

## **Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability**

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

## March 13, 2024, 1:30 P.M. 5400 N. Grand Blvd. 1<sup>st</sup> floor conference room Oklahoma City, OK 73112

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Ken Parker, Dr. Ashlyn Fiegener, Geoff Kingsley, and Secretary of Education Nellie Sanders
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	John Daniel, Kathryn Szallar and Greg Hallman
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Dr. Megan Oftedal, Susan Pinson, Jennifer Gambrell, Jerry Shay, Kristen Hsu, David Kurt, and Abby Murphey
VISITORS:	Kenda Bates, NBCT Regional Coordinator; Dr. Rebecca Marie Farley, Oklahoma Baptist University; Dr. Bryan Duke, University of Central Oklahoma; Dr. Mike Nelson, University of Central Oklahoma; Dr. Robin Fuxa, State Chair for University of Central Oklahoma's Accreditation Review; Mr. Jason Flick, Oklahoma Wesleyan University (virtual participation); Dr. Kim Boyd, Oral Roberts University; Dr. Candera Lomax, Oral Roberts University; Dr. Amanda Wilson, Oral Roberts University; Dr. Patrick Otto, Oral Roberts University; Bennett Brinkman, NonDoc

Call to Order: Secretary Sanders called the meeting to order at 1:32 p.m.

Page 1 of 4

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Secretary Sanders asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Megan Oftedal: Dr. Megan Oftedal, Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Discussion and action of the January 17<sup>th</sup> Regular meeting minutes:** Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the January 17<sup>th</sup> Regular meeting minutes as submitted. Dr. Fiegener seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Dr Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	abstain	Mr. Parker:	approve

**Discussion and action of the February 21**<sup>st</sup> **Special meeting minutes:** Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the February 21<sup>st</sup> Special meeting minutes as submitted. Dr. Fiegener seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve

**Discussion and action on continued State Accreditation for the University of Central Oklahoma:** Dr. Bryan Duke spoke about the University of Central Oklahoma and had discussions with Commissioners. Mr. Parker made a motion to continue State Accreditation for the University of Central Oklahoma for seven years. Dr. Fiegener seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve

**Discussion and action on continued State Accreditation for Oklahoma Wesleyan University:** Mr. Jason Flick spoke about Oklahoma Wesleyan University and had discussions with Commissioners. Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the State Accreditation with Stipulations granted for two (2) years. Dr. Fiegener seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve

**Discussion and action on new programs for Oklahoma Baptist University:** Dr. Rebecca Farley spoke about Oklahoma Baptist University's new programs and had discussions with Commissioners. Dr. Fiegener made a motion to approve the new programs for Oklahoma Baptist University. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Page 2 of 4

Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve

**Discussion and action on new program for Oral Roberts University:** Dr. Kim Boyd spoke about Oral Roberts University's new program and had discussions with the Commissioners. Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the new program for Oral Roberts University. Dr. Fiegener seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve

**Discussion and action on approval of the OSAT Master's Comparability Review:** Mrs. Susan Pinson and Dr. Megan Oftedal spoke about the OSAT Master's Comparability Review and had discussions with the commissioners. Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the OSAT Master's comparability reviews. Secretary Sanders seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve

**Discussion and action on approval of Southeastern Oklahoma State University contract for National Board:** Dr. Megan Oftedal spoke about Southeastern Oklahoma State University contract for National Board and had discussions with the Commissioners. Secretary Sanders made a motion to approve the contract for Southeastern Oklahoma State University for National Board. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve

**Discussion and action for PCard approval:** Dr. Megan Oftedal spoke about her PCard transactions and had discussions with the Commissioners. Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the PCard transactions as presented. Secretary Sanders seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve

The meeting adjourned at 3:28 p.m. The minutes of the March 13th, 2024, regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on May 8, 2024.

Signed:

Mrs. Nellie Sanders Secretary of Education Dr. Megan Oftedal, OEQA Executive Director

Page 4 of 4