Skip to main content

Address Confirmation Notices are in the mail! Learn more.

OKLAHOMA STATE ELECTION BOARD

1998 ELECTION CALENDAR


ELECTION DATES

Primary Election Tuesday, August 25

Runoff Primary Election
Tuesday, September 15

General Election
Tuesday, November 3

CANDIDACY FILING PERIOD

Filing period for state and county offices Monday, July 6, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Tuesday, July 7, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Wednesday, July 8, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

CANDIDACY WITHDRAWAL PERIODS

Withdrawal period after filing Closes 5:00 PM Friday, July 10

Withdrawal period after Primary Election
Closes 5:00 PM Friday, August 28

Withdrawal period after Runoff Primary Election
Closes 5:00 PM Friday, September 18

CONTESTS OF CANDIDACY

Any candidate may contest the candidacy of any other candidate for the same office by filing a written petition with the Secretary of the Election Board where he filed his Declaration of Candidacy, before 5:00 PM Friday following the close of the filing period.

CONTESTS OF ELECTION

A candidate for President or a candidate for a state or county office may contest an election in which he was a candidate by filing a written petition with the Secretary of the Election Board where he filed his Declaration of Candidacy, before 5:00 PM Friday following the election.

VOTER REGISTRATION TRANSACTIONS

Voter registration applications may be submitted at any time. However, a valid application must be received at a motor license agency or a designated voter registration agency, or postmarked (if submitted by mail), more than 24 days prior to an election in order for the applicant to participate in that election. Deadlines for submitting valid voter registration applications prior to the 1998 statewide elections are as follows:

For Primary Election
Friday, July 31

For Runoff Primary Election
Friday, August 21

For General Election
Friday, October 9

Changes in political affiliation may not be made during the period beginning at 5:00 PM on July 1 and ending at 5:00 PM on September 30 in any even-numbered year.


Return to Oklahoma State Election Board Home Page

Back to Top