

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

October 19, 2022, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 504 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Dr. Joanna Lein, Katherine Nations, Kenneth Parker, Kathryn Szallar
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	Secretary Ryan Walters, John Daniel
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, David Kurt, and Ashley Poole
VISITORS:	None

Call to Order: Dr. Joanna Lein called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Dr. Lein asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf: Mrs. Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the August 17, 2022 Commission Meeting: Ms. Szallar made a motion to approve the minutes of the August 17, 2022 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: absent Ms. Nations: approve

Page 1 of 2

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability 840 Research Parkway, Suite. 455 Oklahoma City, OK 73104 • (405) 522-5399

Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Secretary Walters:	absent	Ms. Szallar:	approve

Discussion: Proposed Permanent Rule Changes: Mrs. Launey-Rodolf spoke about the process and timeline for changing rules in state government. She then presented proposed permanent rule changes that would align OEQA rules to current state standards and simplify wording of rules related to state accreditation of Educator Preparation Programs. Mr. Parker made suggestions for rule changes on accreditation standards that would benefit teachers going through Educator Preparation Programs.

Presentation and Discussion: P12 Transfer Audits: David Kurt presented information on current progress for P12 Transfer Audits in relation to SB 783 and HB 3038. He spoke about the initial issues schools encountered and then gave information about the ongoing review of 10% of school districts in the state, as per statute.

Program Updates: Angie Bookout spoke about school performance reviews, telling the Commission about the current progress being made. Jennifer Gambrell spoke about recruiting National Board Certified Teachers. She then spoke about PPAT Support Providers and the progress being made on a pilot mentoring program authorized by SB 1631.

New Business: None.

Announcements and Informational Items: Mrs. Launey-Rodolf told the commission that they would have accreditation decisions ready for vote at the upcoming December 14, 2022 regular meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 3:01 p.m. The minutes of the October 19, 2022 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on December 14, 2022.

Signed:

Secretary Ryan Walters

Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director

Page 2 of 2