Frequently Asked Questions
What is Mobile ID?
Mobile ID is a secured, digitized version of your driver license or other state-issued ID that you carry in an app on your smartphone. It can be used to verify your identity in-person and during online transactions. It’s currently the ONLY form of mobile-phone-based ID that is verifiable against the record created by DPS when you applied in person for a driver license or state ID.
What do I need to use Mobile ID?
To enroll and use the Mobile ID:
- You must have a valid and easily readable Oklahoma driver license or state-issued photo ID card.
- You must own a smartphone.
- You can’t use a jailbroken/rooted smartphone, so you can’t use a device where the software has been manipulated to remove restrictions and limitations placed there by the manufacturer.
- Minimum Phone Requirement: Android 7 and newer; iPhone 6 and newer (iOS 13 and newer).
- Android 10-based EMUI 10 devices are NOT supported.
How can I use my Mobile ID?
mID can be used in any context in which you would use your physical ID to verify your age or identity, where accepted. It is required by law to present a physical driver license when requested by law enforcement and when boarding a plane. Mobile ID is considered an acceptable form of identity verification by the State of Oklahoma, however, because it is a new concept, some businesses and organizations may not be aware of how to use it or have not yet developed processes to accept mID. We will continually work with groups to familiarize them with mID and its use. Over time, we expect acceptance to grow and the need to show your physical card to decrease.
How do I know Mobile ID is secure?
mID verifies your identity attributes and selfie photo against what is on file with the DPS. Only your FaceID, TouchID or pin will unlock the app and access your mID. So for instance, if your smartphone is lost or stolen, no one will be able to access your mID app.
Does Mobile ID replace a physical driver license?
mID currently serves as a companion to your physical ID rather than a replacement. You can use it in any context you would normally use your driver license or state-issued ID to verify your identity, except during traffic stops or boarding a plane. You should still keep your physical ID as a back-up.
How much does Mobile ID cost?
The app is available at no charge to Oklahoma residents through April 1, 2021. After this, a yearly subscription of $4.49 will be required.
What does Mobile ID do with my data?
Mobile ID doesn’t permanently collect, store, or hold onto your personal data - except an encrypted version of your driver license number and phone number to use as a record locator. The only places your complete information is stored is with the DPS.
Who can I contact if I need help with my Mobile ID?
If for some reason your Mobile ID is not correctly working, please contact IDEMIA at 1 (844) 543-9721, 7 days a week between 8am and 10pm EST. You can also click here to email MobileIDHelp@us.idemia.com.
What if I am receiving an error message and cannot complete the enrollment process?
Some common errors with common causes and solutions are listed below:
Error: mID Not Activated or Not Verified
- You have an out-of-state credential.
- Your Oklahoma state credential is inactive, including expired or suspended.
- Some information on your license is incorrect or out of date – for example, last name or address
- Your selfie failed to match the photo on file with the state. If the photo on your license is over 5 years old or drastically different from your current appearance, this could cause an error to occur.
Error: Issues with capturing Selfie
Here are some tips that will help with capturing the selfie:
- Make sure you are in a well-lit area, not backlit by a window or strong light, and in front of a neutral or plain backdrop such as a single colored wall.
- Make sure your phone is kept steady at eye level and only move your head in the direction of the 3 dots.
- If the selfie times out, you may have taken too long to align the 3 dots and need to start over.
- “Photo does not match” – This means your facial 1:1 comparison failed. You can try to capture a new selfie. If that does not resolve the issue, then you will need to contact the state.
Error: Text Verification Failed or unable to activate link in Text Message
Here are some of the reasons why text verification failed:
- User selected “Don’t Allow” when prompted to give the app access to camera.
- SMS text has not been set up with your service provider. You will receive a confirmation and URL via text. You will need to reach out to the service provider to verify it is set up.
- User is copying the URL in the text message into a browser. You must click on the link in the most recent text message. If you have tried requesting the setup text several times, it will be the one at the bottom of the list.
Error: 60302 Registration Failed
The registration failure can occur for various reasons.
- This could be the result of a poor selfie or selfie capture issue, see error: Issues with capturing selfie.
- This could be a connection issue. If the images you have captured cannot be synced with the server, try the following:
- Turn off WiFi and try enrolling via cellular data or try using WiFi if it is failing on cellular.
- Uninstall the app and start over.
- If the above steps fail, this could be an issue with your record at the DPS. Please refer to the DPS help desk at (405) 425-2020.
Error: 10400, 10404, 10403 or 60302
This error is the result of a poor connection.
- Turn off WiFi and try enrolling via cellular data.
- Try using WiFi if is failing on cellular.
- Try again later.
Error: 60300-004 – Enrollment session has timed out
- Users must complete enrollment process within 15 minutes of receiving the text or starting the process or it will time out. If this occurs, you will need to restart the enrollment.
- You will receive a new authorization link via text and will need to click on the bottom link.