# MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING COMMISSION ON CONSUMER CREDIT January 11, 2017

The regular monthly meeting of the Commission on Consumer Credit was held at 10:00 a.m. on January 11, 2017, at the Oklahoma Department of Consumer Credit, 3613 N.W. 56th Street, Suite 240, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73112. The agenda was posted at the office of the Department of Consumer Credit, outside the main public entrance of the 3 Corporate Plaza office building and on the Department of Consumer Credit Internet website at <a href="https://www.ok.gov/okdocc">www.ok.gov/okdocc</a> on January 6, 2017.

#### I. Call to order.

Chairman Bob Moses called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

### II. Roll call.

PRESENT: Chairman Bob Moses, Vice-Chairman Joe Wilbanks, Jerry Douglas, Craig

Stanley, Shawn Karnes, Rick Harper, Suzy Barnes and Kent Carter and

Mick Thompson.

**ABSENT:** Armando Rosell was absent at the start of the meeting.

Chairman Moses announced that a quorum was present.

STAFF: Scott Lesher, Ruben Tornini, Roy John Martin, Roberta Hale, Meredith

Fazendin and Drew S'Renco.

GUESTS: Greg Piatt, Sydney Hill, Richard Mildren, Tyler Talley, and Steven

Hawkins.

III. Discussion and possible action regarding the minutes of the regular meeting held December 14, 2016.

Commissioner Carter made a motion to approve the minutes of the regular meeting held December 14, 2016. Commissioner Barnes seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

IV. Presentation of monthly budget and financial reports. Discussion and possible action regarding the monthly budget and financial reports.

Commissioner Rosell arrived during the discussion of this agenda item.

Steven Hawkins, Office of Management and Enterprise Services, presented the December 2016 monthly budget and financial report.

Commissioner Stanley made a motion to approve the December 2016 monthly budget and financial report. Commissioner Barnes seconded the motion. The roll call vote was as follows:

Chairman Moses-Yes; Vice-Chairman Wilbanks-Yes; Karnes – Yes; Carter – Yes; Stanley – Yes; Harper-Yes; Douglas – Yes; and Barnes-Yes. Rosell-Abstain

- V. Department of Consumer Credit staff reports. Discussion and possible action regarding the following Department of Consumer Credit staff reports:
  - A. Licensing Report by Meredith Fazendin, Administrative Programs Officer;
  - B. Enforcement Report by Drew S'Renco, Chief Examiner;
  - C. Legal Report by Roy John Martin, General Counsel;
  - D. Operations Report by Ruben Tornini, Deputy Administrator;
  - E. Other Administrator Reports.

Staff presented the reports as indicated above.

- VI. Executive session proposed for the purpose of discussing the following:
  - A. Discussing the employment of the Administrator of Consumer Credit, Scott Lesher, pursuant to 25 O.S. 307(B)(1) and evaluating his performance;
  - B. Motion to return to open meeting;
  - C. Discussion and possible action on the above Executive Session item A as the Commission may deem appropriate.

Motion to enter into executive session (Time: 10:18 a.m.)

Commissioner Stanley made a motion to enter into Executive Session for purposes of discussing the employment of the Administrator of Consumer Credit, Scott Lesher, pursuant to 25 O.S. 307(B)(1) and evaluating his performance. Commissioner Rosell seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

Motion to return to open meeting (Time: 10:49 a.m.)

Commissioner Harper made a motion to return to open meeting. Commissioner Wilbanks seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

Commissioner Douglas made a motion as follows:

I make a motion that the Administrator, Mr. Scott Lesher, receive a salary increase of 7.9% retroactive back to July 1, 2016.

Commissioner Stanley seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

## VII. Public Comments. (Limited to 5 minutes per person).

## VIII. Nominations and elections of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Commission.

Chairman Moses nominated Joe Wilbanks to serve as the Vice-Chairman of the Commission for 2017. Commissioner Douglas seconded the motion. No additional nominations for the position of Vice-Chairman were made. The nomination of Joe Wilbanks to serve as the Vice-Chairman of the Commission for 2017 was unanimously approved.

Vice-Chairman Wilbanks nominated Bob Moses to serve as the Chairman of the Commission for 2017. Commissioner Douglas seconded the motion. No additional nominations for the position of Chairman were made. The nomination of Bob Moses to serve as the Chairman of the Commission for 2017 was unanimously approved.

# IX. New business (Any matter not known about or which could not have been reasonably foreseen prior to the time of posting the agenda).

There was not any new business for consideration.

# X. Adjournment.

Without objection, Chairman Moses adjourned the meeting at 10:52 a.m.

SON ON CONSCIER OR ESTATEMENT OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PROPERTY

Bob Moses Chairman

Roberta Hale

**Commission Secretary**