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Frequently Asked
Questions about the
Oklahoma Department
of Human Services
Oklahoma Debit Card



As mandated by law,
DHS no longer issues
checks. Instead, DHS
contracts with a vendor
to issue two different
prepaid debit cards.

The debit card is sent in
a plain white envelope
and is not labeled “DHS”.
You should receive it in
7-10 business days from
the date of issuance. If
you accidentally throw
your card away, you may
call 1-888-929-2460
for Child Support or
1-888-401-9843 for all
other programs. Except
for Child Support, all
DHS benefit program
payments are issued to
the same card.



Frequently
Asked Questions

What is the Oklahoma debit MasterCard?

A\. Your payments will be transferred into

an account from which you can access your
money at any Automated Teller Machine
(ATM) displaying the MasterCard brand
mark. In addition, you can make purchases
wherever the card is accepted, at more than
53,000 merchants worldwide. This card is

a prepaid debit card, not a credit card; you
will be using your own money from payments
deposited to your account.

Is direct deposit or automatic transfer
to my account available?

A\. Yes. If you wish to enroll, call the
number on the back of your card or visit
www.goprogram.com. Once online, select
“Special Services” and choose “recurring
transfers”. Automatic transfers typically
occur two business days after fund
availability.



Frequently Asked Questions (Continued)

How long does it take to get the
Oklahoma Debit Card?

A. It takes 7-10 business days to get a card
after it is mailed. A card will be mailed when
the first payment is available to you.

How can the Oklahoma Debit Card
be used?

A. v To make purchases;

v To access your money through
Automated Teller Machines (ATMs), 24
hours a day, 7 days a week;

v To get cash back from merchants;

v To pay bills, and for online, phone and
mail orders;

The amount of purchases or cash withdrawals
is automatically deducted from the available
funds on the card. Upon request, you may also
receive a free, 60-day report of your account
activity. If you have access to a computer, you
can access your account information online

free at www. goprogram.com.

Will the card say anything about DHS?

A. No. The Oklahoma debit MasterCard has
the word “Oklahoma” across the front and
resembles a credit card. Nothing on the card
indicates that the funds on the card are for
monthly payments.



My credit is bad. Can I still sign up for the
Oklahoma Debit Card?

A\. Yes. Our contractor will not deny a card
based on a customer’s credit history.

What are the fees?

A. The vendor charges fees for services
related to the Oklahoma Debit Card.

* ATM Balance Inquiry: $.50
* ATM Withdrawals

*%* (in network): 2 free per month,
$1.35 each after

** (out of network) $1.35 each

* Card replacement: 1 free per year,
$4 after (expedited delivery is
$14 extra)

* (Calls to GoProgram: 5 free per month,
$.50 after

* Text alert: $.10 per alert
* Transfer funds: $1.75 per request

* No charge for automated recurring
transfer



How do I know if a payment has been
issued to me?

A\. Check your account at www.goprogram.com
or by calling the number on the back of your
card. You may also sign up to be notified by
e-mail, phone call or text when a payment
has been deposited.

When will my money be available?

A. Funds are posted to your debit card by
5:00 P.M. on the date they are available.

Are card fees taken out of my account?

A\. Yes. Your account will be reduced by any
card fees incurred.

Do I get a new card every time a payment
is due?

A. No. All future payments will be
automatically deposited to the initial card
received.

What do I need to do when I receive the
Oklahoma Debit Card?

A\. After receiving the card in the mail, you
must call the number provided on the card to
activate it. At the time of activation, the
customer must choose a PIN. If you would
rather set up direct deposit instead of
activating the card, go to www.goprogram.com,
enter some Personal Information, and follow
the instructions for setting up direct deposit.
These details will be provided with the card
when it is mailed to you.

Is the cardholder able to make deposits to
the card?
A. No. Only DHS can make deposits to the card.

Is there a smartphone app for my card?

A\. Yes. Search your smartphone’s app store
for goprogram.



Can the cardholder have a second card
for another individual, such as a family
member?

A. Yes. You may get a companion card by
going online to www.goprogram.com. The
card will be mailed to the primary cardholder
with the companion cardholder’s name on it.
After the companion card is ordered, the
primary can set up a transfer of funds by
amount or by percentage and can set it to be a
one-time transfer or a recurring transfer. The
primary can move money back and forth from
their account to the companion card(s).All of
the fees apply to the companion card(s) just as
they do for the primary account holder’s card.
You are responsible for all fees and charges
made by the companion cardholder.

Will anyone besides me be able to use
my card?
A. No. Only the person named on the card
may use the card. For security reasons,
cardholders should never share their PIN
number or allow anyone else to use their card.

Do tribal foster parents have access to the
debit card or direct deposit?

A\. Yes. All child welfare or tribal foster
parents who are paid by the Oklahoma
Department of Human Services must select
the debit card or direct deposit to receive
monthly foster care maintenance payment.

Q. Where can I use my card?

A\. For child support, the card may be used
anywhere MasterCard debit cards are
accepted. Per state and federal statute, debit
cards for cash assistance programs cannot
be used at specific types of retailers. These
places have been blocked from accepting the
Oklahoma Debit Card.

Continued on back



This card is issued for all clients receiving
benefits for Adoption, Foster Care, TANF,
LIHEAP, Sales Tax Rebates, Family Assistance,
SSP for ABD, and Refugee Assistance. It is a
restricted card, meaning that it cannot be used at
prohibited businesses per state and federal law.

This card is issued for Child Support
payments. It can be used anywhere
MasterCard is accepted.
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This publication is authorized by Oklahoma Department
of Human Services Director Justin Brown and printed by
DHS in accordance with state and federal regulations at
a cost of $819.39 for 8,583 copies. Copies have been
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Oklahoma Department of Libraries. Members of the
public may obtain copies by calling 1-877-283-4113 (toll
free) or by downloading a copy at www.okdhs.org/library.



