

PLEASE MAKE SURE THE FOLLOWING ARE INCLUDED WITH THIS APPLICATION TO AVOID IT BEING RETURNED:

- **√** \$40 Application Fee <u>Receipt</u> (MUST BE PAID ONLINE)
- ✓ Citizenship Affidavit (Verifying Citizenship or Alien Status)
 - ✓ Copy of Driver's License, State ID, or Work

 Authorization Card (This must be a clear copy showing both the
 picture and identifiable information)

INCOMPLETE SUBMISSIONS WILL BE RETURNED TO THE APPLICANT'S ADDRESS PROVIDED ON THE APPLICATION.



OKLAHOMA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY

2920 N Lincoln Blvd, Ste A, Oklahoma City, OK 73105 Phone: (405) 521-3815 / Fax: 405-900-8365 www.pharmacy.ok.gov / e-mail: pharmacy@pharmacy.ok.gov

FEE - \$40.00 (ONLINE ONLY)

https://pay.apps.ok.gov/OSBP/payments/ Application must include:

- Citizenship Affidavit (Option 1 or 2)
- Copy of State or Federal ID

PI	Δ	RM	ΙΔ	CY	TE	CHN	IICIZ	N	PERMIT	ΔΡ	PI I	CA	lΤΔ	0	N
ГΙ					_ `	СПІ		1 I V	FLNIVIII	$\mathbf{A}\mathbf{\Gamma}$			~	v	17

PHARIMACT TECHNICIAN PERIMIT A	PPLICAT						
NAME* [PRINT CLEARLY AND USE BLUE OR BLACK INK]							
	FOR OSBP USE ONLY						
MAILING ADDRESS*	PERMIT	Į.	SSUED	EXPIRES			
CITY, STATE, ZIP*		RECEIPT		DATE	Affidavit		
SSN# *:	(M or F):						
Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy):	ne:						
E-mail:	•						
*[This information is mandatory	pursuant to 56	6 O.S. § 240.2°	1A.]				
PLEASE ALLOW A MINIMUM OF 21 DAYS F	ROM DATE OF	RECEIPT FOR	PROCESS	ING.			
PERMIT WILL EXPIRE ANNUALLY ON	N THE LAST DA	Y YOUR BIRTH	MONTH.				
A. Pharmacy Employment - [must be employed in a lie	censed Oklah	oma nharmac	v and un	der the imme	diate and direct		
supervision of a licensed Oklahoma pharmacist]	ocnoca oman	oma pharmao	y and an	aci tiic iiiiiic	and and an eot		
PHARMACY NAME	OK PHARMACY LICENSE #						
ADDRESS			PHARMACY PHONE				
CITY STATE 7ID							
CITY, STATE, ZIP							
B. Charges and Convictions							
 If YES, have supervising pharmacist (DPh) initial column to the right, control addendum form that shall be used may be found at: http://www.ok Have you ever been arrested, charged, indicted or convisentence for any misdemeanor or felony offense? Do you habitually use alcohol, illegal or habit-forming drugs. Have you ever had any application for a license or pelicensing authority? 		DPh's Initials DPh's Initials DPh's Initials DPh's Initials DPh's Initials					
4. Have you ever had a registration issued by any licensing authority revoked, suspended, suspended, make a registration issued by any licensing authority revoked, suspended, suspended, make a registration issued by any licensing authority revoked, suspended, susp							
			I				
C. Education [must have completed a high school education]		equivalence]					
High School Attended / G.E.D. Testing Center	City		State	Date of Gra	aduation/G.E.D.		
D. Swear and Affirm (sign and date) I swear and affirm under penalty of perjury pursuant to Title 21 pharmacy laws and rules of the State of Oklahoma that all inform Applicant signature							
E. Pharmacist Review and Training Verification I have reviewed the application as completed by the applicant applicant has met the requirements to become a pharmacy technical prior to receiving a pharmacy technician permit. I also be remains competent through continuing on-the-job training and the available for inspection. PRINTED NAME of Supervising Pharmacist:	t, including the nician and has understand tha	e <i>Charges ar</i> completed the at I am respor	nd Convi e initial tra nsible for	i ctions , and aining & exam assuring tha	n required by the t this technician e pharmacy and		
SIGNATURE of Supervising Pharmacist:		Date					

Citizenship / Alien Status Affirmation

NOTARY NOT NEEDED

Instructions: All natural persons fourteen (14) years of age and older, present in the United States, applying for a license with the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy are required by 56 O.S. Section 71 to provide the Board with verification of lawful presence in the US by executing the following Affirmation (as authorized by 56 OS Section 71, Subsection G).

I,Print your name clearly here	make affirmation, under penalty of perjury, as follows:
Print your name clearly here	
(PLEASE SELECT ONE OF THE FOLLOWING, the	en sign and date)
I am a United States Citizen	
	al Immigration and Naturalization Act; and, tates. Complete the following if you are an alien:
Alien Registration Number:	
County of Origin:	
Date of Birth:	
U.S. Social Security Number:	
	he applicant / registrant must attach a legible copy of ses federal work authorization document.
Signature:	
Date signed:	

OKLAHOMA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY * 2920 N LINCOLN BLVD STE A * OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73105-4212



OKLAHOMA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY

Pharmacy Technician Examination

DO NOT RETURN TO BOARD - KEEP COMPLETED EXAM IN PHARMACY FILE

Directions: Effective April 1, 2012 a pharmacist shall administer this exam as a prerequisite <u>before</u> approving an Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy technician application. The pharmacist should:

- 1. Correct the exam,
- 2. Review incorrect answers with the technician applicant, and
- 3. Keep the original exam in the technician's training file for review by Board staff during inspections.

The pharmacy policy and procedure training manual should reference this examination. The Board will rely on the pharmacy to determine a successful exam score. The exam may be administered as an open book exam if desired by the pharmacist conducting the technician training. Answers are not provided for the exam as pharmacists should know the answers, but the law book reference(s) which provides the answer is noted by each question.

For this exam:

- "Board" means the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy or OSBP.
- "Technician" means a Board licensed pharmacy technician.
- "PTCB" means Pharmacy Technician Certification Board.
- "CPhT" means a PTCB Certified Pharmacy Technician.
- "DUI" means Driving under the influence.
- "OBN" means Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics.
- "DEA" means Drug Enforcement Administration.
- O.S. 353 and OAC 535 citations are in the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy law book.
- OAC 475 citations are Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics rules in the law book Appendix A.
- 68 O.S. § 238.1 is an OK statute found at: www.oar.state.ok.us/viewhtml/710 95-9-2.htm

Instructions: Circle the correct answer. Each question has ONE correct answer.

- 1. Which task may NOT be performed by an Oklahoma pharmacy technician:
 - a. prepackage (e.g. unit dose) and properly label medications
 - b. affix the prescription label to the proper container
 - c. affix auxiliary labels to the container as directed by the pharmacist
 - d. provide patient counseling or drug information

[OAC 535:15-13-6 & 535:15-13-7]

- 2. Which task may NOT be performed by an Oklahoma pharmacy technician:
 - a. receive new orally communicated prescriptions from prescribers or their agents
 - b. assist the pharmacist in the annual CDS inventory
 - c. retrieve prescriptions or files as necessary
 - d. count and/or pour medications

[OAC 535:15-13-6 & 535:15-13-7]

- 3. A pharmacy technician may counsel patients regarding medications
 - a. if the patient is in a hospital
 - b. if the pharmacist is not available and the patient does not want to wait
 - c. if the patient calls the pharmacy and the pharmacist is busy
 - d. under NO circumstances as it violates both state and federal law

[OAC 535:15-5-7.5 & 535:15-13-7]

- 4. A pharmacy technician may receive a new phone-in prescription from a physician office:
 - a. if the pharmacist is not available and the doctor's office authorizes it
 - b. only after additional training and approval of the pharmacy manager
 - c. for non-controlled drugs
 - d. under NO circumstances

[OAC 535:15-5-7.5 & 535:15-13-7]

- 5. A technician may certify a prescription and approve it for sale to a patient:
 - a. if the pharmacist is unavailable and the patient needs it quickly
 - b. if the insurance goes through
 - c. if the patient says it is ok
 - d. under NO circumstances

[OAC 535:15-5-7.5 & 535:15-13-7]

- 6. A person that has received an Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy technician permit may:
 - a. be "in charge" of a pharmacy
 - b. supervise licensed pharmacy interns
 - c. work unsupervised if approved by a pharmacist manager
 - d. not provide patient counseling under state and federal law

[OAC 535:15-5-7.5 & 535:15-13-7]

- 7. A clerk that is NOT a pharmacy technician may do all of the following tasks except:
 - a. apply a prescription label to a vial of medication
 - b. operate the cash register to sell prescriptions certified by a pharmacist
 - c. receive a written prescriptions from customer at the drive-through window
 - d. enter prescription and insurance information into a computer

[OAC 535:15-5-7.3 & 535:15-13-6]

- 8. After a technician is found guilty of violating a state or federal rule or regulation during a Board administrative hearing, the technician:
 - a. may have their technician permit permanently revoked and be fined up to \$3000 per violation
 - b. may be referred to the courts for civil and criminal prosecution
 - c. will be reported to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB)
 - d. all of the above

[59 O.S. § 353.7]

- 9. Calculations completed by a clerk or technician must always be reviewed and approved by:
 - a. the lead or senior technician
 - b. a PTCB certified pharmacy technician
 - c. a pharmacist
 - d. an Oklahoma permitted technician

[OAC 535:15-5-7.2 & 535:15-13-7]

- 10. A pharmacist may supervise:
 - a. 2 technicians
 - b. 3 technicians if one is nationally certified
 - c. 3 technicians if one is in phase II of training
 - d. 3 technicians if the pharmacist assumes all responsibility

[OAC 535:15-5-7.2 & 535:15-13-5]

- 11. A pharmacist intern enrolled in a college of pharmacy may:
 - a. supervise a pharmacy technician
 - b. supervise only a PTCB certified pharmacy technician
 - c. supervise 2 pharmacy technicians
 - d. never supervise a pharmacy technician

[OAC 535:15-5-7.2 & 535:15-13-5]

- 12. A technician shall notify the Board of an address change:
 - a. in writing within 30 days
 - b. in writing within 10 days
 - c. by telephone or in writing within 20 days
 - d. by telephone or in writing within 10 days

[OAC 535:15-13-10 & 535:25-3-6]

- 13. A technician shall notify the Board of a change of employment:
 - a. in writing within 30 days
 - b. in writing within 10 days
 - c. by telephone or in writing within 20 days
 - d. by telephone or in writing within 10 days

[OAC 535:15-13-10]

- 14. A technician shall notify the Board in their application or renewal application of:
 - any arrest or charge for any misdemeanor or felony offense of the technician under any federal, state, or local laws
 - b. any plea of nolo contendere, or conviction or deferred sentence for any misdemeanor or felony offense of the technician under any federal, state, or local laws
 - any suspension or revocation by federal, state, or local government of any license currently or previously held by the technician
 - d. all of the above.

[OAC 535:15-13-8(b) & 535:25-3-3]

- 15. A technician is responsible for and may be charged with:
 - a. violating Oklahoma regulations regarding the practice of pharmacy
 - b. a felony if they impersonate a pharmacist and patient harm results
 - c. violating Board of Pharmacy regulations if they work while impaired by drugs
 - d. all of the above.

[59 O.S. 353.17.A; OAC 535:15-5-7.1 & 535:15-13-4]

- 16. While working as a technician, theft:
 - a. is a violation of the Board's rules and Oklahoma's criminal laws
 - b. is a violation of the Board's rules and Oklahoma's criminal laws only if the theft is of prescription drugs
 - c. is not a violation of the Board's rules and Oklahoma's criminal laws if the theft is for personal use and not for sale or gift to another person
 - d. is not a violation of the Board's rules and Oklahoma's criminal laws if the technician stole because the technician was threatened by another person

[OAC 535:25-9-7]

- 17. A pharmacy technician must complete Phase II of pharmacy technician training:
 - a. before applying for a pharmacy technician permit
 - b. within thirty (30) days after issuance of a pharmacy technician permit
 - c. within ninety (90) days after issuance of a pharmacy technician permit

[OAC 535:15-13-13(a)(3)(C)]

- 18. A pharmacy manager that hires a technician that already holds an OSBP pharmacy technician permit must document training of that technician at the pharmacy:
 - a. within ten (10) days of hire at such pharmacy
 - b. within thirty (30) days of hire at such pharmacy

[OAC 535:15-13-13(d)]

- 19. A pharmacist in charge who supervises technicians who participate in the preparation of compounded medications shall certify that:
 - a. the technician has completed a ONLY training program in product preparation
 - b. the technician has completed a ONLY testing program in product preparation
 - c. the technician has completed a training and testing program in product preparation
 - d. no training or testing is required

[OAC 535:15-10-3(e)(2)]

- 20. If a technician is found guilty of a violation of a state or federal rule or regulation during a Board administrative hearing, the Board has the authority to:
 - a. permanently revoke the pharmacy technician's permit
 - b. fine the technician a maximum of \$3,000 per count
 - c. report the technician to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB)
 - d. all of the above

[59 O.S. § 353.7]

- 21. If a court finds a technician guilty of a felony of any kind (such as felony DUI, domestic abuse, or animal cruelty) or a misdemeanor involving a controlled substance (including marijuana and prescription drugs):
 - a. any pharmacy with an OBN license will be required to apply for and receive a waiver from OBN before they will be able to work in that pharmacy
 - b. it is a violation of Board rules and regulations and the technician may have a compliant filed and be brought before the Board and may have their technician permit revoked and be fined
 - c. the technician must report information regarding the conviction to the Board even if the technician received a suspended or deferred sentence
 - d. all of the above

[59 O.S. § 353.7; OAC 475:20-1-5(g); OAC 535:25-7-6]

- 22. If a court finds a technician guilty of a felony of any kind involving a controlled substance (including marijuana and prescription drugs)
 - any pharmacy with an OBN license will be required to apply for and receive a waiver from OBN before the technician will be able to work in that facility
 - b. any pharmacy with a DEA license will be required to apply for and receive a waiver from DEA before the technician will be able to work in that facility
 - c. the technician must report information regarding the conviction to the Board even if the technician received a suspended or deferred sentence
 - d. all of the above

[59 O.S. § 353.7; OAC 475:20-1-5(g); 21 CFR 1301.76(a) APPENDIX G]

[Note: Answers for questions 23 through 26 should be available in a reference book found in the pharmacy library]

- 23. A fluid ounce contains approximately:
 - a. 10 milliliters
 - b. 30 milliliters
 - c. 100 milliliters
 - d. 10 cubic centimeters

- 24. A teaspoon contains approximately:
 - a. 5 milliliters
 - b. 15 milliliters
 - c. 30 milliliters
 - d. none of the above
- 25. One liter is approximately:
 - a. 100 milliliters
 - b. one gallon
 - c. 1000 milliliters
 - d. one pint
- 26. One quart is approximately:
 - a. 100 milliliters
 - b. 500 milliliters
 - c. 1000 milliliters
 - d. 120 fluid ounces

Circle T (True) or F (False):

27. T F By state law, a technician who does not pay their Oklahoma state income tax may not be allowed to renew his technician permit.

[68 O.S. § 238.1]

28. T F A misdemeanor conviction in Oklahoma for possession of marijuana fifteen years ago will NOT require a person to get a waiver from the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics before being allowed to work in a pharmacy because marijuana is not considered a drug and it is over ten years ago.

[OAC 475:20-1-5(g)]

29. T F A felony conviction (or a nolo-contendre plea or guilty plea) for a DUI or DWI ten years ago will require a person to get a waiver from the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics before being allowed to work in a pharmacy.

[OAC 475:20-1-5(g)]

30. T F A person who does not answer the questions on a pharmacy technician permit application or renewal application truthfully may be charged with perjury, and may have their technician permit application denied or revoked.

[59 O.S. § 353.25]

31. T F A technician shall report to the Board any violation of pharmacy laws or regulations that may come to their attention. A technician who fails to report such violations will be subject to Board action against their technician permit.

[OAC: 535:25-7-6]

32. T F Failure of a technician to timely notify the Board, in writing, of their address change is a violation of the Board's rules and could result in discipline.

[OAC 535:15-13-10]

33. T F Failure of a technician to timely notify the Board, in writing, of their change of employment is a violation of the Board's rules and could result in discipline.

[OAC 535:15-13-10]