Skip to main content

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is extending the REAL ID full enforcement date by 19 months, from October 1, 2021 to May 3, 2023, due to circumstances resulting from the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.


Commercial driver license (CDL) and commercial learner permit (CLP) expiration dates have been extended by FMCSA until August 31, 2021, as long as they were not expired prior to March 1st, 2020. Medical certificate expiration dates have been extended until August 31, 2021, as long as they were not expired prior to March 1, 2021.


DPS and tag agents are now offering eight (8) year driver licenses and identification cards. Fees are double the four (4) year option.

Department of Public Safety Divisions

Commercial Driver License (CDL) Help Desk (405) 425-2300

Community Relations (405) 425-7707

  • Contact OHP regarding speakers and representation at community events across the state.

Driver Compliance: Medical Desk (405) 425-2078 or (405) 425-2083

  • The Department of Public Safety is charged with the responsibility of licensing only individuals who can safely operate a motor vehicle. To assist the Department in licensing determinations, a medical judgment is sometimes necessary to assist in this determination. The Driver Compliance Medical Desk and the Medical Advisory Committee are responsible for making a determination that the minimum medical standards for licensing are met and that a physical and/or mental condition of an individual driver would not compromise the driver's ability to safely operate a motor vehicle on the State's roadways. More information concerning the Medical Desk is available by clicking here.

Driver License Help Desk (405) 425-2300

Driver License Reinstatement: (405) 425-2098 or (405) 425-2059

Legal Division - (405) 425-2148

Oklahoma Highway Patrol Recruiting (405) 425-7606 or 1-844-564-6647

  • Through the Recruiting/Community Relations Office, provides information for potential applicants seeking jobs with OHP. For more information about OHP jobs, click here.

Physical Disability Parking Placards (405) 425-2693

  • The Physical Disability Parking Placard Desk is located at the DPS Headquarters in Oklahoma City and is responsible for issuing Parking Placards for the State of Oklahoma. Parking Placards are free of cost to the public and are issued in person in Oklahoma City and statewide by mail. Application submitted by mail may take up to 20 business days to process. Applications submitted in person are processed immediately. The application form is available by clicking here.

Public Information (405) 425-7707

  • Provides the public and the media with information about DPS and its divisions through news releases, the DPS public website and social media outlets.
  • Maintains the agency's Facebook page and other social media.
  • Works daily with local, state and national media outlets, following the Open Records Act and agency policies/procedures when releasing information.

Records Management (405) 425-2262

  • The Records Management Division is responsible for receiving, processing, and maintaining all documents and records related to driving records (including traffic-related convictions) and traffic collisions. These documents and records are submitted by Oklahoma's state and local law enforcement agencies.

Wrecker Services (405) 425-2312

  • Wrecker Services division oversees the licensing, supervision, administration and control of wrecker vehicles, and wrecker and towing services.
Last Modified on Apr 13, 2021
Back to Top