Skip to main content

BOC Minutes for May 11, 2018

Special Meeting Minutes

1. Call to Order - Michael W. Roach, Chair

Chair Roach called the special meeting of the Oklahoma Board of Corrections (BOC) to order at 10:20 AM on Friday, May 11, 2018, at the Oklahoma Department of Corrections in Oklahoma City. 

The meeting was preceded by advance notice of the date, time, and place, filed with the Oklahoma Secretary of State on May 9, 2018.An announcement was also given at least twenty-four (24) hours in advance by posting notice of the date, time, place, and agenda of the meeting at 9:48 AM on May 10, 2018, at the principal office of the Oklahoma Department of Corrections (ODOC), located at 3400 North Martin Luther King Avenue in Oklahoma City.

2. Pledge of Allegiance - Michael W. Roach, Chair

Chair Roach led all meeting attendees in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag.

3. Roll Call - Michael W. Roach, Chair

Chair Roach asked the clerk to call the roll: 

Kevin Gross, Member - Absent
Adam Luck, Member - Present
Gene Haynes, Member - Absent
Dianne Owens, Member - Present
Frazier Henke, Vice-Chair - Present
Michael Roach, Chair - Present
Todd Holder, Secretary - Present

Calling of the roll reflected a quorum was present. 

4. Welcome Remarks - Michael W. Roach, Chair

Chair Roach welcomed attendees to the meeting and extended a special welcome to the newly-appointed BOC member, Ms. Dianne Owens. He explained to attendees that the meeting this date was an opportunity for Ms. Owens to receive an orientation to the ODOC. Each BOC member and Director Allbaugh introduced themselves, providing their background information and perception of the agency both before and after appointment.

Director Allbaugh also invited staff members in attendance to provide their name and area of authority within the agency. Chair Roach commended each BOC member for their service on the board as well as their commitment to working with the ODOC. He extended regrets from Mr. Gross and Mr. Haynes for not attending due to prior commitments. There was no further discussion.

5. Overview of the Oklahoma Department of Corrections - Joe M. Allbaugh, Director

On behalf of Director Allbaugh, Mr. Scott Crow provided an overview of the ODOC, explaining duties or areas of responsibility for various units including the chief of operations, general counsel, regional directors, probation and parole services, fugitive apprehensions and investigations, and security threat intelligence. Also provided was general information on facility staffing and the various security levels in the system. Mr. Crow discussed briefly the classification and intake of inmates into the custody of the ODOC. There was no further discussion.

6. Discussion and Review of P-010200, Operating Procedures and Policies for the Board of Corrections - Michael W. Roach, Chair

Chair Roach discussed the operation procedures for the BOC, with emphasis on committee functions and duties. Chair Roach also provided information on routine agenda items presented to the BOC each month. BOC members inquired about lawsuits against the BOC members, with Mr. Cincotta referencing the responsibilities of the agency under those circumstances. There was no further discussion.

7. Summary of Open Meeting Act Requirements for the Oklahoma Board of Corrections - David Cincotta, General Counsel

Mr. Cincotta discussed the requirements of and compliance with the Open Meeting Act. He noted the purpose of the BOC meetings is to give the public information about the agency. Special emphasis was placed on notification of the BOC meetings, posting of the agendas, requirements for a quorum, executive sessions, voting on approval items, etc. There was no further discussion.

25. Approval to Adjourn Meeting - Michael W. Roach, Chair

There being no further business to come before the BOC, Chair Roach requested a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Motion: Mr. Holder made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Henke seconded the motion. 

The results of the roll call were: Mr. Gross – yes; Mr. Haynes – yes; Mr. Henke – yes; Mr. Holder – yes; Mr. Luck – yes; Ms. Owens – yes; Mr. Roach – yes.

The adjournment was approved by majority vote and the meeting ended at 11:15 AM.

Back to Top