Form 782 Revised 10/2023 MVL



**Notary Seal** 

# In-Transit License Plate Application (aka K-tag)

In-Transit plates are for licensed Manufactured Home Fee: \$21.00 Per Plate (Make checks payable to and Motor Vehicle Transporters, not for individual or Service Oklahoma) dealer use. Motor vehicles included are automobiles, @ \$21.00 = \$\_\_\_\_\_ Plate(s) trucks and travel trailers only. Commercial, utility trailers (Picked Up) or horse/animal trailers are excluded. All trips must start or end in the state of Oklahoma or be within the @ \$27.15 = \$\_\_\_\_\_ Plate(s) state of Oklahoma. (Mailed) (\$21.00 plus \$6.15 mail fee) **Please Type or Print Legibly:** \$ \_\_\_\_\_ **Total Remittance** Please Check One: Business Name MFG Home Transporter MC (Motor Carrier) or UCR (United Carrier Owner's Name Registration) Number Required (Check One) FEIN/SSN UCR Number \_\_\_\_\_ Mailing Address MC Number OCC Number \_\_\_\_\_ City, State, Zip Code Vehicle Transporters Indicate what types of items you will be Daytime Phone Number transporting. Motorized Vehicles Email Address **Travel Trailers** Location Address (Post Office Box number will not suffice) **Person to Contact for Further Information:** Name Phone Number The following affidavit must be signed and notarized. State of County of I, the undersigned, do solemnly swear that I am engaged in the **business** of transporting and delivering vehicles and/or manufactured homes and that these items are being transported within Oklahoma or from Oklahoma to another state or from another state into Oklahoma. I further attest that I am currently registered in the state of Oklahoma. Signature: Subscribed and sworn to before me this \_\_\_\_\_ , \_\_\_\_\_, \_\_\_\_\_, \_\_\_\_\_. My commission expires \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, \_\_\_\_\_\_.

, Notary Public

#### Form 782 - Page 2

# In-Transit License Plate Application (aka K-tag)

- 1. Payment must accompany the application. Make checks payable to Service Oklahoma. A \$50.00 penalty will be assessed for any dishonored check.
- 2. In-Transit plates are to be displayed on the vehicle/new manufactured home being pulled. The pulling unit must be properly registered in its own right.
- 3. Manufactured home **transporters** are required to have a Motor Carrier number (MC#) issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) or a United Carrier Registration number (UCR#) or an Oklahoma Corporation Commission number (also known as your OCC pin number) before an In-Transit plate can be issued.
- 4. Licensed dealers must use dealer plates to transport when transporting vehicles or new manufactured homes. Any used manufactured homes being transported must be registered and licensed with current manufactured home plates.
- 5. All information on the application must be verified before an In-Transit plate will be issued.
- 6. All In-Transit plates will expire on December 31st of each year and cannot be renewed.
- 7. Those companies transporting commercial/utility trailers or horse/animal trailers from Oklahoma to another state **may not use** Oklahoma In-Transit tags. However, they may download from the Service Oklahoma website, a letter indicating that these items are not required to be registered and tagged in the state of Oklahoma. The Noncommercial Letter can be downloaded at **https://service.ok.gov**.

### 47 OS Sec. 1128 ss(d)

"Every person engaged in the business of transporting and delivering new or used vehicles by driving, either singly or by tow bar, saddle mount or full mount method, engaging in drive-away operations as defined in Section 3 of Title 85 of the Oklahoma Statues, or any combination thereof, from the manufacturer or shipper to the dealer or consignee and using the public highways of this state shall file with the Commission a verified application for in-transit license plates to identify such vehicles. The application shall provide for a general distinctive number for all vehicles so transported" "...Such in-transit plate shall be used by such person only on vehicles when so transported." "...Provided, a used motor vehicle dealer shall use a used dealer license plate in lieu of the in-transit license plate for transporting a used motor vehicle, and, in such cases, shall be exempt from making application for an in-transit license plate. Provided further, only a person who possesses a certificate issued by the Interstate Commerce Commission or the Corporation Commission to engage in the business of transporting and delivering manufactured homes for hire may use the in-transit license plates obtained by them as herein authorized for transporting new or used manufactured homes from one location to another location within Oklahoma or from a point in another state to a point in this state. Nothing contained in this section shall relieve any person from the payment of license fees otherwise provided by law. When the Commission deems it advisable and in the public interest, it may require the holder of any in-transit license, or any person making application therefore, to file a proper surety bond in any amount it deems proper, not to exceed Ten Thousand Dollars (\$10,000)."

## 47 OS Sec. 1-186

Vehicle Defined:

Every device in, upon or by which any person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a highway, excepting devices moved by human power or used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks, provided however the definition of "vehicle" as used in this act¹ shall not include implements of husbandry as defined in section 1-125 of this chapter.

laws 1961, p.321, § 1-186

<sup>1</sup>section 1-101 et seq. of this title.

Service Oklahoma PO Box 26940 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73126-0940

> Telephone: 405-521-3221 (In State toll free) 800-522-8165

> > https://service.ok.gov