

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

February 16, 2022 at 1:30 P.M. 5th Floor Conference Room 840 Research Parkway Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Dr. Joanna Lein, Dalton Savage, Ken Parker, and

John Daniel.

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Secretary Ryan Walters, Katie Nations

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jerry Shay, Jennifer Gambrell, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, David

Kurt, Abby Murphey, and Ashley Poole

VISITORS: None

Call to Order: Dr. Lein called the meeting to order at 1:34 p.m.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Dr. Lein asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf: Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the December 08, 2021 Commission Meeting: Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the minutes of the December 08, 2021 Commission regular meeting as submitted. Mr. Savage seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Page 1 of 2

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	absent
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. Savage:	approve	Secretary Walters:	absent

Discussion and Action on Adoption of Proposed Permanent Rules: Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf presented the proposed permanent rule changes. Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the proposed changes as submitted. Dr. Lein seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Nations: absent Dr. Lein: approve Mr. Parker: approve Mr. Savage: approve Secretary Walters: absent

Program Updates: Angie Bookout spoke about the Crescent Public Schools Performance Review. David Kurt gave updates on SB783 and his research into schools posting the necessary information on their websites. He told the Commission that random audits begin April 1, 2022. Jennifer Gambrell gave updates on PPAT pass rates and National Board, including the numbers of both new and renewed NBCTs as of 2021. Renee Launey-Rodolf gave updates on the legislative session and several bills that might affect the agency. She also gave updates on the search for new office space for OEQA, and told the Commission about an upcoming accreditation visit to OSU in the Spring. Ms. Launey-Rodolf then told the Commission about the upcoming AACTE Annual Conference, wherein she and Mrs. Gambrell will be presenting alongside other representatives from the state of Oklahoma.

New Business: None

Announcements: None

as submitted

The meeting adjourned at 3:27 p.m. The minutes of the February 16, 2022 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

with corrections

as saomitted	with corrections
on August 17, 2022.	
Signed:	
Secretary Ryan Walters	Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Director