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LOCATION OF V.I.N. INFORMATION 

I.B.T.F. Virginia Data Bank for Manufactured Home Serial Numbers 703.481.2010 or IBTF.org. 

H.U.D. data plates are red and are aƥxed to the skirt level at the rear corner of each section. 
 
 

 
Modular homes will have a data plate located in the cabinet near the kitchen sink. Some states have a 
state building code plate in the same general area. 

 
Many homes will have a data plate located in the electrical breaker box, front door frame or hot water tank closet. 
Diơerent manufacturers attach plates in various places. 

Stamped serial numbers are found on the front cross member of the frame. Some homes will have the serial number 
stamped somewhere on the frame rail. If the tongue has been removed, check the frame rails for the stamped 
number. 

If a serial number cannot be found, but the manufacWXUHU�LV�NQRZQ��\RX�PD\�FDOO�WKH�PDQXIDFWXUHU�WR�¿QG the 
location of the data plate and/or serial number 

Your local dealer may be able to assist in locating the data plate or serial number. 
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No action required by the county assessor. The motor license agent will title and register for the balance of the 
calendar year. 

 

 
DPS will issue a permit for homes with current year registration and decal. 
If a factory built dwelling unit is designated as a manufactured home on the MSO, it is always a manufactured 
home for taxation unless the title is surrendered. Manufactured home dealers may move a trade-in home to a 
secure location with a trade-in affidavit. However, all taxes and fees must be paid within 30 days of issuance of 
the size & weight permit, and prior to any title work. 
Used manufactured home dealers are required to obtain title in their name on homes on their lots on January 
1st; on homes acquired with out-of-state titles, or when they are the last assignee on an Oklahoma title. Dealer 
must purchase tag every year used homes are on the lot. When a dealer is obtaining title in their name due to 
being the last assignee, proof of current year ad valorem taxes, or a release indicating no current year ad 
valorem taxes are due, must be submitted (OTC Form 936). Current year decal must be obtained by the 
selling dealer for homes on a dealer’s lot January 1st. The county assessor will place the home on the 
assessment roll for the following calendar year. Subsequent moves are allowed in the same calendar year 
using the current year registration and decal or OTC Form 936. Two decals will be issued by the county 
treasurer, one for the hard tag, and one for the window. 

 
Lenders are always treated as individuals, not a dealer. 
*May be original NCR paper copy or photocopy. $3.50 MV tax stamp for new homes only. 



 

 
 

*Provided a current OTC Form 779 Armed Forces Registration is presented, no 936 will be required for _tle 
transfer or moving permit. The annual fee is $26.
Ref: 47 O.S. § 1127. This ruling applies to all personal motor vehicles in addition to manufactured homes. 
The armed forces registration is not applicable if the non-UHVLGHQW�PLOLWDU\�¿OHV�IRU�KRPHVWHDG�H[HPSWLRQ� 
 
National Guard or Reserve on active duty do not qualify as active duty non-resident. OAC 60-3-131,132.  
Spouse or the parents of such active duty military persons are authorized to register on behalf of the military person if 
that person is unable to register the manufactured home at the appropriate time. 

 

 
 

REGISTRATION IN-LIEU OF AD VALOREM — MOBILE OFFICE 
 

A manufactured home which is used as a mobile office or other similar use, may pay an expiring commercial 
registration fee in-lieu of ad valorem. 

In order to qualify as a mobile oƥce, the manufactured home may not be used for: 

1. Permanent Living quarters, or 

2. Sleeping quarters 
 

When declaring a manufactured home has been converted to a mobile office, a OTC Form 701-9 Body Change 
Affidavit must be completed. 

 

The affidavit and previous title to the manufactured home must be submitted, along with the appropriate fees (new 
title registration) to the Oklahoma Tax Commission Motor Vehicle Title Section.
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 47 O.S. § 1137.1; 68 O.S. § 5301  



 

 
 

Manufactured home licensed Oklahoma dealers or repossessors, may move a repossessed home to a secure 
location with OTC Form 737 Oklahoma Repossession Affidavit. However, all taxes and fees shall be paid within 
30 days from the issuance of the move permit and prior to any title work. See: 68 O.S. § 2813(C)(E). 
 
If the home is not moving, no repossession affidavit is required. However, repossession affidavit is 
required to obtain a repossession title. 
When motor license agent issues a repossession title Form 936, proof of paid current year ad valorem taxes 
must be presented. The $46.00 repossession fee is also due when issuing the title. 
Repossessed homes held for consignment are required to have a current year 936 prior to any title transfer. 
 
MOVING FOR COMMERCIAL PURPOSES: The Department of Public Safety shall issue a permit to transport a 
home used for commercial purposes only January 2nd through 6th and only if the applicant has secured a 
special waiver and a commercial move aƥdavit issued by the county assessor where the home is located. [See: 
68 O.S. § 2813] The waiver and OTC Form 932 may be obtained anytime prior to January 2nd. Moves after 
January 6th will require a Form 936. 

Administration of this provision will be similar to the repossession and dealer trade procedures. The Form 936 
and tax decal will be required to be paid within thirty (30) days of the issuance of the special waiver and 
commercial move affidavit. No individual county assessor may issue more than ten (10) waivers and 
commercial move aƥdavits in any calendar year. 
 
“Manufactured home used for commercial purposes” means a manufactured home owned by a business entity 
with the primary purpose to provide temporary housing for employees or contractors of such business entity. 
Title 42 storage lien request for title are for manufactured homes abandoned and located on property not owned 
by the owner of the manufactured home. If the land was purchased with the manufactured home, Title 42 does 
not apply. The process will take a minimum of six (6) weeks. A motor license agent (MLA) must submit 
paperwork to OTC Motor Vehicle for approval. 

 

*Dealer trade aƥdavits are authorized for use by licensed Oklahoma dealers only. Forms are available from the 
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. 

**Lenders are authorized to use a Repossession Aƥdavit but not a Dealer Trade Affidavit. 
Lenders are always treated as individuals, not as dealers. 
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PROCEDURE 
COLLECTION OF AD VALOREM TAX IN ANOTHER COUNTY 

 

1. The collecting treasurer takes information from the applicant and transmits the information to the home 
county treasurer/assessor to complete Form 936. 

2. The home treasurer or assessor completes Form 936 based on the information from the collecting 
treasurer. The Form 936 must be signed by the home assessor, not the home treasurer. A copy of the 
completed Form 936 is then faxed back to the collecting treasurer. Note: Form 936 MUST be numbered by 
the home county. 

3. After payment of taxes, the collecting treasurer issued a trust deposit receipt, current decal and a copy of 
the completed Form 936 to the applicant. The collecting treasurer retains a copy of the Form 936 and 
mails a copy with the trust voucher to the home treasurer. 

4. The home treasurer attaches a signed copy of the Form 936 from the collecting treasurer to the original 
Form 936 to complete the procedure. The voucher is then deposited in the treasurer’s trust account. The 
treasurer and assessor make the appropriate record entries.
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In any of the above listed scenarios, when procedures require one type of tax to be collected, but the other tax has 
already been lawfully collected for the same period, no ad valorem or registration is due for the remainder of the 
calendar year. 

When the MLA presented if tag is not current issues a repossession title, proof of paid current ad valorem taxes  
(Form 936) must be the $46.00 repossession fee is also due when issuing the title. 
*Licensed manufactured home dealers may move a trade-in home to a secure location with a trade-in affidavit. 
However, all taxes and fees shall be paid within 30 days of issuance of the oversize and weight permit by the 
Department of Public Safety and prior to any title work. 

 
Lenders are always treated as individuals, not dealers. 
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MANUFACTURED HOMES 

TITLE SURRENDER CONVERSION TO REAL ESTATE 

Until July 2002, law did not allow a homeowner or lender to surrender the title and have the home FODVVL¿HG as real 
property. 

Manufactured home owners and ¿nance companies are able to surrender the titles on manufactured homes if the 
home is permanently attached to the real property. 

Only the OTC may purge the title, not the ¿nance company. 

Lenders that are holding titles may apply to surrender those titles and have them purged. If the land/home was 
transferred by warranty deed, or deed of trust, the lender will need to call OTC Motor Vehicle at 405.521.3221. 
 
Oklahoma law allows a manufactured home to be classified as real or personal property. If the home is situated 
on land owned by the owner of the manufactured home, it should be classified as real property. If it is located on 
land owned by someone else, it is classified as personal property. In either case, the manufactured home is still 
subject to title and registration and should be designated as a manufactured home on the assessment roll and 
valued as a separate line item.

Under Oklahoma law, if the title has been properly surrendered, the manufactured home is no longer subject to 
title and registration under Motor Vehicle Code. 

When a manufactured home is listed with the county assessor as real property, the county assessor is required to 
separate the account into three (3) line items: 1) Land 2) Mfg. Home and 3) Other Improvements. The owner will be 
assessed on the total assets listed. 

When the home is listed as “personal property,” the owner of the home is assessed only on the home and any other 
improvements they may have on the site. The person that owns the land is responsible for payment of the tax on the 
land only. 

:KHQ�DQ�RZQHU�RU�¿QDQFH�FRPSDQ\�SURSHUO\�surrenders the title to the manufactured home, OTC Motor Vehicle 
will notify the county assessor that the home is now permanently affixed to the real estate and the title has been 
surrendered. At this point, the home will be assessed as any other real property, being land and any and all 
improvements. 
There are several forms available from the OTC Motor Vehicle pertaining to the surrender of title: 

• Application for Title Cancellation of a Manufactured Home Permanently Aƥxed to Real Estate 

• Notice to County Assessor of Cancellation of Oklahoma &HUWL¿FDWH of Title 

• Notice to Lien Holder of Application to Cancel Oklahoma &HUWL¿FDWH of Title 
• Notice to Owner of the Existence of an Active Lien Upon Receipt of Application to Cancel Oklahoma 
&HUWL¿FDWH�RI�7LWOH 
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When valuing manufactured homes that have had the titles surrendered, the appraiser should be aware of 
market conditions and adjustments that may affect the value of the assets. Conventional mass appraisal 
techniques may be used as with any other real property asset, using proper market data and adjustments for 
this type of asset. 

 
 

CANCELLATION OF TITLE USING THE MANUFACTURER’S STATEMENT OF ORIGIN (“MSO”) 
 
 

Using Form 756, Application for Title Cancellation 
• Must be completed by the record owner or agent. 

• Submitted to assessor with a copy of the MSO. 

• A copy of the size and weight permit is recommended. 

• The assessor may sign the form and return it to the owner or agent if all criteria are met. The owner or agent 
will then return the completed form to the MLA. 

Until the assessor receives the completed Form 756 Form from the OTC, the title is not cancelled. If the 
applicant does not complete the process within sixty (60) days of the county assessor’s 
FRQ¿UPDWLRQ�GDWH��D�QHZ�)RUP�����PXVW�EH�FRPSOHWHG�DQG�FHUWL¿HG� 

 
 

Using the Form 756, Notice to Assessor of Title Cancellation 
• Provided to the assessor by the OTC or MLA only. 

• Will be signed by the OTC or MLA. 

• This is the oƥcial QRWL¿FDWLRQ of title cancellation. 

• Accept no other cancellation documents from any other source. 

• Any questions, call OTC Motor Vehicle or MLA. 
 
 

OTC Rules Reference: OAC 710:60-3-133 
 
 
If you have any questions concerning the surrender of title procedure or reissuance of titles, you may contact the 
Motor Vehicle, Title Section at 405.521.3221. 
 
 

REINSTATEMENT OF TITLE 
 

���2�6���������RXWOLQHV�WKH�VSHFL¿F�SURFHGXUH�IRU�LVVXLQJ�QHZ�WLWOHV�IRU�KRPHV�ZKLFK�have had their titles 
cancelled. Subsection (E) of Section 1110 provides: The owner of a manufactured home upon which the 
document of title has been properly surrendered, may apply to the Tax Commission for issuance of a new original 
FHUWL¿FDWH�RI�WLWOH�XSon the submission of: (1) an attestation from the homeowner indicating ownership of the 
manufactured home and nonexistence of any security interest or lien of record in the manufactured home, and (2) 
a title opinion by a licensed attorney, determining that the owner of the manufactured home has marketable title to 
the real property upon which the manuIDFWXUHG�KRPH�LV�ORFDWHG�DQG�WKDW�QRW�GRFXPHQWV�¿OHG�RI�UHFRUG�LQ�WKH�
county clerk’s oƥce concerning the real proper- W\�FRQWDLQ�D�PRUWJDJH��UHFRUGHG�¿QDQFLDO�statement, judgment, or 
lien of record. Persons or entities to whom the title opinion is addressed may rely on said title opinion. 
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SALES TAX FOR MODULAR HOMES 
 
 

The sales tax will be collected by the vendor based on the state and local rate at the point of delivery. The customer 
will receive a sales tax receipt. There is no excise tax on a modular home because they are not subject to title and 
registration as required under Title 47 of the Motor Vehicle Code. 

 
 
0RGXODU�KRPHV�ZLOO�EH�FODVVL¿HG�DV�UHDO�SURSHUW\�RU�LPSURYHPHQWV�RQ�OHDVHG�ODQG�DQG�VXEMHFW�WR�DOO�ad valorem 
taxes. Modular homes are not manufactured or mobile homes and are not subject to manufactured home 
requirements. 

 
 

Pursuant to Section 1357(33) of Title 68, 45% of the total sale price will be exempt from sales tax. 
 
 

Example: 
 
 
 

 
 
 

*All sales tax levies, state, city and county at point of delivery 
 
 

Modular homes are not subject to title and registration. If sales tax was paid and the homeowner has a receipt, the 
home will be FODVVL¿HG as “modular” and not “manufactured”. 

 
 

Ref: 68 O.S. §1354.27 

OTC Rule: OAC 710:65-18-1; 65-18-2; 65-18-3 



 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

 
 



 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

RULES & STATUTORY REFERENCE
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GENERAL INFORMATION 

[OAC 710:60-3-130 through 710:60-3-132] 
 

Manufactured homes are GH¿QHG as structures, transportable in one or more sections, which, in the traveling mode, 
are eight (8) feet or more in width or forty (40) feet or more in length, or, when erected on site, are more than 320 
square feet, and which are built on a permanent chassis and designed to be used as dwellings with, or without, 
permanent foundations when connected to the required utilities, and include the plumbing, heating, air conditioning 
and electrical systems contained thereon. 47 O.S. § 8113 

 
 

Manufactured homes purchased new or brought in from another state are initially titled and registered at 
motor license agencies. Thereafter, they are placed on county ad valorem tax rolls and are issued registration 
renewal decals by the county treasurer. 47 O.S. § 8113 

 
 

• Registration fees are collected for the balance of the year in which the manufactured home was 
purchased new, or entered from another state. Refer to Calendar Year Registration (non-staggered) 
in Chapter III of the Operating Manual for Motor License Agency for information on determining the 
applicable registration period. 47 O.S. § 8115 

 
 

PURCHASE PRICE/VALUE OF MANUFACTURED HOME 
 

Registration fees and excise tax are based upon the actual purchase price of the home or, if no sale has taken 
place, the current value of the home. 68 O.S. § 2104.3 and 47 O.S. § 1135 

 
 

• If a purchaser has no bill of sale, a copy of the dealer contract, cancelled check (VIN not required), or bank 
draft will be acceptable. If none of those items are available, the purchaser may complete a Declaration 
of Vehicle Purchase Price Form, or through vehicle pricing you may obtain a value to be established. 

The Declaration of Vehicle Purchase Price Form may be utilized for new or used manufactured homes. 
 

• When current value is obtained through vehicle pricing, print and attach a copy of the message received 
from vehicle pricing to the OTC copy of the title work. 

• Prices or values listed on OTC Form 936 Manufactured Home Certificate do not reflect the actual cash 
value and are not to be utilized in determining taxable value. 

 
EXCISE TAX RATE 
Excise tax on new manufactured homes is three and one-quarter percent (3¼%)  of one half (1/2) of the actual 
purchase price/value. On a used manufactured home, the three and one-quarter percent (3¼%) excise tax rate 
is applied to sixty-five percent (65%) of one half (1/2) of the actual purchase price/value.
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VIN FORMATION BY OTC GUIDELINES 

When an MSO, out-of-state title, or Lien Entry Form contains dashes or slash marks, dashes and slash marks are 
ignored. 

 

 
 
 

DOUBLE WIDE MANUFACTURED HOMES 
When processing a title for a double wide manufactured home, two (2) Manufacturer’s Statements of Origin 
(MSO) will normally be submitted. One (1) MSO will list the serial number with an “A” (or some other letter) and 
one MSO will list the serial number with a “B” (or some other letter diơerent from the accompanying MSO). The 
letters normally appear at the end of the serial number but may appear anywhere within the number. 

 
• When issuing the title, list the serial number (once) and place the “A” and “B” (or other such letters) together 

in the serial number at whatever point they appear within the serial numbers listed on the MSOs. Such a 
notation indicates the manufactured home is a double wide. 

 
 

 MSOs  
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MOVING A MANUFACTURED HOME [47 O.S. § 1117] 

When a home, previously titled in Oklahoma, is to be moved, the owner must obtain a move permit from the 
Department of Public Safety (DPS). In most instances, proof of paid current year ad valorem taxes, or a current 
license plate and registration decal, must be presented. 

 
• A repossessor may obtain a DPS move permit prior to obtaining a repossession title. Refer to 

Manufactured Home Repossessions in Chapter V of the Operating Manual for Motor License Agency 
for additional information. 

 
• A licensed manufactured home dealer may obtain a DPS move permit by presenting a trade-in aƥdavit. 

 

• A business entity may obtain a commercial waiver and aƥdavit to move a home used for temporary 
housing of employees or contractors. A county may issue no more than ten (10) waivers in any one 
year. [68 O.S. § 2813] 

 
 

MANUFACTURED HOME REGISTRATION 

[47 O.S. § 1115] [OAC 710:60-3-12, 710:60-3-13, 710:60-3-130] 

 
Manufactured homes are registered on a calendar year basis. The registration period (full year, 3/4 year, 1/2 
year, or 1/4 year) is based on the purchase date/entry date. Refer to Calendar Year Registration in Chapter III of 
the Operating Manual for Motor License Agency for information on determining the applicable registration 
periods. 

• New manufactured homes purchased in the month of December and used manufactured homes 
entering this state in the month of December, are to be charged a full year registration to expire at the 
end of the following year. 

• Manufactured homes purchased new or entering Oklahoma prior to December of any year, but not 
titled until the following calendar year must provide proof of paid ad valorem tax for the calendar year in 
which the title is being issued (current year) before any transaction will be allowed. In addition, 
registration fee and penalty is to be collected by the titling MLA for the year of purchase or entry.

 

REGISTRATION PENALTY [47 O.S. § 1115] 

Should a new or used manufactured home not be registered within thirty (30) days from the date of purchase or the 
date of entry into this state, a registration penalty in the amount equal to the registration fee, less $11.00, is to be 
assessed. 

For used manufactured homes acquired by a dealer prior to January 1 of any year, but not registered as of February 1, 
penalty accrues at $1.00 per day for 100 days. 



 

TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP [47 O.S. § 1113 & 68 O.S. § 2713] [OAC 710:60-3-130] 
 

When ownership of a manufactured home previously titled in Oklahoma is being transferred, proof of paid 
current calendar year ad valorem taxes, or a release indicating no current calendar year ad valorem taxes are 
due, must be submitted before transferring title, unless the home is being sold on a title which is in the name of 
a licensed dealer, or an original Oklahoma title was issued earlier that same calendar year, and the system 
reflects current registration.

• Proof of payment or release should be in the form of an OTC Form 936 Manufactured Home 
Certificate. 

 
 

AFFIDAVIT FOR TRANSFER WHEN ASSIGNED TITLE IS LOST (OTC Form 777) 
This form is used to apply for an Oklahoma transfer title when the purchaser received and subsequently lost an 
assigned Oklahoma title. 

1. The completed affidDYLW�LV�WR�UHÀHFW�WKH�VDPH�LQIRUPDWLRQ�DV�VKRZQ�RQ�WKH�UHYHUVH�VLGH�RI�WKH�ORVW�
assigned title. 

2. The applicant must provide one (1) of the following for each assignment UHÀHFWHG on the lost title: 

• Notarized bill of sale (the date of the sale is to be listed, in addition to the notary date); 

• Photocopies (front and back) of the canceled check submitted in payment; 

• Sale contract or buyer’s order (original or FHUWL¿HG copy); or 

• &HUWL¿HG copies of front and reverse side of the assigned title that was lost. 
 
 

REQUIRED: 
Each of the above documents must contain the serial/VIN number and date of sale. 

 
Mechanic & Storage Possessory Liens (Title 42) may not be utilized if the manufactured home is purchased or 
given to the buyer. This procedure is only to be utilized if services have been performed or storage provided, 
while lawfully in possession of the manufactured home for which an individual of company has not been 
compensated. 
 
Title 42 procedures are not used if the land is purchased with the manufactured home located on the land. 
 
If buyer did not receive a properly assigned Oklahoma title, the buyer must contact the Motor Vehicle Title 
Section for instructions. Depending on the circumstances, the buyer may have to obtain a court order. 
 
ADDING OR DROPPING A NAME ON A MANUFACTURED HOME TITLE 
A paid current calendar year Form 936, or initial registration, if titled earlier in the calendar year), is required 
when adding or dropping a name from a manufactured home title, in the same manner as any other 
manufactured home change of ownership. 

 
 
 
 

14 



 

CALENDAR YEAR REGISTRATION (NON-STAGGERED) [47 O.S. § 1115] [OAC 710:60-3-13] 
 
 

Manufactured homes are registered on a calendar year basis. 
 
 

The following quarterly periods, in which a Manufactured Home is purchased or enters the state, determines the 
portion of a full year registration fee due: 
 

 
 
 
 

NEW AND USED MANUFACTURED HOME DEALER LICENSE PLATES [47 O.S. § 1128 and 1137.1] 
 
 

Fee: $21 Expiration: December 
 
 

1. New and used manufactured home dealer plates are issued by OTC Motor Vehicle Accounting. 
 
 

2. Before accepting an original or renewal application for new and used manufactured home dealer plates, the 

applicant must be licensed and approved for each location by the Used Motor Vehicle & Parts Commission. 

3. If additional plates are required, an application must be completed by the dealer and submitted to OTC Motor 
Vehicle  Accounting 

 
 
 
 
 
 

15 
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LICENSE PLATE/REGISTRATION DECAL ISSUANCE [47 O.S. § 1113(E)] [OAC 710:60-3-130] 
 

All manufactured homes are required to have a license plate and two (2) registration decals. 
 

• Two (2) identical registration decals, displaying the same number, are to be issued. One (1) is to be aƥxed to 
the license plate and one (1) is to be aƥxed to the exterior of the window nearest the front door. 

• Homes previously registered and permanently aƥxed to real estate, no decal or license plate shall be aƥxed. 
 

Replacement License Plate/Registration Decal 

Should a previously titled home need a license plate only, and no change of ownership is taking place, a plate may be 
issued upon proof of paid current ad valorem tax or registration fees. 

 
• For example, if the home is on the ad valorem tax rolls, the tax is usually collected at the end of a calendar 

year. If no move or ownership change has taken place in the current calendar year, the previous year ad 
valorem taxes may be the most recent taxes paid. 

• Upon proof of paid ad valorem taxes, a replacement plate is to be issued. A registration decal is only issued 
when the replacement plate application is made within the calendar year of the current year’s expiration. 

• Previous year decals are issued by the county treasurer. 
 

The fee for a replacement manufactured home license plate is $3.25, including the MLA fee. 

Should the taxpayer need a replacement only of the yearly validation decal upon payment of ad valorem taxes, they 
should be directed to obtain a replacement decal from the county treasurer. 

The county treasurer may issue a previous year decal upon payment of the second half of ad valorem tax. Current year 
decals are for the current year tax payment only. 

  
DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 

 

OTC Form 701-7 Application for Replacement Certificate of Title for Vehicle/Boat/Motor must be completed for 
issuance of a duplicate Oklahoma title to the record owner. 

 

Application may be made only by the record owner or by someone who has been given notarized power of attorney 
(POA) regarding the manufactured home by the owner. 

 
 

• Only for use if record owner’s title has been lost, stolen or mutilated. 

• Not for use by subsequent buyer when not given a properly notarized assigned Oklahoma title. 
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Application and the resulting duplicate title must UHÀHFW the same information shown on the previous title, with the 
following exceptions: 

• Address may be changed. 

• Lien may be released with proper documentation with the application. 
 

Since the application for a duplicate title is in the same name as the previous title, a current Form 936 is not 
required. 

Proof of paid current ad valorem tax or registration fee is not required for issuance of a duplicate manufactured home 
title. 

 
MANUFACTURED HOMES ASSESSED AS REAL PROPERTY [68 O.S. § 2105] [OAC 710:60-3-132] 
A manufactured home that is assessed as part of the real property on which it is located and sold with the 
property is exempt from the assessment of excise tax. Documented proof that the manufactured home has been 
included in the property assessment is required before transferring. 

• The proof required is a deed listing the manufactured home by VIN, year, make, and model. A copy of the 
deed is to be attached to the title transaction as supporting documentation for the excise exemption. 
Form 936 listing the manufactured home as real property is not acceptable documentation to exempt 

 excise tax. 
 
 

MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS 
There is no licensing distinction between a new and used manufactured home dealer in Oklahoma. Manufactured 
home dealer licenses are issued by the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle & Parts Commission and encompass sale of both 
new and used manufactured homes. 

 
TITLING AND REGISTRATION OF A USED MANUFACTURED HOME [68 O.S. § 2811] 

Any used manufactured home on a dealer lot as of January 1 of any year must be titled and registered in the dealer’s 

name for that year. A full year registration fee, based upon the purchase price, is to be assessed and a 
current year registration decal issued. dealer’s possession as of January 1. The registration must be renewed the 
following year, if the home is still in the 

• If a dealer does not title such a home by February 1, registration penalty begins accruing at $1.00 per day, to 
a maximum of $100.00. [OAC 710:60-3-36] 

 
Other than the above, manufactured home dealers are required to obtain title in their name when they have acquired 
homes on out of state titles on which they are the last assignee. 

• When a dealer is obtaining an original Oklahoma title in their name on a home which has been brought in 
from out-of-state, the remaining portion of the current calendar year registration fees are due.  
[47 O.S. § 1113]  
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• When a dealer is obtaining title in their name due to being the last assignee on the Oklahoma title, proof of 
current calendar year registration fees, paid current calendar year ad valorem taxes, or a release indicating 
no current year ad valorem taxes are due, must be submitted. 

 
 

MOVING A MANUFACTURED HOME [47 O.S. § 1117] 

Before a manufactured home dealer may move a home which has been previously titled in Oklahoma, they must 
obtain a DPS move permit. The dealer will be responsible for paying any unpaid ad valorem taxes due on the home 
within thirty (30) days of the permit issuance date. However, they are not required to title the home in the 
dealership’s name at that time. The title will remain in the name of the former owner, until sold, or until January 1 of 
the following year. If still in the possession of the dealership at this time, the dealer must obtain the title. 

 
 

TITLING AND REGISTRATION OF A NEW MANUFACTURED HOME [47 O.S. § 1117; 68 O.S. § 2104.3] 

Licensed Oklahoma manufactured home dealers may reassign ownership on the MSO of new manufactured homes. 
However, should a manufactured home dealer choose to title a new manufactured home in the dealership’s name by 
surrendering an MSO, ¿rst year excise tax and registration fees, to expire in December of the current year, are due. 

 
 

ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL 
[47 O.S. § 1127] [OAC 710:60-3-131, 710:60-3-132 & 710:60-3-167] 

 
 
 

As described below, certain manufactured homes owned by active duty military personnel are entitled to the 
special $26.00 annual registration fee. 

 
 

The special military registration rate applies only to the following two (2) scenarios: 

• Out-of-state resident active duty military personnel stationed in Oklahoma: or 

• Oklahoma resident active duty military personnel, when the manufactured home is located out-of-state. 
 
 

A properly completed OTC Form 779 U.S. Armed Forces Affidavit must be submitted and send to the OTC 
attached to the registration receipt. 

 
 

Manufactured homes in Oklahoma and owned by Oklahoma resident military personnel are not entitled to 
the special military registration rate. Such manufactured homes are subject to county ad valorem taxation. 
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CANCELLATION OF MANUFACTURED HOME TITLE 
[47 O.S. § 1110] 

 

Owners of manufactured homes that have been permanently affixed to real estate that they also own may apply 
to FDQFHO�WKH�2NODKRPD�FHUWL¿FDWHs of title. Application may be made to the OTC or any tag agency. A 
successful cancellation will consist of the following:

 

• Submission of the Oklahoma FHUWL¿FDWH of title for the manufactured home, in the name of the applicant. 

• 9HUL¿FDWLRQ that no active lien appears on the record. 

• Completion of  Form 756 Application for Title Cancellation of a Manufactured Home Permanently 
Affixed to Real Estate. 

 

Before the title cancellation documentation my be surrendered to a MLA, the applicant must take 
this form to the applicable county assessor’s oƥFH��IRU�WKHLU�OLVWLQJ�DQG�FHUWL¿FDWLRQ�RI�WKH�land 
description and owner of record. 

Cancellation of the title must take place within sixty (60) days of the county assessor’s FRQ¿UPDWLRQ�
date. If more than sixty (60) days have elapsed, a new Form 756 must be completed and FHUWL¿HG� 

• Completion of Form FL 756 Notice to County Assessor of Cancellation of Oklahoma Certificate of Title 
along with a copy of the application to the county assessor of the county in which the property on which 
the manufactured home is permanently aƥxed. The application must be completed in its entirety. 

• Remittance of an application fee of $5.00, which is retained by the OTC or the cancelling MLA, provided 
the cancellation of title is completed. 

After all of the referenced steps have been completed, the completed application, miscellaneous fee receipt recording 
the cancellation fee and the title FHUWL¿FDWH are to be forwarded to the OTC bundled separately within the 
semimonthly report and clearly labeled “Manufactured Home Title Cancellation”. Upon receipt, the documents 
will be forwarded to the OTC Motor Vehicle Title Section for review and cancellation of the title. 

 

 
 

TITLE CANCELLATION FEE RECEIPT 

Many lenders require a receipt for the $5.00 manufactured home cancellation fee before closing their loan transaction. 
Therefore, a miscellaneous fee receipt is to be issued to account for the cancellation fee. 

• When adding a miscellaneous fee receipt, select “MH Cancel” and “Add Owner & Vehicle to Receipt”. Enter 
the Vehicle ID, year, make, model, owner name and address. 

If necessary, due to the need for more timely processing of the title cancellation, cancellation paper- work may be 
faxed. 
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ORIGINAL TITLE CANCELLATION 
 

Should an original title applicant wish to cancel the manufactured home title at the time of original title application, 
that may be accomplished by following all ordinary titling steps with the addition of placing a “Mobile Home 
Cancellation” hold. 

 

Attach one (1) copy of the title receipt to the miscellaneous fee receipt recording the cancellation fee and 
Form 756 Application for Title Cancellation of a Manufactured Home Permanently Affixed to Real 
Estate and submit to the OTC, bundled separately within the semimonthly report and clearly labeled 
“Manufactured Home Title Cancellation”. Upon receipt, the documents will be forwarded to OTC Motor 
Vehicle Title Section for title cancellation. 

 

• The purpose of the “Mobile Home Cancellation” hold is to prevent issuance of a title while the cancellation 
documentation is being forwarded to, and processed by, OTC personnel. 

• A “Mobile Home Cancellation” hold is the only hold that may be placed on the record. It may not be utilized 
in conjunction with a document hold. An MSO or out-of-state title must be submitted. 

• All other cancellation procedures remain in place. 

• All fees remain due, including the $5.00 cancellation fee, title fee, excise tax, and registration fees. 

•  
 

MANUFACTURED HOME TITLE CANCELLATION USING AN OKLAHOMA TITLE OR MSO, OR PREVIOUS 
TITLE FROM ANOTHER STATE 

 
Owners of manufactured homes permanently aƥxed to real estate that they also own may cancel a title by: 

 
1. 6XEPLVVLRQ�RI�WKH�2NODKRPD�&HUWL¿FDWH�RI�7LWOH�RU�WKH�DVVLJQHG MSO or a previously titled 

manufactured homes entering from another state for the manufactured home, in the name of 
applicant. 

• If a record owner is unable to locate their Oklahoma title, they are not required to obtain a duplicate 
title before cancelling. The owner may contact the OTC Motor Vehicle Title Section for 
instructions. 

 
2. 9HUL¿FDWLRQ that no active lien on the record. 

• Should a manufactured home title be presented for cancellation which UHÀHFWV a lien, but a proper 
lien release for that lien is also presented, the title may be cancelled. 

 
3. Complete Form 756 Application for Title Cancellation of a Manufactured Home Permanently Affixed 

to Real Estate. 
• Before the title/MSO may be cancelled, the applicant must take this form and the title/MSO to the 

applicable county assessor’s oƥce for FHUWL¿FDWLRQ of the land description and owner of record. A 
faxed copy signed by the county assessor is acceptable. 

If the applicant does not complete the process within sixty (60) days of the county assessor’s 
FRQ¿UPDWLRQ date, a new Form 756 must be completed and FHUWL¿HG� 
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4. Applicant/owner then takes the completed Form 756 and title/MSO to the MLA for completion of the 
process. If an MSO is presented, all appropriate taxes are collected in addition to the 
$5.00 cancellation fee. 

 

5. The MLA will complete a Form FL 756 Notice to County Assessor of Cancellation of Oklahoma 
Certificate of Title and forward it along with a copy of the application to the county assessor. 

 

6. The MLA forwards the title/MSO and Form 756 to the OTC. 
 
 

CANCELLATION WHEN TITLE HAS BEEN LOST 

Should a record owner wish to cancel his or her manufactured home title, but has misplaced the title, they are not 
required to obtain a duplicate before canceling. Simply print out of copy of the “Vehicle Info” screen and attach to 
the Form 756 Application for Title Cancellation, as well as a copy of the $5.00 miscellaneous fee receipt, and submit 
to the OTC bundled separately within the semimonthly report and clearly labeled “Manufactured Home Title 
Cancellation”. 

 

• If the record has been purged, it will have to be researched and rebuilt in the normal manner before 
cancellation may take place. 

All other cancellation procedures will apply. 

See: OAC 710:60-3-133 
 
 

CANCELLATION IN CONJUNCTION WITH A LIEN RELEASE 

Should a manufactured home title be presented for cancellation which UHÀHFWV a lien, but a proper lien release for 
that lien is also presented, the title may be cancelled in the normal manner. 

• Do not release the lien. Attach the lien release to the title and Form 756  Application  for  Title Cancellation 
and submit to the OTC along with a copy of the $5.00 miscellaneous fee receipt, bundled separately 
within the semimonthly report and clearly labeled “Manufactured Home Title Cancellation”. 

 
 

UNSUCCESSFUL APPLICATION FOR CANCELLATION OF TITLE 

Oklahoma statutes require that notice be given to the owner and lienholder of a manufactured home on which an 
Application for Cancellation has been applied for,but must be denied due to the existence of an active lien. 

 

• Should you receive an application for a manufactured home on which an active lien is reflected, the 
application is to be denied. The title and $5.00 fee are to be returned to the applicant.

• Form FL 756-B Notice of the Existence of an Active Lien Upon Application to Cancel Oklahoma 
Certificate of Title listing the active lienholder, is to be completed and returned to the applicant. 

• A Notice to Lienholder of Application to Cancel Oklahoma Certificate of Title is to be completed and 
forwarded to the lienholder. 
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REINSTATEMENT OF CANCELLED MANUFACTURED HOME TITLE [47 O.S. § 1110] 

Application for reissuance of an original Oklahoma title to a manufactured home on which the previous Oklahoma title 
was cancelled due to the home’s attachment to real estate may be made by following the process outlined below.  

 

• This reinstatement process is applicable only to manufactured home titles cancelled due to attachment to 
real estate. The “Vehicle Info” record of a manufactured home cancelled due to real estate attachment will 
have “Title Cancelled – Manufactured Home/Real Estate”. 

 

If you are uncertain of a manufactured home’s eligibility for this reinstatement process, contact OTC Motor Vehicle  
Title Section for assistance. 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT 

To apply for reinstatement, the owner is to complete Form 701-45 Manufactured Home Application for 
Reinstatement of Cancelled Title. As outlined on the form, the applicant is required to provide two (2) documentary 
items. 

(1) an attestation from the homeowner indicating ownership of the manufactured home and the nonexistence 
of any security interest or lien of record for the manufactured home, and 

(2) a title opinion by a licensed attorney determining that the owner of the manufactured home has 
marketable title to the real property upon which the manufactured home is located and that no documents 
¿led of record in the county clerk’s oƥce concerning the real property contain a mortgage, recorded ¿nancial 
statement, judgment, or lien of record. 

The statement required under (1) above is included with the Application for Reinstatement. The attorney’s title 
opinion is a separate document that must be provided by the applicant. As outlined in the notice at the bottom of the 
application, an acceptable title opinion must: 

1) Contain all information outlined under (2) above. 

2) Be signed by the issuing attorney, on letterhead. 

3) Be dated, or updated, within thirty (30) days of the date application for title reinstatement is submitted to the OTC 
or to an MLA. 

OTC APPROVAL/ISSUANCE OF TITLE 

Until further notice, all such applications are to be submitted to OTC Motor Vehicle Title for review and approval. 
• If approved, a new original Oklahoma title is to be issued and registration fees collected for the balance of 

the calendar year. Obtain current value through “Vehicle Pricing”. 

• A completed OTC Form 701-6 Application for Original Title is required. 

• No Form 936 is required. No excise tax is to be collected. 

 

 

 
MANUFACTURED HOME REPOSSESSIONS  
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[47 O.S. § 1110] [68 O.S. § 2813] 
 

Except as noted below, and except for VIN/odometer inspection requirements, repossession documentation and 
procedural requirements for manufactured homes are identical to those outlined for vehicles. Just as for vehicles, 
excise tax is never assessed by the repossessor.  However, there are some VLJQL¿FDQW diơerences in the areas of 
manufactured home registration fee assessment and county ad valorem tax YHUL¿FDWLRQ� 
 
MANUFACTURED HOMES PREVIOUSLY TITLED IN OKLAHOMA 

Moving the Manufactured Home 

When a manufactured home previously titled in Oklahoma is being repossessed, the repossessor may initially obtain a 
DPS move permit without obtaining the title in their name.  This is to enable the home to be moved immediately. 
However, in that situation, the repossessor must make an application for a repossession title within thirty (30) days 
of the permit issuance date. 

Ad Valorem Taxes 

Proof of paid current year ad valorem taxes or that no taxes were due, in the form of a copy of the original OTC 
Form  936, must be presented, unless an original Oklahoma title was issued earlier that same calendar year and 
current UHJLVWUDWLRQ�LV�UHÀHFWHG� 
License Plate 

 

If needed, a manufactured home license plate may be issued for a fee of $3.25. 
 
MANUFACTURED HOMES NOT PREVIOUSLY TITLED IN OKLAHOMA 

When an original Oklahoma repossession title is being issued to a manufactured home, registration fee for the balance 
of the calendar year in which the home was purchased (if new) or entered Oklahoma (if previously registered in an- other 
state), is to be collected, in addition to the $46.00 repossession fee. 

• The date of purchase listed on the contract is to be used to determine the proper quarter of year registration 
fee due (Full year, 3/4, 1/2, or 1/4). 

• If the home was originally purchased (new) or entered Oklahoma (used) during the current calendar year, 
registration fees for the applicable portion of the current year are to be collected. A license plate and current year 
registration decal are to be issued. 

• If the home was originally purchased (new) or entered Oklahoma (used) during a previous calendar year, reg- 
istration fees for the applicable portion of the year of purchase/entry are to be collected and D�)RUP�����UHÀHFWLQJ 
paid ad valorem taxes for the current calendar year must be submitted. A license plate is to be issued with a previous 
year decal. 

• No excise tax is due. 
 

No excise tax is due from the repossessor or any repossession title, original or transfer. 



 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
OKLAHOMA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE  

CHAPTER 60: MOTOR VEHICLES 
710:60-3—REGISTRATION AND LICENSING 
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PART 13. MANUFACTURED HOMES 
 
 

710:60-3-130. Manufactured homes 
 

(a) Definition. “Manufactured home” means a residential dwelling built in accordance with the National 
Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act of 1974, 42 U.S.C., Section 5401 et seq., 
and rules promulgated pursuant thereto and the rules promulgated by the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle 
and Parts Commission pursuant to 47 O.S. § 582. Effective November 1, 2016, manufactured home shall 
not mean a park model recreational vehicle as defined in 47 O.S. § 1102. 

(b) Initial title and registration. In most instances, manufactured homes purchased new or brought in from another 
state are initially titled and registered at motor license agencies. Thereafter, they are placed on county Ad Valorem 
tax rolls and will be issued registration renewal decals by the County Treasurer. 

(c) License plate and decal required. A manufactured home license plate and registration decal are required on all 
manufactured homes registered in this State. 

(d) Fees may be prorated for remainder of current year. For those manufactured homes purchased new or coming in 
from another state, license plates and corresponding registration decals shall be issued upon payment of the 
applicable registration fee for the balance of the year. 

(e) Issuance of license and decal for currently registered manufactured homes; proof of payment of ad valorem tax. 
For those manufactured homes already located and registered in this State on December 1, 1988, a license plate 
and registration decal shall be issued upon proof of current Ad Valorem taxes paid. Proof of payment must be in 
the form of a Manufactured Home Tax &HUWL¿FDWLRQ Form or Manufactured Home &HUWL¿FDWH (OTC Form 936). 
When presented with proof of payment, a license plate and corresponding decal will be issued for a total fee as set 
forth by statute. 

(f) Basis used for registration fee and excise tax. Both the registration fee and the excise tax assessment are based 
upon the selling price of the manufactured home. The selling price will be recorded as both the Factory Delivered 
Price (FDP) and the Total Delivered Price (TDP) when issuing an original Oklahoma title. 

(g) Excise tax on manufactured homes. The excise tax on new manufactured homes is levied on one-half (1/2) of the 
retail selling price. The excise tax on a used manufactured home will be applied to sixty-¿YH percent (65%) of one- 
half the resale price. The excise tax rate is levied by Oklahoma Statutes. 

(h) Sale of manufactured home; transfer of title; change of basis. If the manufactured home is sold, the title must be 
transferred to the new owner, who will have the title issued in his/her name. The FDP should be changed to UHÀHFW�
the purchase price. However, the TDP listed on the title will not be changed. 

(i) Proof of payment of ad valorem tax required upon transfer. Proof of current paid ad valorem taxes must be 
obtained before transferring ownership of a manufactured home. 

(j) Manner of proof. Acceptable proof of paid ad valorem taxes will be a Form 936 Manufactured Home &HUWL¿FDWH or 
other receipt issued by a county treasurer which lists the manufactured home being transferred and clearly 
designates that taxes for the current calendar year have been paid in full. 

(k) When other basis used in determining tax. Should the manufactured home be repossessed or brought in used 
from out-of-state, the “blue book” suggested selling price will be used as a base price for the registration and 
collection of excise tax. 

(l) Late registration; penalties. The penalty for late registration of manufactured homes, which are those not 
registered within the 30 day period from the date of purchase or the date the manufactured home was brought 
into this state, shall be an amount equal to the registration fee, less the administrative fee, as set forth by statute. 

 
[Source: Added at 8 Ok Reg. 3305, eơ 7-8-91 (emergency); Added at 9 Ok Reg. 2151, eơ 6-12-92; Amended at 13 Ok Reg. 3113, eơ 7-11-96; 
Amended at 18 Ok Reg. 878, eơ 2-23-01 (emergency); Amended at 18 Ok Reg. 1340, eơ 5-11-01] 
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710:60-3-131. Manufactured homes generally subject to ad valorem assessment 

Since January 1, 1985, all existing manufactured homes have been subject to assessment for real property or personal 
property ad valorem taxes by the county assessor except for: 

(1) Nonresident serviceman’s manufactured home. 

(2) Manufactured home brought into this State. 

(3) New manufactured homes. 

(4) Manufactured homes on a dealer’s lot. 
[Source: Added at 8 Ok Reg. 3305, eơ 7-8-01 (emergency); Added at 9 Ok Reg. 2151, eơ 6-12-92] 

 
 

710:60-3-�����6SHFL¿F�H[DPSOHV�DQG�Dpplication 
The following is applicable to manufactured homes by categories: 

(1) Transfer of new manufactured home from a dealer to owner. Owner applies for a FHUWL¿FDWH of title, pays 
Excise Tax and registration fee and receives license plate and registration decal. 

(2) Transfer of a used manufactured home which has been registered in this state. The new owner obtains a 
&HUWL¿FDWH of Title upon payment of the excise tax and title fee and furnishing proof of current ad valorem 
taxes paid. 

(3) Manufactured homes brought into this State. The owner obtains a &HUWL¿FDWH of Title upon registration 
and pays the excise tax if due. If the nonresident owner registered his home in his former state of residence at 
least sixty (60) days before moving into this State, no Excise Tax is due. 

(4) Manufactured home of serviceman. If the owner of the home is an active duty, nonresident serviceman 
stationed in Oklahoma, or an Oklahoma resident stationed out-of-state due to oƥcial assignment, the 
manufactured home is to be registered annually, at the special, military personnel rate. An Armed Forces 
Aƥdavit must be submitted. 

(5) Manufactured homes on a used manufactured home dealer’s lot. Manufactured homes on used dealer 
lots on January 1st will be exempt from Ad Valorem assessment but must be registered for the full year. A title 
must be issued in the dealer’s name. If the manufactured home is not registered before February 1st, penalty 
is charged according to 710:60-3-36. 

(6) Repossessed manufactured homes. The repossessor may title the manufactured home upon furnishing 
proof of payment from the county treasurer of all current taxes on the manufactured home. 

(7) Transfer of a manufactured home as real property. A manufactured home which is assessed as part of the 
property on which it is located and sold with the property is not subject to payment of excise tax by the 
purchaser. Proof that the manufactured home has been included in the property assessment is required 
before transferring. 

 
 

[Source: Added at 8 Ok Reg. 3305, eơ 7-8-91 (emergency); Added at 9 Ok Reg. 2151, eơ 6-12-92; Amended at 13 Ok Reg. 3113, eơ 7-11-96] 
 
 

710:60-3-133. Cancellation of manufactured home title 

Owners of manufactured homes that have been permanently aƥxed to real estate may make application to cancel the 
Oklahoma FHUWL¿FDWH of title. Only the owner of record on the Oklahoma title, out of state title, or assigned MSO, may 
make application through the Tax Commission or any Motor License Agent. 
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(1) Owners of new manufactured homes, or previously titled manufactured homes entering from another 
state, may make application to cancel the Oklahoma manufactured home title before it is issued, by submitting 
the MSO or out-of-state title for cancellation. The Oklahoma title will be placed on “Mobile Home 
Cancellation” (cancel) hold. 
(2) Other than as described in (1) of this Section, an Oklahoma FHUWL¿FDWH of title for thee manufactured home 
in the name of the applicant must be submitted. If a record owner seeks to cancel a manufactured home 
FHUWL¿FDWH of title, but is unable to produce the title FHUWL¿FDWH� a printout generated from the Commission 
computer ¿le, verifying record of ownership, will suƥce in lieu of a title. The printout is to be attached to the 
Application for Title Cancellation. 
(3) Proof of ownership must be submitted to the county assessor’s oƥce where the home is located, along with 
a completed Application for Title Cancellation. The county assessor’s oƥce will ensure the title owner and 
landowner are one and the same, and validate the cancellation application. 
(4) An application fee set forth by statute must be remitted with the cancellation application. 
(5) The Tax Commission or Motor License Agent must verify that not active lien appears on the record. If an 
active lien is UHÀHFWHG� a Cancellation Denial Notice will be given to the owner and the lienholder. The owner 
will be given a “Notice to Owner of the Existence of an Active Lien upon Application to Cancel Oklahoma 
&HUWL¿FDWH�RI�7LWOH��DQG� WKH�DSSOLFDWLRQ� IHH�ZLOO�EH returned. The lienholder will be given a “Notice to 
Lienholder of Application to Cancel Oklahoma &HUWL¿FDWH of Title”. The Oklahoma title will not be cancelled 
until all liens are released. 
(6) A copy of the “Application for Cancellation Form” and the “Notice to County Assessor Form” will be 
forwarded to the of the county in which the property is located by the Motor License Agent after receiving the 
completed cancellation application documentation, approved by the county assessor’s oƥce, and payment of 
the applicable cancellation fee. 

[Source: Added at 20 Ok Reg. 2173, eơ 6-26-03; Amended at 22 Ok Reg. 1554, eơ 6-11-05] 
 
 

710:60-3-134. Reinstatement of cancelled manufactured home title 
Owner of a manufactured home upon which the FHUWL¿FDWH of title has previously been cancelled due to attachment to 
real estate may apply to the Oklahoma Tax Commission or a motor license agent for a reinstatement and issuance of a 
new original FHUWL¿FDWH of title. 

(1) The reinstatement application is to be completed by the owner of record. There are two (2) documentary 
requirements on the application for reinstatement. 

(A) The homeowner must attest ownership of the manufactured home and the nonexistence of any 
security interest or lien of record in the manufactured home; and 
(B) The homeowner shall provide a title opinion by a licensed attorney, declaring that the owner of the 
manufactured home has a marketable title to the real property upon which the manufactured home is 
located and that no documents ¿led of record in the county clerk’s oƥce concerning the real property 
contain a mortgage, recorded ¿nancial statement, judgment, or lien of record. The opinion must be 
signed by the issuing attorney, on his/her letterhead, and be executed, or updated, within thirty (30) 
days of application date. 

(2) A properly completed application for reinstatement may be submitted to the Oklahoma Tax Commission or 
a motor license agent. Reinstatement applications submitted to a motor license agent shall be forwarded to 
the Oklahoma Tax Commission for approval. 
(3) Upon approval by the Tax Commission, a new original FHUWL¿FDWH of title shall be issued and registration fees 
collected for the balance of the calendar year. 
(4) Reinstatement of a manufactured home FHUWL¿FDWH of title does not absolve the owner of any Ad Valorem 
tax obligation to county where the manufactured home was or is located. 

[Source: Added at 19 Ok Reg. 2063, eơ 7-1-08; Amended at 27 Ok Reg. 2293, eơ 7-11-2010] 
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MANUFACTURED HOMES  
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

 
TRIBAL REGISTRATION: 
Question: If a manufactured home  is located on Indian trust land and is owned by someone other than the 
landowner, is the manufactured home  exempt from ad valorem tax? 
Answer: Only if the owner of the manufactured home is a tribal member in good standing of the same tribe that the 
land is held in trust for. The owner of the manufactured home does not have to be the same person who owns the 
land. If the owner of the manufactured home is a member of a diơerent tribe, the manufactured home is taxable. 
Question: If a manufactured home is registered and has a tribal title and tag, but is not located on Indian trust land, is 
the home taxable ad valorem? 
Answer: Yes. The home should have an Oklahoma tag and title. Beginning the following January 1st assessment date 
after initial tribal registration, the home will be taxed ad valorem as homes with non-tribal registration. A Form 936 
is not needed to get an Oklahoma title. If any previous or current year taxes are due, it will be assessed on the current 
year tax roll or if the home is sold or moved, in the future. The owner is to provide a completed OTC D=Form 
701-46 Manufactured Home Application for Reinstatement of Cancelled Title. 
Question: What does the assessor do if the home has a tribal tag and is not located on restricted land? Is it taxable? 
Answer: If not located on restricted land, the home is taxable. 
Question: Can the assessor issue a Form 936 if the home has a tribal tag? 
Answer: Yes, if the home is taxable, regardless of how it is tagged. 
Question: If a manufactured home is owned by a non-tribal member, is located on restricted Indian land, has an Okla- 
homa title, is it subject to ad valorem tax? What if owned by a tribal member? 
Answer: Yes. If a home is located on restricted land and owned by a tribal member it is not subject to ad valorem tax. 
 
SURRENDER OF TITLE: 
Question: How is a manufactured home title canceled or surrendered? 
Answer: The owner of the manufactured home must begin the process by contacting a MLA. The agent will process 
the application and will advise the assessor when the title has been canceled. 
Question: Is Form FL-756 the only recognized form for notice of title cancellation or surrender? 
Answer: Yes. There are no other forms or notices that are recognized by the state. Forms from lenders or any other 
entities are not recognized. 
Question: When completing Form 756, does the taxpayer have to come into the assessor’s oƥce to verify 
ownership, or can the mortgage or closing company mail or fax the assessor the form for YHUL¿FDWLRQ" 
Answer: Yes. You may use the mail or fax Form 756. 
Question: If a manufactured homeowner has surrendered the title and at a future date wants to move the home, 
what is the procedure? 
Answer:  The record owner of the manufactured home must apply to the OTC for issuance of a new 
FHUWL¿FDWH of title. The homeowner must provide documents that the landowner is the owner of the manufactured 
home and that there are no security interests or liens. In addition, the owner must provide a title opinion by a 
licensed attorney determining that the owner of the manufactured home has marketable title to the real property 
upon which the manufactured home is located. [See: 47 O.S. § 1110] 

 
Upon issuance of the new FHUWL¿FDWH of title, the same moving requirements will apply as for other titled manufactured 
homes. 
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Question: If the title has been improperly surrendered on a manufactured home that is not located on land owned 
by the owner of the manufactured home, what should the assessor do? 

Answer: This should no longer be an issue. With the new procedures using Form 756, the county assessor must 
verify the status and ownership of the home prior to cancellation. The applicant must go to the county assessor ¿rst 
to implement the process. 

Question: What does “permanently aƥxed” mean? 

Answer: Currently Oklahoma Statutes do not provide a GH¿QLWLRQ� When used in the context of title surrender or 
cancellation, the owner FHUWL¿HV that the manufactured home is “permanently aƥxed” to the real estate. Homes that 
have not had their titles cancelled should be carried as manufactured homes on the assessment roll. 

Question: Can the “new original” title on cancelled titles be required to have a Form 936 like the MSO to the 
original title? 

Answer: There is not a Form 936 requirement when making application to cancel the title. The statutorily required 
title opinion will address any outstanding taxes against the property. If the home is to be moved, the same 
requirements apply as any other used home. The Form 936 would then be required. The home does not revert to a 
manufactured home until a new title is issued. 

Question: What is the procedure for obtaining a title for a home that has been placed on real estate and there is no 
MSO or VIN number available? 

Answer: Contact OTC Motor Vehicle Title at 405.521.3221. A court order may be required directing the OTC to issue 
a title. 

Question: When a home that has had the title surrendered or cancelled and at a later date makes application for a 
new title, is there an excise tax paid at the time the new title is issued? If so, does the payment of the excise tax 
exempt the ad valorem tax for that year? 

Answer: There is no excise tax charged when issuing a new title. Only the tag and registration fee is charged. Ad val- 
orem tax is still due on the home. 

Question: Can the assessor’s oƥce get a print-out or list from the OTC of manufactured homes located within their 
county that have had the titles cancelled? 

Answer: Yes. A semi-annual printout from the OTC lists all manufactured home activity. A county may also 
request the printout anytime. (See: 47 O.S. § 1119) 

 
 

MANUFACTURED HOME CERTIFICATE FORM 936 
Question: Do you have to have a current year Form 936 when changing title on a home if the VIN and description is on 
the warranty deed? 

Answer: Yes. There must be a current year Form 936 anytime the title is changed. The fact that the VIN appears on 
the warranty deed exempts the buyer from excise on the home, but does not relieve the Form 936 requirement for any 
future title work. 

Question: If the court issues an order for change of title, is a Form 936 required? 

Answer: Yes. Unless the court provides instructions pertaining to delinquent taxes. A copy of the order must be 
provided to the assessor prior to issuing a current year Form 936 or title work. 
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Question: If the owner of a manufactured home does not have an Oklahoma title and wants to assess or move the 
home, do they need to get an Oklahoma title? 

Answer: Yes. If there are ad valorem taxes due on the manufactured home, complete as much information as possible 
on the OTC Form 936. In form the county treasurer to accept payment of all taxes and hold the decal (do not put the 
decal number on the 936). The owner of the home will present the copy of Form 936 to the MLA with the receipt from 
the county treasurer for all ad valorem taxes. After the title has been issued, the owner will return to the assessor 
and treasurer where the Form 936 will be completed and decal issued. 

 
Question: What if the Form 936 applicant does not know all the information requested on the Form 936? 

Answer: The Form 936 is a tracking device and receipt of taxes paid. It is extremely important that all information is 
properly completed. Insist that all information be properly completed. A short delay may save many hours of 
frustration later by the homeowner and receiving counties. 

 
Question: How do you get a Form 936 for an out-of-state title? 

Answer: If the home is located in Oklahoma and has taxable situs, the owner must have an Oklahoma title. Refer to 
the MLA for an Oklahoma title. 

 
Question: When getting a Form 936, must the owner have a title, hard tag, and decal? 

Answer: The applicant must have an Oklahoma title. The hard tag may be obtained from the MLA when a 
current year decal is presented. 

 
Question: Do homes coming in to Oklahoma from out of state need a Form 936? 

Answer: No. Until the home has taxable situs in Oklahoma, no Form 936 is required. 
 

Question: Does “Current Year Decal” mean the current calendar year, or the year that the tax was paid? 

Answer: “Current Year Decal” must be the current calendar year. Example: If the Form 936 is issued in 2014, the decal 
must be a 2014 decal. 

 
Question: Do you have to get a new Form 936 every time a manufactured home moves or title work is done? 

Answer: A current calendar year Form 936 should be obtained each time the home is moved if not on a dealer’s lot 
January 1 and titled and registered in the dealer’s name. The Form 936 is used as a tracking device as well as a receipt 
of taxes paid. If the home is not on the dealer’s lot January 1, a current year Form 936 is required. DPS will issue a 
size and weight permit for homes having a current year decal. A home may be moved unlimited times in the 
same calendar year with a current year decal. 

 
Question: May a single Form 936 be used for multiple homes? 

Answer: No. One Form 936 must be used for each home. The exact amount of tax for the subject home must be 
indicated by the county treasurer on the form. 

 
Question: Can you move a home as many times as needed on one (1) current year Form 936? 

Answer: If there is a current year Form 936, the home can be moved multiple times within the same year on the 
original Form 936.  However, we do recommend that a Form 936 is issued each time the home is moved for 
tracking purposes. If only moving, mark the Form 936 “No Taxes Due”. 
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Question: What are the exceptions that a Form 936 is not required for a move or change in title? 

Answer: When Moving: 

• Trade in to a dealer 
• Repossession (30 day grace period) 
• New home moving to buyer or another dealer 
• Home moving from out of state to Oklahoma 
• Cancelled title 
• Current registration (First year in Oklahoma, title in the name of an Oklahoma manufactured home dealer 

or non-resident military) 
Title Changes: 

• Manufactured home title in the name of a dealer with proof of current year registration 
• Manufactured home titled by non-resident military personnel (Armed Forces Aƥdavit) with proof of current 

year registration 
• Manufactured home WLWOHG�DQG�UHJLVWHUHG�LQ�2NODKRPD�IRU�WKH�¿UVW�WLPH�ZLWK�FXUUHQW�\HDU�UHJLVWUDWLRQ 
• Duplicate Title (issued only to the last owner of record according to the OTC ¿les) 

 
REPOSSESSIONS AND DEALER TRADES 
Question: When legally repossessing a manufactured home, does a Form 936 have to be issued at time of 
repossession? 

Answer: No. The repossessing agent has thirty (30) days in which to complete all paperwork and pay all outstanding 
taxes. The title work will not be completed without a current Form 936. They may move the home to a secure location 
with an OTC Form 737 Repossession Aƥdavit available from a MLA.If not moving, no repossession aƥdavit is 
required. 

Question: 'R�UHSRVVHVVLQJ�DJHQWV�RU�OHQGHUV�KDYH�WKH�VDPH�EHQH¿WV�DV�OLFHQVHG�GHDOHUV" 

Answer: No. Agents and lenders are treated as individuals unless they are licensed Oklahoma dealers. 

Question: Are lenders authorized to use repossession aƥdavits? 

Answer: Yes. However, lenders are not authorized to use dealer trade aƥdavits. 

Question: Are repossessed homes held for consignment or resale required to have a current year Form 936? 

Answer: Yes. A current year Form 936 is required before any title transfer can be completed. 

Question: Who can use a dealer trade aƥdavit? 

Answer: Oklahoma licensed dealers only. (Not out-of-state dealers) 

Questions: Are repossessed homes held for consignment or resale required to have a current year Form 936? Do they 
need a current title also? 

Answer: Yes. If the home has been held for resale or consignment, the home must have a Form 936 issued at the 
time of moving or thirty (30) days after in order to obtain a “Repo Title”. 

Question: If a repo agent or dealer does not come in to pay the tax in the 30-day period until the home is sold 
or moved off the lot, what should the assessor do? 

 

Answer: The statutes required the OTC Form 936 be obtained within 30 days of the event. The statutes do not address 
a penalty for non-compliance. The assessor may contact the dealer or agent reminding them of the requirements at 
any time. 
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COLLECTION OF TAX: 
Question: If a dealer sells a home with a current Form 936 and the buyer does not change the title to their name and 
delinquent taxes accrue, who is responsible? 

Answer: A tax lien would be placed against the home by the county treasurer. The county could execute the lien on 
the home and impound the home for back taxes. If the home was removed from the county prior to impound, the 
dealer would be held responsible if unable to document the home was sold on a VSHFL¿F date. The burden of proof is 
on the dealer. If the home was lawfully repossessed by the dealer or a third party lender, the lender would be 
responsible for the taxes. 

Question: If a manufactured home has delinquent tax, is there any way that the county assessor can make sure the tax 
is paid prior to any title work? 

Answer:  Yes. The county assessor may contact the OTC and request a ³ÀDJ´ on the VIN for 
delinquent taxes. This will notify all MLAs that there are delinquent taxes that must be paid prior to any title work. 

Question: Can tax be paid in another county when requesting a Form 936? 

Answer: Yes. The home county assessor and treasurer completes an original Form 936 based on the information from 
the collecting county’s treasurer. The original Form 936 is then faxed to the collecting county treasurer. After 
payment, the applicant is issued a trust deposit receipt, current year decal, and a copy of the completed Form 936. 
[See: 68 O.S. § 2813-C] 

Question: When paying tax upon application for Form 936, is the current year estimated tax or only the 
delinquent tax? 

Answer: All taxes are due when requesting a Form 936. This includes any and all delinquent taxes and the full amount 
of tax for the current year. The Form 936 FHUWL¿HV that all taxes, including penalties and interest, have been paid. 

Question: When excise tax is paid on a new home, is ad valorem tax also due for the same year? 

Answer: No. When excise tax is paid on a new home, ad valorem tax is not assessed until the next January 1. Excise 
and ad valorem tax are not paid in the same year. 

Question: When excise tax is paid on a used home, is ad valorem tax also due for the same year? 

Answer: Yes, unless the manufactured home is referenced on the deed by VIN number. If the VIN appears on the deed 
as part of the described property, there is no excise tax due. 

Question: When collecting tax, is the amount based on only the tax due for the subject home requesting the Form 
936, or may it include delinquent tax for other personal property owned by the current owner of the home? 

Answer: The amount of tax due is only for the subject home requesting the Form 936. Other delinquent 
personal property accounts that the owner of the subject home may have are independent from the Form 936 
transaction. 

Question: If a taxpayer has paid both excise and ad valorem tax on a home, is there any provision for a refund on one 
of the two? 

Answer: Excise tax is not in-lieu of ad valorem tax. An ad valorem tax refund would be proper depending on the 
situation. 

 
MODULAR HOMES: 
Question: Are modular homes subject to ad valorem tax? 

Answer: Yes. Modular homes are treated exactly like any other site built structure. The main diơerence between a 
modular and a manufactured home is they are not subject to title and registration. Ad valorem tax for the home is 
assessed the ¿rst January 1 date after the sale, occupancy, or renting of the structure. 
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Question: How can you determine if a home is a manufactured or a modular home? 

Answer: It is sometimes very diƥcult to tell. Some manufactures have special data plates for modular homes. 
Some have diơerent color data plates. Most of the time, you will need to see a copy of the original MSO, title or 
closing statements. If there is any doubt, the burden of proof is on the owner to show it is not a manufactured home. 
Ask for a sales tax receipt or contact the manufacturer. 

Question: Do modular homes pay sales tax instead of excise tax? 

Answer: Yes. Since modular homes are not subject to title and registration as manufactured homes, they must pay a 
sales tax based on the purchase price and tax rate at point of sale. 
Note: The state and local 45% of the purchase price is exempt from sales tax. (Ref. 68 O.S. § 1357(22)) 

 
GENERAL AND MISCELLANEOUS 
Question: Is there any case where a motor home or travel trailer would be subject to ad valorem tax? 

Answer: No. A motor home or travel trailer will always be subject to title and registration. The record title owner does 
not have a choice. 

Question: When transferring land and home on a warranty deed, do you still have to pay the excise tax on the home 
and the ad valorem tax? 

Answer: No. If the home is listed on the deed by VIN, then no excise tax will be charged. 

Question: How does the assessor remove a “salvage” manufactured home oơ the assessment rolls when there is 
no “salvage title” available? This would be when the home is removed for salvage or scrap metal. 

Answer: The title should be signed over to a salvage dealer, providing there is a title, and a Form 936 should be 
issued to move the home. If the title has been cancelled, it is no longer a manufactured home and manufactured home 
rules do not apply. 
Question: Is there anything that the assessor needs to do in the case of Title 42 transactions? Does the assessor 
receive any paperwork that indicates an ownership change if the home is not moving? 

Answer: A current Form 936 is required before a title can be issued. The Title 42 instructions issued by the  OTC will 
list this as one of the requirements. 

Question: Is the maximum time the assessor can go back on a manufactured home for not rendering the home 
15 years on real property and three years on personal property? How does the 7-year statute of limitations aơect 
the 15 years on real property? 
Answer: Yes, however the delinquent tax is uncollectible after seven (7) years due to the statute of limitations. 

Question: What if a taxpayer has a manufactured home that has no title. 
Some of these homes were never sold with titles. What should the county assessor tell the taxpayer to do? 

Answer: Contact OTC Motor Vehicle Title at 405.521.3221 to research the VIN and obtain the procedures.  A 
court order may be required. 
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TRAILERS & MISCELLANEOUS VEHICLES 
 

COMMERCIAL/NON-COMMERCIAL AND FARM TRAILER TAGS 
All tagged motor vehicles are in-lieu of ad valorem tax. 

Commercial trailers are subject to “commercial trailer” tags. Commercial trailers must be pulled by a “commercial 
vehicle” with proper GVW (gross vehicle weight) registration. The trailer is not subject to ad valorem tax if tagged. 

Farm trailer tags are optional, but not in-lieu of ad valorem tax. All farm trailers are subject to ad valorem tax unless 
tagged as a “commercial trailer”. 

Non-commercial trailers are not subject to tag and should be taxed ad valorem. This would include farm, boat, lawn 
maintenance, utility, race-car, and other such trailers pulled by “non-commercial” vehicles, i.e.: personal vehicle or 
farm trucks. 

Any trailer which is used in a commercial business or enterprise is required to be licensed with a commercial 
trailer tag. Additionally, the pulling unit of any commercial trailer should be licensed as a commercial truck or 
truck-tractor. 

Occasional use of a trailer for a hobby, such as racing cars, or horse trailers, where the pulling unit is licensed as 
a non-commercial vehicle, will not be subject to license. 

���2�6���������'H¿QLWLRQV� 

Commercial Trailer (See 47, Sec. 1133) 
Commercial Vehicle (See 47, Sec. 1133, 1133.1) 
Farm Vehicle (See 47, Sec. 1134) 
Farm Trailer (See 47, Sec. 1134C) 
Manufactured Home (See 47, Sec. 1117) 
Special Mobilized Machinery (See 47, Sec. 1129) 
Travel Trailer 

Motor Vehicle Rules: 

710:60-3-111, Farm Trailers 
710:60-3-94, Commercial Trailers 
Motor Vehicle Division Letter to Motor License Agents January 24, 1994 
 

COMMERCIAL TRAILERS 
[47 O.S. § 1133] [OAC 710:60-3-94] 

Commercial trailers are trailers used in a commercial enterprise. Commercial trailers must be pulled by a commercially 
registered truck. 

Commercial trailers are to be issued non-expiring commercial trailer license plates, regardless of their size or weight, 
with the following exceptions: 

• Trailer mounted special mobilized machinery receives expiring commercial trailer plates. 
• Trailers used primarily for the purpose of transporting XQ¿QLVKHG and unprocessed forest products may be 

subject to forest trailer registrations. 

The non-expiring commercial trailer plate is initially issued at a fee of $51.00. Thereafter, a fee of $4.00 is to be paid 
annually for each trailer or semitrailer. 

• The fee of $4.00 shall be due and payable on January 1 of each year. 
• Upon each transfer of ownership, a new plate and registration will be issued at a fee of $51.00, regardless of 

the time of year transferred. 
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Replacements for lost, stolen or mutilated commercial trailer license plates are issued in the same manner and for the 
same amount as other replacement plates. 

• Non-expiring commercial trailer plates are not limited only to cargo carrying trailers. Concession trailers and 
mobile oƥce trailers, are to be issued non-expiring commercial plates. 

 
 

FARM TRAILERS 

[47 O.S. § 1134(C)] [OAC710:60-3-111] 
Farm trailers are trailers or semitrailers owned by a farmer and used primarily for the purpose of transporting 
farm products to the market or for the purpose of transporting material or items to be used on the farm.  

Farm trailers are not required to be registered in this state. 
 
Should a farm trailer owner wish to register the trailer, an optional farm trailer plate is available for a fee of $12.00. 

• These plates are for registration purposes only. A title is not to be issued. 

• If a serial number is stamped on the trailer, it should be used for the VIN on the registration. Otherwise, the 
drivers license number of the owner should be used. 

• A farm trailer license plate is to be issued, with monthly and yearly decals expiring one (1) year from the date 
of registration. 

Since farm trailer registration is optional, delinquent registration fees or penalties are not charged. 

If the pulling unit is registered as a farm truck, the trailer must be either unregistered, or registered with the 
optional farm trailer plate. A farm truck may not pull a commercially registered trailer. 

 
 

TRAVEL TRAILERS OR MANUFACTURED HOMES SOLD BY FEMA 
U.S. Government Standard Form 97 is used by the United States Government to transfer ownership of a travel trailer or 
manufactured home from the government to an individual or ¿rm. 

• Transfers of ownership with properly completed Form 97 do not required OTC approval. 

• Issue an original Oklahoma title, even if the travel trailer or manufactured home has been titled in Oklahoma. 

• Issue the original Oklahoma title in the same manner as if from an out-of-state title. 

MANUFACTURED HOMES 
• Excise tax for manufactured homes is based on actual purchase price (see bill of sale, copy of dealer 

contract or cancelled check), if none of these items are available, the purchaser may complete a Form 
722-1 Declaration of Vehicle Purchase Price. If no sale has taken place obtain current value through 
“Vehicle Pricing”. 

• Manufactured homes are registered on a calendar year basis, after that taxes are collected by the 
county assessor. 

TRAVEL TRAILERS 
• Excise tax for travel trailers, price acceptability must be YHUL¿HG through “Vehicle Pricing”. 

• Travel trailers are issued a standard non-commercial plate and updated yearly through a MLA or the OTC. 

• Brands on travel trailers will apply. 
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