KNOW THE LAW

Don't give people under 21 a place to drink

What is a social host?

Any person who provides
the location for people under
21 to drink alcohol.

It’s the Law

Oklahoma’s Social Host law means it’s up to you
to make sure kids don’t drink in your home or on
your property. The law is clear: If kids under age
21 are drinking alcohol at a gathering, and you're
providing the location for that gathering, you're
responsible — whether you’re an adult or a minor,
and whether you rent, own, or simply provide
the location. Fines for the first offense are up to
$500.

They’re All Our Kids

It’s unthinkable to imagine your child in a drunk-
driving crash, a fight, engaging in risky sexual
activity or any incident caused by underage
drinking. And there’s no doubt you’'d do anything
in your power to keep that from happening.

But would it be acceptable if something like
this happened to your child’s best friend? Your
nephew? Your neighbor’s kid? Any kid?

Of course it wouldn’t. That’s why it’s so important
that we do everything in our power to keep
alcohol away from kids. Because they’re all our
kids. They’re Oklahoma’s kids. And Oklahomans
look out for their own.
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Oklahoma’s Social Host Law:

* Property Owners are Accountable. If people under 21 are
gathered and drinking on private property, the person who
provides the location is considered the Social Host, and will be
held accountable.

* Accountability Goes Beyond the Party. A “Social Host” can be a
minor or adult and does not have to be physically present or the
actual property owner.

* Fines are Immediate. Social Host violations carry a first-time fine
of up to $500.

* Adults and Minors are Accountable. If someone is injured or
killed because of a Social Host violation, you can be charged
with a felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine up
to $2,500.

 Repeat Offenders Can go to Prison. Fines increase with
additional violations — three strikes gets you a felony conviction
with up to 5 years in prison and a fine up to $2,500.

WHO HOST
STAND TO"

Don’t give people under 21 a place to drink.

www.oklahomasocialhost.com



