## Joint Meeting of the Oklahoma Child Death Review Board and The Domestic Violence Fatality Review Board

# **REGULAR MEETING**

## MINUTES January 24, 2024 9:00 am

**CDRB MEMBERS PRESENT:** Angela Beatty, Misty Baldwin for Ryan Brown, Jennifer Laizure for Ellen Buettner, Lori Essary, Keith Pirtle for Annette Jacobi, Nikki Kinsler, Tom Lane, Joyce Marshall, Cindy Nocton, Eric Pfeifer, Jacqueline Gillespie for Keith Reed, Susan Schmidt, Jolianne Stone, Brandi Woods-Littlejohn for Tracy Wendling

One designee was also present but was not counted towards quorum at the time of roll call due to the primary designee being present. This included Shannon Friedman for Nikki Kinsler.

**DVFRB MEMBERS PRESENT:** Jarred Michalski (OCME), Karen Cunningham (OAG), Brandie Combs (OSDH), Emily Nicholls (OSDH-IPS), Marissa Belase (DHS), Beth Green (OSBI), Melanie Ferguson (ODMHSAS), Constanzia Nizza (OJA), Don Sweger (OACP), Julie Goree (OBA), Laura Thomas (DAC), Janice Carr (ONA), Angela Beatty (OCADVSA), Brandon Pasley (OCADVSA); Shelly Harrison (NAAV).

Three alternate designees were also present but were not counted towards quorum at the time of roll call due to the primary designee being present. These included Melissa Van Duyne (OAG), Heather Cropper (OSBI), and Natasha Ferguson (OJA).

**STAFF:** Anthony Hernández Rivera (DVFRB PM), Nicholas Massey (DVFRB RA), Elizabeth Kaup (CDRB), Joseph McGrath (CDRB), and Elly Kohs (CDRB).

- I. Call to Order, quorum check, Oklahoma Child Death Review Board CDRB Chair Susan Schmidt called the meeting to order at 9:18 am. Quorum was achieved with 14 members present.
- **II. Call to Order, quorum check, Oklahoma Domestic Violence Fatality Review Board** DVFRB Chair Brandon Pasley called the meeting to order at 9:19 am. Quorum was achieved with 15 members present.
- **III. Review and Approval of the Minutes from the July 20, 2023 Joint Meeting** CDRB member Angela Beatty made a motion at 9:25 to approve the July 20, 2023 joint meeting minutes of the Domestic Violence Fatality Review Board and the Child Death Review Board. The motion was seconded by CDRB member Joyce Marshall.

Angela Beatty	Yes
Misty Baldwin	Yes
Jennifer Laizure	Yes
Lorri Essary	Yes
Keith Pirtle	Yes
Nikki Kinsler	Yes
Tom Lane	Yes
Joyce Marshall	Abstain
Cindy Nocton	Abstain
Eric Pfeifer	Abstain
Jacqueline Gillespie	Yes
Susan Schmidt	Yes
Jolianne Stone	Yes
Brandi Woods-Littlejohn	Yes

Motion passed

DVFRB member Shelly Harrison (NAAV) made a motion at 9:26 to approve the July 20, 2023 joint meeting minutes of the Domestic Violence Fatality Review Board and the Child Death Review Board. The motion was seconded by DVFRB member Melanie Ferguson (ODMHSAS).

Jarred Michalski (OCME)	Abstain
Karen Cunningham (OAG)	Abstain
Brandie Combs (OSDH)	Abstain
Emily Nicholls (OSDH-IPS)	Abstain
Marissa Belase (DHS)	Yes
Beth Green (OSBI)	Abstain
Melanie Ferguson (ODMHSAS)	Yes
Constanzia Nizza (OJA)	Abstain
Don Sweger (OACP)	Abstain
Julie Goree (OBA)	Abstain
Laura Thomas (DAC)	Yes
Janice Carr (ONA)	Abstain
Angela Beatty (OCADVSA)	Yes
Brandon Pasley (OCADVSA)	Abstain
Shelly Harrison (NAAV)	Yes

Motion passed

# IV. Consideration of Motion to Adjourn to Executive Session for the Purpose of Case Review (pursuant to 25 O.S. sec. 307 (C)(8)) and 22 O.S. § 1601)

CDRB member Brandi Woods-Littlejohn made a motion at 9:28 am to move into Executive Session. The motion was seconded by CDRB member Jolianne Stone.

Angela Beatty	Yes
Misty Baldwin	Yes
Jennifer Laizure	Yes
Lorri Essary	Yes
Keith Pirtle	Yes
Nikki Kinsler	Yes
Tom Lane	Yes
Joyce Marshall	Yes
Cindy Nocton	Yes
Eric Pfeifer	Yes
Jacqueline Gillespie	Yes
Susan Schmidt	Yes
Jolianne Stone	Yes
Brandi Woods-Littlejohn	Yes

Motion passed

DVFRB member Beth Green made a motion at 9:30 am to move into Executive Session. The motion was seconded by DVFRB member Emily Nicholls (OSDH-IPS).

Jarred Michalski (OCME)	Yes	
Karen Cunningham (OAG)	Yes	
Brandie Combs (OSDH)	Yes	
Emily Nicholls (OSDH-IPS)	Yes	
Marissa Belase (DHS)	Yes	
Beth Green (OSBI)	Yes	
Melanie Ferguson (ODMHSAS)	Yes	
Constanzia Nizza (OJA)	Yes	
Don Sweger (OACP)	Yes	
Julie Goree (OBA)	Yes	
Laura Thomas (DAC)	Yes	
Janice Carr (ONA)	Yes	
Angela Beatty (OCADVSA)	Yes	
Brandon Pasley (OCADVSA)	Yes	
Shelly Harrison (NAAV)	Yes	
Motion passed		

Staff of both Boards were present for Executive Session. Quorum was maintained throughout executive session.

- i. Continued review and discussion on joint case 220086 (DVFRB)/22-B-37-03-2023-00001, 22-B-37-03-2023-00002 and 22-B-37-03-2023-00003
- ii. New review and discussion on joint case 21007 (DVFRB)/21-B-37-03-2024-00001, 21-B-37-03-2024-00002 (CDRB)
- iii. New review and discussion on joint case 210015 (DVFRB)/21-B-37-03-2024-00003 (CDRB)
- iv. Consideration to exit from executive session and return to regular meeting agenda. (DVFRB)

The DVFRB exited executive session at 11:52 am.

## V. Approval to Return to Open Session (CDRB)

CDRB member Brandi Woods-Littlejohn made a motion at 11:51 am to return to open session. The motion was seconded by CDRB member Tom Lane.

Angela Beatty	Yes
Misty Baldwin	Yes
Jennifer Laizure	Yes
Lorri Essary	Yes
Keith Pirtle	Yes
Nikki Kinsler	Yes
Tom Lane	Yes
Joyce Marshall	Yes
Cindy Nocton	Yes
Eric Pfeifer	Yes
Jacqueline Gillespie	Yes
Susan Schmidt	Yes
Jolianne Stone	Yes
Brandi Woods-Littlejohn	Yes

Motion passed

VI. Announcement by DVFRB Chair as to the necessity of any Board action as a result of Executive Session. Vote as a result of Executive Session.

Beth Green (OSBI) made a motion for both boards to send a letter to an agency associated with DVFRB case 220086. Angela Beatty (OCADVSA) seconded the motion.

VII. Announcement by CDRB Chair as to the necessity of any Board action as a result Executive Session. Vote as a result of Executive Session.

Brandi Woods-Littlejohn made a motion at 11:54 am for both boards to send a letter to an agency associated with CDRB cases 22-B-37-03-2023-00001, 22-B-37-03-2023-00002, and 22-B-37-03-2023-00003. Motion seconded by Joyce Marshall.

VIII. New Business Not Known or Which Could Not have Been Reasonable Foreseen Before the Posting of the Agenda in Accordance with 25 O.S. § 311(9) There was no new business.

### IX. Adjournment – DVFRB

Beth Green (OSBI) made a motion to adjourn at 11:55 am. Emily Nicholls (OSDH-IPS) seconded the motion.

### X. Adjournment – CDRB

Brandi Woods-Littlejohn made a motion to adjourn at 11:56 am. Joyce Marshall seconded the motion.