Skip to main content

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is extending the REAL ID full enforcement date by 19 months, from October 1, 2021 to May 3, 2023, due to circumstances resulting from the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

 

Commercial driver license (CDL) and commercial learner permit (CLP) expiration dates have been extended by FMCSA until November 30, 2021, as long as they were not expired prior to March 1st, 2020. Medical certificate and variance expiration dates have been extended until November 30, 2021, as long as they were not expired prior to June 1, 2021.

 

DPS and tag agents are now offering eight (8) year driver licenses and identification cards. Fees are double the four (4) year option.

Reinstatement

  1. I have already paid my court costs and fines to the criminal court. What are the fees that I have to pay the Department of Public Safety in order to reinstate my driving privileges?

    • The fees you will be required to pay for reinstatement are determined by Oklahoma statute. The amount of the fees will vary depending on the type of suspension(s) and/or revocation(s). Further, these fees are cumulative. In other words, if you have more than one suspension or revocation, your total fees will be the sum of all the fees associated with each suspension and revocation. The amount of fees associated with each suspension or revocation are normally found on the Order of Revocation or the Notice of Confirmation and Reinstatement Requirements mailed to you by the Department of Public Safety.

    • For example: If your driving privileges have been revoked based upon your refusal to submit to the State's breath or blood test or a failure of the State's breath or blood test, your reinstatement fees would include the following: a reinstatement fee ($25.00), a processing fee ($75.00), a trauma care fee ($200.00), and a mental health fee ($15.00), for a total of ($315.00). (These amounts are subject to change.) In the event you are required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed on any vehicle you drive as a condition of reinstatement, an additional ($50.00) fee will be required to be paid to the Department.

    • For example: If your driving privileges have been suspended based upon certain bail bond suspensions, such as failure to appear or failure to pay fines and costs, your reinstatement fees would include the following: a reinstatement fee ($25.00), a processing fee ($25.00), for a total of ($50.00). (These amounts are subject to change). (This example does not include bail bond suspensions issued concerning a citation for failure to have or carry insurance).

  2. How may I pay the fees?

    • At the Oklahoma City office of DPS the fees may be paid by cash, money order, cashier's check, or a major credit card. Use of a credit card incurs an additional 4.0 % service fee. Personal checks are not acceptable. At the seven (7) field offices of DPS listed above, and for payments sent by U.S. mail, all payments must be made by money order or cashier's check only, made payable to the Department of Public Safety.

    • Payments by Cash, Credit Cards, and Personal checks are not acceptable at the DPS' field offices or by mail.

  3. May a friend come in and pay my fees or may I make payment by mail?

    • In most cases yes, but you should check first. To clear some types of suspensions or revocations, you may be required to appear in person before a Driver Compliance Hearing Officer prior to reinstatement.

To see how to reinstate, click here.

Last Modified on Oct 05, 2020
Back to Top