address, political affiliation and the polling place for your voting precinct. When you receive your voter identification card, look at it carefully and report any errors to the county election board immediately. Keep your voter identification card in a safe place and always take it with you when you go to vote.
If your voter registration application cannot be approved, you will receive a letter from the county election board. The letter will tell you why your application was not approved and explain the steps you need to take to become registered. You may be able to return the letter with some additional information, or you may need to fill out and send in another voter registration application form.
Closed Primary System
Oklahoma has a closed primary system with exceptions. Generally, only voters who are registered members of a recognized political party may vote for the party's candidates in primary and runoff primary elections. However, registered Independent voters may be eligible to vote in party's primaries and runoff primaries if authorized by the party. The Democratic Party has authorized Independent voters to vote in their primary and runoff elections in 2020 and 2021. Registered Republicans may only vote in Republican primaries and runoffs, Registered Libertarians may only vote in Libertarian primaries and runoffs, and Independents may not vote in Republican or Libertarian primaries and runoffs.
Nonpartisan judicial offices, state questions and county questions often are included in primary elections. All registered voters, including Independents, are entitled to receive those ballots. At general elections, all voters receive the same ballot and may vote for any candidate or question on the ballot.
When to Register
You may submit your voter registration application at any time. However, the voter registration deadline is 25 days prior to the date of an election. You can find the dates of voter registration deadline here.
Mailed applications that are postmarked 24 or fewer days prior to the date of the election, or hand-delivered applications that are received by election officials or voter registration agencies 24 or fewer days prior to the date of the election, or electronic updates to a voter registration that are submitted 24 or fewer days prior to the date of the election, will be processed after that election.
If you pre-register to vote, you will be mailed a voter identification card once you turn eighteen and your registration has been approved and activated by the county election board.