Skip to main content

BOC Agenda for April 25, 2017

Regular Meeting

Dick Conner Correctional Center
129 Conner Road
Hominy, Oklahoma

1:00 p.m.

April 25, 2017

Members of the Board of Corrections will be dining together before the Board meeting.

No business will be conducted during this time period.


(Printer-friendly version)
The next regular meeting of the Board of Corrections will be held at 1:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at the William S. Key Correctional Center in Fort Supply, Oklahoma.
Updated on 4/21/2017 9:48 AM

Call to Order
Michael W. Roach, Chair
Pledge of Allegiance
Todd Holder, Secretary
Roll Call
Michael W. Roach, Chair
Welcome/Opening Remarks
Janet Dowling, Warden
Dick Conner Correctional Center
Recognition of Agency, Facility and District Award Recipients:
  • John Nichols, Correctional Security Officer IV
    • Dick Conner Correctional Center (DCCC) Correctional Officer of the Year
    • East Institutions Correctional Officer of the Year
    • ODOC Correctional Officer of the Year
  • Kelly Potter, Administrative Assistant II
    • DCCC Employee of the Year
  • Danyal Weaver, Correctional Training Officer II
    • DCCC Meritorious Service
  • Sarah West, Correctional Case Manager II
    • DCCC Meritorious Service
  • Richard Guerrera, Correctional Case Manager I
    • DCCC Meritorious Service
  • Sharla McDaniel, Business Manager
    • Northeast District Probation and Parole (NEDPP) Employee of the Year
  • Chelsey Hale, Probation and Parole Officer (PPO) II
    • NEDPP PPO of the Year
  • Shellye Gandy-Sourie, Administrative Programs Officer I
    • NEDPP Support Staff of the Year
  • Sara Shelton, PPO I
    • NEDPP Rookie of the Year
  • Adrean King, Administrative Programs Officer I
    • Tulsa County District Probation and Parole (TCDPP) Employee of the Year
    • Field Services Employee of the Year
  • Jay Colcord, PPO III
    • TCDPP PPO of the Year
Tina Hicks, Director
Introduction of Region I Wardens
  • Jim Farris, Jess Dunn Correctional Center
  • Sharon McCoy, Eddie Warrior Correctional Center
Millicent Newton-Embry, Director
Region I
Introduction of Region II Wardens
  • Lonnie Lawson, William Key Correctional Center (acting)
  • Becky Guffy, Bill Johnson Correctional Center
William Monday, Acting Director
Region II
Introduction of Probation and Parole Services District Supervisors
  • Kathryn King, Tulsa County District Probation and Parole
  • Teresa McCoin, Northeast District Probation and Parole
James Reed, Acting Director
Probation and Parole Services
Approval of Board of Corrections Meeting Minutes of Regular Meeting on March 28, 2017
Michael W. Roach, Chair
Director's Comments
Joe M. Allbaugh, Director
Approval of Resolution for National Correctional Officers Week (May 1-7, 2017)
Janet Dowling, Warden
Dick Conner Correctional Center
Approval of Resolution for National Teacher Appreciation Week (May 1-7, 2017)
Jeana Ely, Acting Superintendent
Approval of Resolution for National Public Service Recognition Week (May 7-13, 2017)
Tina Hicks, Director
Approval of Resolution for National Nurses Week (May 6-12, 2017)
Clint Castleberry, Director
Health Services
Program Services
Lesia Miser, Director
Program Services
Monthly Update of FY 2017 Agency Budget
Ashlee Clemmons, Chief Administrator
Business Services
Monthly Update of Population
Laura Pitman, Ph.D., Director
Population, Programs, and Strategic Planning
CY 2017 Legislative Initiatives Update
Marilyn Davidson, Legislative Liaison
Committee Reports
Standing Committees:
  • Audit/Finance – Chair Frazier Henke, Members Todd Holder and Kevin Gross
  • Corrections/Criminal Justice Reform – Chair Irma Newburn, Members Gene Haynes and Adam Luck
  • Public Policy/Affairs – Chair Gene Haynes, Members Frazier Henke and Irma Newburn
  • Population/Private Prisons – Chair Todd Holder, Members Michael Roach and Adam Luck
  • Executive – Chair Michael Roach, Members Frazier Henke and Kevin Gross
Committee Chairs
Old Business
Michael W. Roach, Chair
New Business
Michael W. Roach, Chair
Michael W. Roach, Chair
Approval to Adjourn for Executive Session for:
  • Discussion of Investigations: 
    • Homicide of Stephen Maxwell #166491 at the North Fork Correctional Center (case number IG 17-0058)
    • Suicide of Jared Jones #506040 at the Oklahoma State Penitentiary (case number IG 17-0056)
  • Discussion of Lawsuit:
    • Board of County Commissioners of the County of Tulsa et al v. The State ex rel Oklahoma Department of Corrections, et al. (Oklahoma County District Court, case number CF-2017-684)
    • Estate of Clayton Lockett v. Fallin, et al. (Oklahoma Western District Court, case number CIV-14-1119-HE; 10th Circuit, case number 15-6134; US Supreme Court, case number 16A744)
“Confidential communications between a public body and its attorney concerning a pending investigation, claim, or action if the public body, with the advice of its attorney, determines that disclosure will seriously impair the ability of the public body to process the claim or conduct a pending investigation, litigation, or proceeding in the public interest.” 25 O.S. § 307.B.4.
David Cincotta, General Counsel
Approval to Return from Executive Session
David Cincotta, General Counsel
Michael W. Roach, Chair
Back to Top