Skip to main content

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is extending the REAL ID full enforcement date by 19 months, from October 1, 2021 to May 3, 2023, due to circumstances resulting from the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

 

Commercial driver license (CDL) and commercial learner permit (CLP) expiration dates have been extended by FMCSA until November 30, 2021, as long as they were not expired prior to March 1st, 2020. Medical certificate and variance expiration dates have been extended until November 30, 2021, as long as they were not expired prior to June 1, 2021.

 

DPS and tag agents are now offering eight (8) year driver licenses and identification cards. Fees are double the four (4) year option.

Fails to Pay Fine and Costs to a Court Concerning a Moving Traffic Citation

Once suspended by DPS under this type of action, the driver’s suspension will continue until the suspension is reinstated with DPS.

To reinstate this type of suspension, the driver must:

  1. Surrender their driver license to DPS as directed in the Notice of Suspension;

  2. Pay the required statutory fees in the amount of $50.00* in the form of a cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety;

  3. Provide the Notice of Compliance from the court or court clerk indicating that the driver has entered an appearance with the court in the case which was the basis of the suspension action or has been released by the court**; and

  4. Mail their statutory fees payment and Notice of Compliance from the court to:

    Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
    Driver Compliance Division
    P.O. Box 11415
    Oklahoma City, OK 73136-0415.

*NOTE: The amount of statutory fees for reinstatement is dependent on the laws in effect at the time of suspension and are subject to change by the Legislature.

**NOTE: A release from the Court is usually obtained by payment of the fine and costs to the Court.

Last Modified on Oct 05, 2020
Back to Top