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Summary of 2023 Tax Legislation 
 
INCOME TAX 
 
HB 1934 - Effective August 25, 2023 
 
HB 1934 creates the Oklahoma Parental Choice Tax Credit Act (70 O.S. §28-100) 
and the Oklahoma Parental Choice Tax Credit Program. 
 
For tax year 2024 and subsequent tax years, the Program provides a new, 
refundable income tax credit for an Oklahoma taxpayer who incurs a qualified 
expense on behalf of an eligible student, to be administered subject to the 
following amounts:  
 

• If the eligible student attends a private school accredited by the State 
Board of Education or another accrediting association, the maximum 
credit is: 

o $7,500 or the amount of tuition and fees for the private school, 
whichever is less, if the eligible student is a member of a household 
in which the total adjusted gross income (AGI) during the second 
preceding tax year does not exceed $75,000. 

o $7,000 or the amount of tuition and fees for the private school, 
whichever is less, if the eligible student is a member of a household 
in which the total AGI during the second preceding tax year is 
more than $75,000 but does not exceed $150,000. 

o $6,500 or the amount of tuition and fees for the private school, 
whichever is less, if the eligible student is a member of a household 
in which the total AGI during the second preceding tax year is 
more than $150,000 but does not exceed $225,000. 

o $6,000 or the amount of tuition and fees for the private school, 
whichever is less, if the eligible student is a member of a household 
in which the total AGI during the second preceding tax year is 
more than $225,000 but does not exceed $250,000. 

o $5,000 or the amount of tuition and fees for the private school, 
whichever is less, if the eligible student is a member of a household 
in which the total AGI during the second preceding tax year is 
more than $250,000. 

 
• $1,000 in qualified expenses per eligible student in each tax year, if the 

eligible student is educated pursuant to the other means of education 
exception provided for in subsection A of 70 O.S. § 10-105.  
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The total amount of credits for private school expenses are limited to: 
 

• $150 million for tax year 2024. 
• $200 million for tax year 2025. 
• $250 million for tax years 2026 and subsequent years. 

 
The total amount of credits for homeschool expenses are limited to $5 million 
for tax years 2025 and subsequent tax years. Credits are unlimited for tax year 
2024. 
 
Taxpayers claiming the credit must: 

• Only claim the credit for qualified expenses to provide an education for 
an eligible student. 

• Ensure no other person is claiming a credit for the eligible student. 
• Not claim the credit for an eligible student who enrolls as a full-time 

student in a public school district, public charter school, public virtual 
school, or magnet school. 

• Comply with rules and requirements established by the OTC for 
administration of the Program. 

• Retain all receipts of qualified expenses as proof of the amounts paid 
each year the credit is claimed and submit the receipts to the OTC upon 
request. 

 
A taxpayer claiming the credit for private school expenses must submit to the 
OTC an affidavit from the private school in which the eligible student is enrolled 
or is expected to enroll with the tuition and fees to be charged to the taxpayer 
for the applicable school year. 
 
The OTC must prescribe applications to claim the credits and a deadline by 
which applications must be submitted. A taxpayer claiming the credit for 
private school expenses must submit an application prescribed by the OTC to 
receive the credit in two installments, each of which will be half of the expected 
amount of tuition and fees for the private school based on the private school 
affidavit submitted, but in no event will an installment payment exceed half 
the amount of the credit. 
 
In reviewing applications submitted by eligible taxpayers to determine 
whether they qualify for the credit for private school expenses, the OTC will give 
first preference in making installments to taxpayers who qualify to claim the 
credit for an eligible student who is a member of a household in which the total 
AGI during the second preceding tax year does not exceed $150,000. The OTC 
will make the installments based on the expected amount of tuition and fee 
amounts on the private school affidavit. 
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The OTC is authorized to conduct an audit or contract for auditing of receipts 
for qualified expenses. The OTC is further authorized to recapture the credits 
on a prorated basis if an audit shows that the credit was claimed for 
expenditures that were not qualified expenses, or it finds that the taxpayer has 
claimed an eligible student who no longer attends a private school or has 
enrolled in a public school in Oklahoma. 
 
The OTC must coordinate with the State Department of Education to develop 
a process to review student enrollment information in order to verify that an 
eligible student who is claimed by a taxpayer receiving a tax credit is not 
enrolled in an Oklahoma public school. 
 
Eligible students may accept a scholarship from the Lindsey Nicole Henry 
Scholarships for Students with Disabilities Program created by 70 O.S. § 13-101.2 
while participating in the Program. 
 
In the event of a failure of revenue pursuant to the Oklahoma State Finance 
Act, the tax credits will be reduced proportionately to the reduction in the 
amount of money appropriated to the State Board of Education for the 
financial support of public schools for the fiscal year in which the revenue 
failure occurs. The OTC must make the amount of credits claimed each tax year 
available on its website. 
 
HB 2542 - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
HB 2542 amends 68 O.S. § 2357.22, which provides an income tax credit for 
investments in qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel property placed in 
service on or after January 1, 1991. Under the measure, qualified clean-burning 
motor vehicle fuel property is expanded to include equipment installed to 
modify a motor vehicle that is propelled by a hydrogen fuel cell, effective for 
property placed in service on or after July 1, 2023. 
 
SB 602 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 602 amends 68 O.S. § 2358.6a, relating to qualified property. If a taxpayer 
elects immediate and full expensing of qualified property or qualified 
improvement property, any depreciation calculated and claimed pursuant to 
68 O.S. § 2358.6a will in no event be a duplication of any depreciation or bonus 
depreciation allowed or permitted on the federal income tax return of the 
taxpayer. 
 
For income tax returns filed on or after January 1, 2023, federal taxable income 
will be increased by the amount of depreciation received under the Internal 
Revenue Code for the qualified property or qualified improvement property for 
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which the election has been made to immediately and fully expense the asset 
on the Oklahoma income tax return for the year in which the property was 
placed in service. A taxpayer filing a return for which federal taxable income is 
not increased prior to October 1, 2023, will file an amended return reflecting 
such increase not later than June 30, 2024. The OTC will not assess penalties or 
interest with respect to the failure to reflect such increase if a correct amended 
return is filed as required. 
 
SB 747 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 747 amends 68 O.S. § 2358.7 to increase the existing income tax credits for 
volunteer firefighters. Currently, income tax credits for volunteer firefighters 
are $200 and $400, depending on certification and completion of continuing 
education. Under the measure, the credit amounts are increased to $300 and 
$600, effective for tax year 2024 and subsequent tax years. 
 
AD VALOREM  
 
HB 2339 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
HB 2339 amends 68 O.S. § 2887 by increasing the maximum fair cash value of 
a single family residential property to be eligible for an exemption from ad 
valorem taxation on the basis that the property be used exclusively for fraternal 
or religious purposes (i.e. parsonages). The maximum eligible value is increased 
from $250,000 to $500,000. 
 
9-1-1 TELEPHONE FEES 
 
HB 1590 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
HB 1590 increases the current 9-1-1 telephone fees on each wireless telephone 
device or connection, VOIP (voice over internet protocol) and prepaid wireless 
retail transactions from $0.75 to $1.25. It also expands the base of the fee 
imposed on VOIP to include each service with the ability to dial 9-1-1 for 
emergency calls, including landlines, and increases the apportionment to the 
Oklahoma 9-1-1 Management Authority Revolving Fund from $0.05 collected 
from each of these fees to $0.22.   
 
The measure further eliminates the 3% vendor retention related to prepaid 9-
1-1 fees and the 1% vendor retention for the remaining fees, and reduces the 
OTC reimbursement percentage for the referenced fees from 1% to .8%. In 
addition, landline telecommunication connections are subject to the $1.25 
monthly fee for each service with the ability to dial 9-1-1 for emergency calls (26 
O.S. § 4-120.3). 
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APPORTIONMENT 
 
HB 2901 - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
HB 2901 provides the following appropriations: 
 

• $500 million from any monies not otherwise appropriated from the 
General Revenue Fund for FY 24 to the State Board of Education for the 
financial support of public schools.  

• $125 million from any monies not otherwise appropriated from the 
General Revenue Fund for FY 24 for the State Board of Education for 
deposit in the State Public Common School Building Equalization Fund 
to be distributed as redbud school grants, as provided in 70 O.S. § 3-104. 

 
Beginning July 1, 2024, and at the beginning of each succeeding state fiscal 
year, if the amount of money appropriated to the State Board of Education for 
the financial support of public schools and public school activities in such fiscal 
year and for distribution through redbud school grants is less than such 
amounts appropriated for FY 24, the tax credits otherwise authorized in the 
Oklahoma Parental Choice Tax Credit Act1 will be reduced proportionately to 
reflect the proportion such appropriations fail to reach the baseline amounts 
appropriated for FY 24. 
 
SB 1120 - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
SB 1120 amends 70 O.S. § 3-104 and 68 O.S. § 1353 by striking language requiring 
apportionment of sales tax revenues attributable to retail sales of medical 
marijuana under circumstances where the designated amounts attributable 
to 7% medical marijuana tax revenues are insufficient to fund redbud school 
grants. 
 
ALCOHOL AND MIXED BEVERAGES 
 
SB 796 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 796 amends 37A O.S. § 3-106, requiring direct wine shippers to pay all 
applicable taxes (i.e. alcoholic beverage excise tax and use tax) to the OTC on a 
quarterly basis instead of on an annual basis.  
 
 

 
1 HB 1934, 1st Session, 59th Legislature (2023) 
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SB 1035 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 1035 reinstates2 the compliance percentage parameters for the amount of 
gross receipts tax paid on spirits, wine, and beer in regard to an audit 
conducted by the OTC. It also provides for a maximum deduction allowance of 
10% for product losses attributable to breakage, spillage, theft and other 
occurrences, and authorizes the OTC to promulgate rules for additional 
deductions for the described occurrences that exceed the 10% allowance and 
for the documentation required to properly verify loss claim amounts (37A O.S. 
§ 5-135).   
 
MOTOR FUEL 
 
HB 2062 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
HB 2062 amends 68 O.S. § 500.22 by extending the current sunset date of July 
1, 2024, for the motor fuel discount allowed “eligible purchasers” until July 1, 
2029. The discount is 1.6% for gasoline purchasers and 1.9% for diesel 
purchasers.  
 
HB 2315 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
HB 2315 amends 68 O.S. §§ 6504 and 6506, relating to electric vehicle charging 
tax. The Corporation Commission is required upon its final determination to 
provide the calculation for the tax rate equivalent to the OTC for collection from 
businesses. In addition, the electric vehicle charging tax is required to be 
remitted on the 27th of the first month following the annual period by each 
charging station owner or operator beginning January 1, 2024, and ending 
December 31, 2028, and quarterly beginning January 1, 2029.  
 
MUNICIPALITIES 
 
SB 317 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 317 amends the Oklahoma Local Development Act pursuant to 62 O.S. § 860 
by establishing reporting requirements for the governing body of a city, town, 
or county.  
 
 
 

 
2 Provisions eliminated by SB 757, 2nd Regular Session, 58th Oklahoma Legislature. 
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QUALITY JOBS 
 
SB 604 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 604 amends 68 O.S. § 3604, relating to the Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program 
Act by increasing the period of time for the quarterly incentive rebates from 15 
years to 30 years for entities defined or classified in the NAICS Manual under 
U.S. Industry No. 711211 (2007 version). In order to qualify for the 30-year period, 
entities must have entered into a contract pursuant to the Oklahoma Quality 
Jobs Program Act with the Oklahoma Department of Commerce (Commerce) 
before November 1, 2023. 
 
The extension will not include additional money awarded but will allow for 
incentive payments to continue for the 30-year period or until the net benefit 
for the new direct jobs for the original contract has been fully paid out as 
calculated based upon the original application. 
 
SB 1177 - Effective May 17, 2023 
 
SB 1177 enacts the Perform Act (68 O.S. § 3646.1 et seq.),3 creating an investment 
rebate program based on the cost of qualified capital expenditures by an 
establishment that creates not less than a threshold number of new direct 
jobs. Commerce and the OTC are to administer the rebate program. 
 
Entities applying for the rebate must submit to Commerce an application and 
documentation of the following: 

• A capital expenditure plan in Oklahoma associated with qualified capital 
expenditures totaling at least $1 billion. 

• Qualified capital expenditures of no less than 20% of the capital 
expenditure plan outlined in the approved application. 

• Entity is qualified to receive payments under the Oklahoma Quality Jobs 
Program Act pursuant to 68 O.S. § 3601. 

• Entity filed all Oklahoma tax returns and tax documents required by law. 
 
Any establishment (including subsidiaries) that receives an investment rebate 
payment pursuant to the Perform Act is ineligible to receive the 
Investment/New Jobs Credit (68 O.S. § 2357.4) or the investment rebate 
payments provided under the Large-scale Economic Activity and 
Development Act of 2022 (68 O.S. § 3645.1 et seq.) in connection with the 
project or development for which the Perform Act investment rebate payment 
was based. Additionally, no investment expenditure may be utilized for 
calculation purposes that result in the qualification of more than one 

 
3 This measure is effective for investments made on or after April 1, 2023, and expires July 1, 2032.  
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establishment for the Perform Act investment rebate payments based on the 
same expenditure. 
 
Subject to the approval and ongoing review of the eligibility application by 
Commerce, the Perform Act investment rebate payment will be 10% of the cost 
of the qualified capital expenditures, payable by the OTC upon claims made by 
the establishment. The OTC must make investment rebate payments under 
the Perform Act from the Perform Fund in five installments of no more than 
$36 million per installment. If the capital expenditures for a previous 
installment claim creates a claim that exceeds $36 million, that amount may 
be used to calculate a subsequent claim, subject to being capped at $36 
million per installment. 
 
Any unencumbered funds remaining in the Perform Fund upon the expiration 
of the Perform Act investment rebate program must be transferred to the 
State Treasurer for deposit in the General Revenue Fund. 
 
Additionally, SB 1179 appropriates $180 million to the Perform Fund enacted 
under the Perform Act from any monies not otherwise appropriated from the 
General Revenue for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022. The Perform Fund is 
established in the State Treasurer’s office for the OTC to pay investment rebate 
payments authorized under the Perform Act. 
 
TOBACCO 
 
SB 601 - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
SB 601 includes various amendments related to tobacco: 
 
Sections 1 and 2 amend 68 O.S. §§ 304 and 415, providing that a cigarette 
manufacturer, wholesaler or retailer or a tobacco wholesaler or retailer will not 
be issued a license if their place of business is a location with a physical 
residential address. 
 
Section 3 amends 68 O.S. § 400.1, adding language relating to the composition 
and qualification of the industry advisory committee and the appointment 
thereof. 
 
Section 4 amends 68 O.S. § 400.5, authorizing the OTC to confiscate tobacco 
products purchased by a retailer from a person who is not holding a current 
Oklahoma wholesale tobacco license in violation of 68 O.S. § 400.5. 
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Section 5 amends 68 O.S. § 417, allowing the OTC to assess a penalty and any 
delinquent excise taxes for tobacco products with unpaid tax that have been 
seized by the OTC. 
 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
 
HB 1956 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
HB 1956 creates the Dixon Act and amends 68 O.S. § 238.1, which requires a 
person holding a state license to be in compliance with Oklahoma income tax 
laws. 
 
The measure deletes the requirement for the OTC to notify a licensing agency 
of a licensee’s noncompliance and allows a licensee who is not in compliance 
with Oklahoma income tax laws to renew a license. The measure further 
authorizes the OTC to proceed by garnishment to collect any delinquent tax, 
penalty or interest due from a licensee. A licensee who was not previously 
required to pay income tax or who has moved to Oklahoma within the past 
year is exempt from income tax compliance requirements pursuant to 68 O.S. 
§ 238.1. 
 
HB 2289 - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
HB 2289 includes various amendments to enhance the OTC’s administration 
of the various tax codes. 
 
Section 1 amends 68 O.S. § 221 to clarify the time allowed for a taxpayer to file 
a protest in response to a proposed assessment by the OTC. 
 
Currently, a taxpayer may file a protest within 60 days of the mailing of an 
assessment. HB 2289 clarifies that a written protest must be filed with the OTC 
within 60 days of the date indicated on a proposed assessment 
 
Section 2 amends 68 O.S. § 225 to require all hearings held in proceedings 
pursuant to 68 O.S. § 225 to be held in closed court without admittance of any 
person other than interested parties, their counsel, and employees of the OTC 
and its counsel. Confidential information filed with or submitted to the 
Supreme Court or district court in conjunction with any proceeding pursuant 
to 68 O.S. § 225 will not constitute a public record and will be sealed by the 
court. Access to confidential information will be strictly controlled. 
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Section 3 amends 68 O.S. § 226 to clarify the time allowed for a taxpayer to file 
a notice of the intent to file suit for the recovery of tax in response to a proposed 
assessment by the OTC. 
 
Currently a taxpayer may file a notice of the intent to file suit within 30 days of 
the mailing of an assessment. HB 2289 clarifies that a notice of the intent to file 
suit must be filed with the OTC within 30 days of the date indicated on a 
proposed assessment. 
 
Section 4 amends 68 O.S. § 227 to clarify the time allowed for a taxpayer to file 
a demand for hearing with the OTC if a refund claim is denied. 
 
Currently, a taxpayer may file a demand for hearing on or before the 60th day 
after the date the notice of denial was mailed. HB 2289 clarifies the demand 
for hearing must be filed with the OTC on or before the 60th day after the date 
indicated on the notice of denial. 
 
Section 5 amends 68 O.S. § 231 to require OTC to electronically file tax warrants. 
 
Section 6 amends 68 O.S. § 255.2, replacing the State Department of Health 
with the OMMA. 
 
Section 7 amends 68 O.S. § 1364, requiring an individual or sole proprietor to 
be at least 18 years of age to obtain a sales tax permit. A parent or legal 
guardian may apply for a permit on behalf of an individual or sole proprietor 
who is not at least 18 years of age, provided, the parent or legal guardian will 
be considered the authorized user responsible for remitting state tax.  
 
Section 8 amends 68 O.S. § 1364.2, requiring promoters or organizers to provide 
vendor letters or forms to special event vendors for reporting sales tax 
collections and any other information that may be required by the OTC. At least 
ten days prior to the start of a special event, the organizer or promoter will 
submit a list of all vendors registered to attend the event. Within 15 days 
following the conclusion of the special event, the organizer or promoter will 
also submit a list of vendors who actually attended the event. Each list will 
include the vendor’s name, address, telephone number, email address, and 
taxpayer identification number. If a vendor holds an Oklahoma sales tax permit 
issued under 68 O.S. § 1364, the permit number must also be included. 
 
The measure further removes the deduction allowed to compensate the 
promoter or organizer of a special event for keeping sales tax records, filing 
reports and remitting the tax when due.  
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Sections 9 and 10 amend 68 O.S. §§ 2373 and 2375 to clarify the time allowed 
for a taxpayer to file a refund claim with the OTC. 
 
Under the measure, any claim for refund of an overpayment of tax must be 
made within three years from the due date of the return, including the period 
of any extension of time for filing a return, or two years from the payment of 
the tax liability, whichever period is later, or, if no return was filed by the 
taxpayer, within two years from the time the tax was paid. 
 
Unless the amount of taxable income for any year of a taxpayer under the 
Internal Revenue Code is changed or corrected from the amounts included in 
the federal return of a taxpayer for such year and such change or correction 
affects the Oklahoma taxable income of the taxpayer for such year, no refund 
will be allowed or made after the proposed expiration of the period of limitation 
for filing a refund claim. If a refund claim is filed during the proposed period, 
the amount of refund, if any, will not exceed the amount of tax paid within the 
period, immediately preceding the filing of the claim, equal to three years plus 
the period of any extension of time for filing a return. If the claim was not filed 
within the three-year period, the refund will not exceed the portion of the tax 
paid during the two years immediately preceding the filing of the claim. 
 
On the original due date of the return, not including any extension, a taxpayer 
will remit to the OTC the amount of tax due. Failure to pay such tax on or before 
the date the return is due, not including any extensions, will cause the tax to 
become delinquent. 
 
Section 11 amends 68 O.S. § 2385.3 to impose a penalty of up to $1,000 for failure 
of an employer to provide an annual reconciliation within 30 days of the due 
date. Such penalty may be collected in the same manner as provided by law 
for collection of delinquent taxes. 
 
Currently, every employer that is required under 68 O.S. § 2385.3 to deduct and 
withhold a tax from employee wages must provide the OTC an annual 
reconciliation on or before January 31st of the succeeding year.  
 
Section 12 amends 68 O.S. § 3131, relating to the resale of property by a county. 
When any tract or lot of land sells for more than the taxes, penalties, interest, 
and cost thereon, a county treasurer must notify the OTC within 30 days after 
the resale and include in the notification all information necessary for the OTC 
to determine whether a tax lien exists on the subject property. 
 
Within 60 days of receipt of the notification, the OTC will provide notice to the 
county treasurer of any outstanding tax liabilities, including tax, penalty and 
interest attached to each tract or lot of land, regardless of whether a tax 
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warrant has been filed. Upon timely notice of liability by the OTC, the county 
treasurer will remit to the OTC the lesser of the amount of the outstanding tax 
liabilities or the excess proceeds. Any remaining proceeds will be held in a 
separate fund for the record owner of such land. 
 
SB 600 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 600 enacts various amendments to enhance the OTC’s administration of 
the various tax codes. 
 
Section 1 amends 68 O.S. § 212 to clarify that within 60 days of the date 
indicated on any notice of refusal to issue, extend, or reinstate any license, 
permit, or duplicate copy thereof, the applicant may file with the OTC a written 
protest signed by the applicant or the authorized agent of the applicant, 
stating the reasons the license, permit, or duplicate copy thereof should be 
issued and requesting an administrative hearing. If a hearing is requested, the 
applicant will be given at least ten days’ notice of the hearing. 
 
Section 2 amends 68 O.S. § 225, providing that information designated by a 
party as confidential that is filed with or submitted to the Supreme Court or 
district court in conjunction with any proceeding pursuant to 68 O.S. § 225 will 
not constitute a public record and will be sealed by the court. Any party seeking 
to file confidential materials will place the materials in a sealed manila 
envelope clearly marked with the caption and case number, the word 
“CONFIDENTIAL”, and a reference to 68 O.S. § 225 
 
Section 3 amends 68 O.S. § 1364 to clarify that an applicant for a  sales tax 
permit may request a hearing to show cause why a permit should be renewed 
within 20 days of the date of the written notification of the notice of refusal. 
Whenever a permit holder fails to comply with any provisions of 68 O.S. § 1364, 
the OTC, after giving 20 days’ notice in writing of the time and place of hearing 
to show cause why the permit should not be revoked, may revoke or suspend 
the permit, the permit to be renewed upon removal of cause or causes of 
revocation or suspension. 
 
SB 605 - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
SB 605 amends 68 O.S. § 2357.22, which provides an income tax credit for 
investments in qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel property placed in 
service on or after January 1, 1991. For FY 24, the OTC will calculate and transfer 
an amount that equals 12% of the credit for tax year 2021 to the Compressed 
Natural Gas Conversion Safety and Regulation Fund pursuant to 74 O.S. § 
130.25. For each subsequent fiscal year, the OTC will perform the same 
calculation and transfer for credits claimed in the second preceding tax year. 
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SB 607 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 607 amends 68 O.S. § 114 to allow the OTC to pay membership fees in 
applicable regional or national associations, dues for membership in 
professional organizations, and registration costs related to virtual or in-person 
continuing education to comply with mandatory annual hour requirements 
for Commission members or employees of the Commission who are certified 
public accountants or licensed attorneys. 
 
SB 623 - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
SB 623 amends 42 O.S. §§ 91 and 91A, relating to motor vehicles (Title 42 
Process), by replacing all references to the OTC with Service Oklahoma. 
 
SB 773 - Effective November 1, 2023 (Sections 14 – 16) and July 1, 2024 
(Sections 1 – 13) 
    
SB 773 amends 3 O.S. §§ 251 et seq. and 68 O.S. §§ 6002 – 6004, 6006 and 6007, 
to transfer all duties related to the registration and regulation of aircraft and 
related licenses, fees and taxes from the OTC to Service Oklahoma (see 
Sections 1 – 13). 
 
In addition, any administrative rules promulgated by the OTC related to the 
administration of the aircraft registration provisions set forth in 3 O.S. § 251 et 
seq. after January 1, 2024, will be transferred to and become a part of the 
administrative rules of Service Oklahoma. The Office of Administrative Rules 
within the Office of the Secretary of State will provide adequate notice in the 
Oklahoma Register of the transfer of rules and will place the transferred rules 
under the Administrative Code section of Service Oklahoma. From and after 
January 1, 2024, any amendment, repeal, or addition to the transferred rules 
will be under the jurisdiction of Service Oklahoma. All documents issued by the 
sections transferred to Service Oklahoma, including but not limited to 
registration and permits, will be deemed to have been issued by Service 
Oklahoma. 
 
Sections 14 and 15 of the proposal further amend 3 O.S. §§ 374 and 421, relating 
to the Oklahoma Advanced Mobility Pilot Program, and Section 16 creates the 
Oklahoma Advanced Air Mobility Revolving Fund in the State Treasury for the 
Oklahoma Department of Aerospace and Aeronautics. The fund will consist of 
monies received by the OTC that are specifically required by law to be 
deposited in the fund, any public or private donations, contributions and gifts 
received for the benefit of the fund, and any amounts appropriated by the 
Legislature. 
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SALES AND USE TAX 
 
HB 2312 - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
HB 2312 amends 68 O.S. § 1357(34) to allow the sales tax exemption afforded an 
unremarried surviving spouse of a qualifying 100% disabled veteran to be 
claimed under circumstances where the disability determination that would 
have been made while the disabled veteran was still living is not made final 
until after the death of the disabled veteran. Sales qualifying for exemption are 
limited to $1,000 per year for an unremarried surviving spouse. 
  
HB 2335 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
HB 2335 amends 68 O.S. § 1391 by excluding any hotel or motel the as-built 
construction of which contains more than 12 rooms for occupancy in the 
regular course of business conducted by the hotel or motel from the definition 
of “product”.   
 
SB 463 - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 463 amends 68 O.S. § 1357 by extending the sunset date of the sales tax 
exemption for sales of rolling stock by the manufacturer thereof from July 1, 
2024, to July 1, 2029. In addition, the measure removes the existing criteria that 
in order for the sale to be exempt, it must be made by the manufacturer of the 
“rolling rock.” 
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Summary of 2023 First Special Session Tax 
Legislation 
 
INCOME TAX 
 
HB 1029X - Effective January 1, 2024 
 
HB 1029X enacts the Caring for Caregivers Act (68 O.S. §2357.801) and creates a 
new income tax credit for 50% of eligible expenditures incurred by a family 
caregiver for the care and support of an eligible family member, effective for 
tax year 2024 and subsequent tax years. The annual credit amount is limited to 
$2,000, unless the eligible family member is a veteran or has a diagnosis of 
dementia, in which case, the maximum allowable credit is $3,000. If two or 
more family caregivers claim the credit for the same eligible family member, 
the maximum allowable credit must be allocated in equal amounts between 
each family caregiver.  
 
Total annual credits are limited to $1.5 million. If total credits exceed $1.5 million 
in any calendar year, the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) will permit any 
excess over $1.5 million but will factor such excess into the percentage 
adjustment formula for subsequent years. The OTC will annually calculate and 
publish by the first day of the affected year the percentage by which the credits 
will be reduced so the total annual amount of credits used to offset tax does 
not exceed $1.5 million. The formula used for the percentage adjustment is $1.5 
million divided by the credits claimed in the second preceding year.4 
 
HB 1040X - Effective January 1, 2024 
 
HB 1040X amends 68 O.S. § 2355 by adjusting the income levels in the top two 
income tax rate brackets for income tax returns with a filing status of married 
filing joint, head of household, or surviving spouse for tax year 2024 and 
subsequent tax years.   
 
SB 17X - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 17X amends 68 O.S. § 2357.104, extending through tax year 2029 the existing 
credit for qualified railroad reconstruction or replacement expenditures.  
 
 
 
 

 
4 The credit cap calculation is effective beginning for tax year 2026. 
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FRANCHISE TAX 
 
HB 1039X - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
HB 1039X eliminates the Oklahoma franchise tax levied under 68 O.S. §§ 1203 
and 1204, effective for tax year 2024 and subsequent tax years. This measure 
also eliminates the requirement to file a franchise tax return under 68 O.S. § 
1210, which includes a statement under oath reporting the entity’s president, 
secretary or managing officer, or managing agent in this state. 
 
AD VALOREM 
 
HB 1008X - Effective January 1, 2024 
 
HB 1008X amends 68 O.S. § 2890 by increasing the income eligibility ceiling 
for additional homestead exemption qualification from $25,000 to $30,000. 
 
MISCELLANEOUS 
 
Apportionment 
 
HB 1028X - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
HB 1028X amends 85A O.S. § 122 by specifying that if the Multiple Injury Trust 
Fund in any one month is insufficient to make the required payments, the 
unpaid portion shall be paid as soon as funds become available. The measure 
also increases the current apportionment to the Workers’ Compensation 
Commission Revolving Fund to $5.5 million each fiscal year, and decreases the 
apportionment to the Workers’ Compensation Administrative Fund to 
$250,000 each fiscal year. All unencumbered funds remaining in the Workers’ 
Compensation Administration Fund on July 1, 2027, shall be transferred to the 
State Treasurer to be returned to the Multiple Injury Trust Fund. 
 
SB 18X - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
SB 18X creates the Medical Marijuana Tax Fund within the State Treasury for 
the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) and amends 63 O.S. § 426, 
relating to the apportionment of the 7% medical marijuana gross receipts tax.  
For FY 24 and thereafter, all such revenues must be deposited into the Fund. 
 
The measure further amends 62 O.S. § 427.5, providing that all monies accruing 
to the credit of the Fund shall be appropriated at the discretion of the 
Legislature for the purpose of funding the OMMA. 
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QUALITY JOBS 
 
SB 13X - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 13X amends 68 O.S. §§ 3604 and 3606, relating to the Oklahoma Quality Jobs 
Program Act by increasing the period of time for the quarterly incentive 
rebates from 15 years to 30 years for entities defined or classified in the North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Manual under U.S. Industry 
No. 711211 (2007 version).   
 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
 
SB 37X - Effective July 1, 2023 
 
SB 37X amends 47 O.S. § 1104 by requiring Service Oklahoma to provide reports 
regarding motor vehicle collections, apportionment, refunds, cancelled 
vouchers, waste tire collections, organ donor program amounts, drivers’ 
license records, prorate amounts and sales tax amounts to the OTC on a 
monthly basis. 
 
SALES AND USE TAX 
 
SB 14X - Effective November 1, 2023 
 
SB 14X amends 68 O.S. § 2396 of the Oklahoma Tourism Development Act 
relating to the period in which an agreement with Commerce and an 
approved company for a tourism attraction project is mandated to be in effect. 
Current statutory provisions require such agreements to be in effect for a 
period of ten years, which is measured by different occurrences. The measure 
authorizes that the described agreements may be in effect for periods up to 
ten years, and modifies Section 2397 of the Act by increasing the cap on the 
cumulative inducements provided under the Act from $15 million to $30 
million per year. 
 
SB 34X - Effective June 2, 2023 
 
SB 34X relates to the sales tax exemption for qualifying broadband equipment. 
 
Section 1 amends 68 O.S. § 1357(43) to ensure that the exemption will be 
operative on and after May 24, 2023, notwithstanding the fact that the 
exemption was made contingent upon the enactment of an incentive award 
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formula which failed to occur as prescribed in the enrolled version of HB 2946 
of the 1st Session of the 58th Legislature.  
 
Section 2 amends 68 O.S. § 1357.21. No changes are proposed to the rebate 
program for qualifying property placed in service in calendar years 2022 and 
2023. For fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 2023, the rebate is capped at 
$42 million.   
 
The measure strikes the provisions that require allocation of the capped 
amount to be made using an incentive award formula as enacted into law by 
the Legislature after recommendation by the Rural Broadband Expansion 
Council.   
 
The measure further strikes the contingency that should an incentive award 
formula not be enacted into law as of January 1, 2023, the sales tax exemption 
otherwise authorized pursuant to 68 O.S. § 1357 would cease to be effective as 
law, and the exemption would not be applicable to any equipment purchase 
made on or after January 1, 2024. 
 
STATE-TRIBAL COMPACT MEASURES 
 
HB 1005X – Veto Overridden – Effective October 30, 2023 
 
HB 1005X allows a concurring Tribal Nation with an existing State-Tribal motor 
vehicle licensing and registration compact as of January 1, 2023, to extend the 
expiration date thereof to December 31, 2024. 
 
SB 26X – Veto Overridden – Effective October 30, 2023 
 
SB 26X allows a concurring Tribal Nation with an existing State-Tribal tobacco 
products excise tax compact as of January 1, 2023, to extend the expiration date 
thereof to December 31, 2024. The measure also provides for restoration of 
certain compacts in effect on January 1, 2019, which expired prior to the 
effective date of this Act. 
 
 


