Oklahoma Board of Nursing

2501 N. Lincoln Blvd., Ste. 207 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 962-1800

http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing

Instructions for *MULTISTATE* Licensure by Endorsement for Nurses Educated in the United States

Per 59 O.S. § 4100.8, if you are active duty military personnel or the spouse of an active duty military personnel who has received orders or notice for military transfer or honorable discharge to this state, there is NO fee required to submit this application. Please see the "Military Personnel" section for more information.

Application Fee = \$150.00

If a temporary license is requested – Add \$10.00

(Please note a temporary license ONLY allows for practice in Oklahoma, 14 d

(Please note a temporary license ONLY allows for practice in Oklahoma. It does NOT offer multistate temporary privileges)

Use this application if you:

- Are licensed in another state or U.S. territory that is a member board jurisdiction of National Council of State Boards of Nursing; and
- Were originally educated in and graduated from a nursing program approved by a member board jurisdiction in the United States or U.S. Territory; and
- Have not previously held a license (at the same level) in Oklahoma; and
- Want to endorse your license into Oklahoma as a multistate license.

PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY <u>BEFORE</u> COMPLETING THE APPLICATION. Pursuant to 485:10-1-3 (b) (2): **REFUNDS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED**FOR SUBMISSION OF AN INCORRECT APPLICATION

Forms referenced can be found in the Forms/Applications area on the Board's website located at this link: www.oklahoma.gov/nursing/applications.html

An applicant for licensure as a Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse who meets certain requirements is eligible to apply for multistate licensure. Once the Board grants the multistate license, the nurse can then engage in nursing practice in any of the Nurse Licensure Compact states without having to obtain additional licenses. A list of states participating in the Nurse Licensure Compact is available at: https://nursecompact.com/

Do not submit this application unless you declare Oklahoma as your primary state of residence; otherwise, Board staff will not proceed with review of your application.

Form RS-51 1 4/28/2023

Not all applicants will be eligible for a multistate license. In order to be eligible, the applicant must submit an application, pay a fee, submit fingerprints for a federal criminal background check, and meet the requirements listed in the following section.

Your application for a multistate license will be reviewed to determine if you meet the criteria for issuance of a multistate license. If you **do not meet** the criteria for a multistate license but you **do meet** the criteria for a single-state license, this application can be converted to an application for a single-state Oklahoma license, if you check the "YES" box in the application. Please note that if you do not meet the criteria for a multistate license and you check the "NO" box, indicating you do not want your application converted to a single-state Oklahoma license, **your application fee will not be refunded.**

REQUIREMENTS FOR MULTISTATE LICENSURE IN OKLAHOMA

Age: The applicant for licensure must be a minimum of eighteen (18) years of age.

Verification of citizenship status: State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a license only to U.S. citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens; and to qualified alien applicants who present, *in person*, valid documentary evidence of:

- 1. A valid, unexpired immigrant or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.;
- 2. A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.;
- 3. Admission into the U.S. in refugee status;
- 4. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.;
- 5. Approved deferred action status; or
- 6. A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or conditional resident status.

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive a license that is valid for the time period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to the time period of their authorized stay, for one year. The license is required to indicate that it is temporary. The information will be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) Program, operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

<u>Graduation</u> from a state Board-approved program of registered or practical nursing: You must be a <u>graduate</u> of a state Board-approved program of registered or practical nursing. An official transcript from the nursing education program must be submitted directly from the nursing education program. The transcript must show the diploma or degree and the date conferred. The transcript must be obtained from an entity approved and recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a primary source for providing education transcripts. The nursing education program you attended must have included theory and clinical experience in the following areas:

- Care of the adult
- Care of children
- Maternal-newborn nursing
- Psychiatric-mental health nursing (Exception: psychiatric clinical experience is not required for practical nurse applicants)

Graduates of Excelsior College and other non-traditional programs are encouraged to contact the Oklahoma Board of Nursing prior to submitting an application for licensure by endorsement.

Completion of the licensure examination: In order to be eligible for licensure by endorsement, the Registered Nurse must be licensed by exam as follows:

- a. After February 1, 1989: by achieving a score of "PASSED" on the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN), OR
- b. Between July 1, 1982, and February 1, 1989: by passing the NCLEX-RN with a score of at least 1600, OR
- c. Between January 1, 1952, and July 1, 1982: by passing the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE) for registered nurse licensure in medical nursing, surgical nursing, obstetrical nursing, nursing of children and psychiatric nursing with a score of 350 or more in each subject,
- d. Canadian nurses originally licensed by exam in the following provinces in the years indicated: Alberta 1952-70; British Columbia 1949-70; Manitoba 1955-70; Newfoundland 1961-70; Nova Scotia 1955-70; Prince Edward Island 1956-70; Quebec (*English language*) 1959-70; and Saskatchewan 1956-70.

RN licensure by the following exams is <u>not recognized</u>: New Mexico 1974; Puerto Rico prior to 1976 or after August, 2006; Puerto Rico-Spanish language version exam any year; Alaska prior to 1954; Virgin Islands prior to 1964; Guam prior to 1969; any state constructed examination; any foreign exam.

• Any RN originally licensed by any of these exams must write and pass the licensing examination adopted by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.

In order to be eligible for licensure by endorsement, the Licensed Practical Nurse must be licensed by exam as follows:

- a. LPNs who were licensed between July 1, 1954, and October 1, 1988, must have passed the examination adopted by the Board for practical nurse licensure achieving a standard score of 350 on either the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE) for licensed practical nurse licensure or the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-PN).
- b. LPNs licensed since October 1, 1988, must have achieved a score of "PASSED" on the NCLEX-PN.

LPN licensure by the following exams is <u>not recognized</u>: California- May 1974 through September 1986; Texas prior to 1969; Puerto Rico prior to 1976 or after August 1, 2006; Puerto Rico-Spanish language version exam any year; any foreign exam.

• Any LPN originally licensed by any of these exams must write and pass the licensing examination adopted by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.

Verification of licensure from the original state of licensure: A verification of licensure status, graduation from an approved nursing education program and degree received, and completion of the licensing examination must be submitted by your original state of licensure. If education information is not provided by the state, an official transcript will be required.

- To avoid delays, you may request that an official transcript be sent directly to the Board office.
- If disciplinary action has been taken, approval of the Board may be required.

Submission of evidence of continuing qualifications for practice: You must upload evidence of continued qualifications for practice through completion of one of the following requirements within the last five years prior to receipt of the completed application in the Board office:

- a. Submission of an official transcript or certificate of completion verifying completion of a nurse refresher course approved by the Board (see list of approved refresher courses on website: http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing/education-program-types.html); or
- b. Successfully passing the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered or Practical Nurses; or
- c. Cause submission of an official transcript, , provided by an entity approved and recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a primary source for providing education transcripts, verifying successful completion of at least six academic semester credit hours (or 105 contact hours) of nursing courses which include classroom and clinical instruction; or
- d. Upload an *Employment Verification Form* and an accompanying job description that provides evidence of licensure in another state, territory or country and employment in a position requiring nursing licensure with verification of at least 520 work hours during the past five years. **This form must be signed by the employer**; or,
- e. Upload evidence of completing at least 24 contact hours of continuing education applicable to nursing practice; or
- f. Upload current certification in a nursing specialty area.

Applicants for endorsement who took the NCLEX examination for initial licensure within the last two years must:

- a. provide evidence of completion of the nursing education program within two years of initial application for licensure by examination; or
- b. upload verification through an *Employment Verification Form* or at least six months work experience in the state, U.S. territory, or country of licensure; or
- c. Successfully complete a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the Board's policy; or
- d. successfully complete nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical experience in a board-approved nursing education program at the appropriate educational level, to include at least 80 hours in classroom and skills laboratory review and at least 80 hours participating in patient care activities in the clinical setting.

Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, judicial declaration of incompetence, or alternative program: State law (59 O.S. § 567.18.B.) requires each applicant for licensure to have a fingerprint-based background check not more than ninety (90) days old at the time of submission of the application for licensure. The background check consists of fingerprint-based searches of the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Criminal History Record Information databases and name index searches of computerized databases containing criminal history records. Please see the specific "Instructions" section for further information on obtaining a fingerprint-based criminal background check. Please also read the *Privacy Act and Applicant Notification* found in the appendix to this set of application instructions.

In addition to the background check, applicants for licensure who have ever been summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter; or have ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country; or have ever been judicially declared incompetent; or are currently participating in an alternative to discipline program in any state, territory, or country are required to provide a report in writing to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing. A "report in writing" means that the applicant/licensee provides a signed and dated description stating in his/her own words the date, location, and circumstances of the incident, and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, or disciplinary board. The report should be in the form of a letter or a statement in the provided space on the application. The report must be accompanied by certified court records or a board order, as described below. A verbal report does not constitute a "report in writing". A written report not accompanied by a full set of certified court records or the board order(s) does not constitute a "report in writing". Failure to report such action is a violation of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.

An applicant for a license to practice as a Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse must submit to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing "certified written evidence that the applicant has never been convicted of a felony crime that substantially relates to the occupation of nursing and poses a reasonable threat to public safety" [59 O.S. § § 567.5, 567.6].

NOTE: An applicant for licensure in Oklahoma who has been convicted or found guilty, or entered into an agreed disposition, of a felony offense is not eligible for a multistate license.

Military Personnel:

Per 59 O.S. § 4100.8, if you are an active duty military personnel or the spouse of an active duty military personnel who has received orders or notice for military transfer or honorable discharge to this state, please upload a copy of the United States Uniformed Services Identification and Privilege Card and a copy of the military member's Permanent Change of Station (PCS) orders. No application fee is required. Following confirmation that you hold a valid license in another state that is in good standing and reasonably equivalent to the requirements of this state, a temporary license will be granted within 30 days.

If you are relocating to this state pursuant to your spouse's official military orders and you have not worked 520 or more hours in a licensed position in a state in which you were actively licensed within the past five years, state law [O.S. 59 § 567.11(8)] allows you to practice nursing **only in the state of Oklahoma** for one hundred twenty days (120) <u>after</u> submission of an application and fees for licensure to the Board, provided that you:

- have an active, unencumbered license from another state or territory;
- have no health-related license in a disciplinary status; and
- furnish to the employer satisfactory evidence of current, unencumbered licensure in another state or territory.

If this applies to you, please upload evidence of current unencumbered licensure in another state or territory and a copy of your spouse's official military orders with your application.

Requirements specific to multistate licensure: In order to be eligible for a multistate license, the applicant must meet the following requirements:

- 1. Meets Oklahoma's qualifications for licensure or renewal of licensure, as well as all other applicable state laws;
- 2. Has <u>graduated</u> or is eligible to graduate from a licensing-board-approved RN or LPN/VN prelicensure education program:

OR

Has graduated from a foreign RN or LPN/VN pre-licensure education program that:

- a. has been approved by the authorized accrediting body in the applicable country and
- b. has been verified by an independent credentials review agency to be comparable to a licensing-board-approved pre-licensure education program;
- 3. Has successfully passed an English proficiency examination that includes the components of reading, speaking, writing and listening; if a graduate of a foreign pre-licensure education program not taught in English or if English is not the individual's native language;
- 4. Has successfully passed an NCLEX-RN© or NCLEX-PN© Examination or State Board Test Pool Examination, as applicable;
- 5. Is eligible for or holds an active, unencumbered license;
- 6. Has submitted, in connection with an application for initial licensure or licensure by endorsement, fingerprints or other biometric data for the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations;
- 7. Has not been convicted or found guilty, or entered into an agreed disposition, of a felony offense under applicable state or federal criminal law;
- 8. Has not been convicted or found guilty, or entered into an agreed disposition, of a misdemeanor offense related to the practice of nursing as determined on a case-by-case basis;
- 9. Is not currently enrolled in an alternative program;
- 10. Is subject to self-disclosure requirements regarding current participation in an alternative program;
- 11. Has a valid United States Social Security number; and
- 12. Declares Oklahoma as the primary state of residence.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION

- 1. **Completion of application**: The application should be completed and submitted online via your Nurse Portal account found on the Board's home page. You must complete all modules of the application with your **full legal name**. Your legal name is the name on your birth certificate plus any additional legal name changes. Please indicate "NMN" if you do not have a middle name. **You must provide a Social Security number on the application**. This information is mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A, for administration of the tax laws of the State of Oklahoma and 59 O.S. §567.21 for the issuance of a multistate license.
- 2. *Citizenship:* All applicants for licensure must upload the appropriate notarized *Evidence of Status* form.

If you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or legal permanent resident alien, you must upload a photocopy of one of the documents listed under "Acceptable Documents to Establish Evidence of Citizenship" on the *Evidence of Status Part A Form*.

According to State law, **if you are a qualified alien, you must bring in person** the *Evidence of Status Form* to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing office, along with the original documents that support your qualified alien status, as shown on the *Evidence of Status Part B Form*. At the Board office, a staff member will copy your qualified alien status documentation and will notarize the *Evidence of Status Form*.

- 3. **Background Check:** Each applicant must provide fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state and national criminal history records search through the OSBI and FBI. The Oklahoma Board of Nursing is not authorized to receive criminal history record information prior to receiving an application; therefore, you will receive information on obtaining a fingerprint-based background check in the Message Center of your Nurse Portal account after your application has been successfully submitted. In the event that you submit an incorrect application and fingerprints are collected and submitted following the submission of the incorrect application, note that the criminal history records search must be conducted through the Board's vendor, IDEMIA no more than (90) days prior to receipt of the application in the Board office. The results of the search are provided directly to the Board office by the OSBI usually within one to two weeks. Please read the *Privacy Act Statement and Applicant Notification* found in the Appendix to this set of instructions. Procedures for changing, correcting or updating OSBI and/or FBI results are set forth in Title 28, C.F.R., §16.34 and will be furnished as needed.
- 4. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental Incompetence: If you answer "yes" to the criminal charge, discipline, or competency questions on the application, you must write a statement in the available space on the application form, describing the date, location and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting action taken by the court or disciplinary board. If you have more than one incident you are reporting, you must speak to every case/charge that has been filed. In addition, you will be required to upload certified copies of identified documents.

Form RS-51 7 4/28/2023

- (A) Have you ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, recognition, certificate, or privilege to practice; any professional or occupational license, recognition, or certificate; and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, recognition, or certificate in any state, territory or country not previously reported **in writing** to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing?"
 - a. If you answered "yes", you must type in the space available a statement describing the date, location, and circumstances of the incident(s), and, if applicable, the resulting action(s) taken by the disciplinary board.
 - b. If you are reporting more than one incident, you must describe every case that has been filed.
 - c. You will need to upload certified copies of the charges/complaints, findings of fact, and orders from the licensing agency.
- (B) Is there currently any investigation of your nursing license, recognition, certificate, or privilege to practice; and/or any professional or occupational license, recognition, or certificate; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, recognition, or certificate in any state, territory or country not previously reported **in writing** to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing?
 - a. If you answered "yes", you must type in the space available a statement describing the date, location, and circumstances of the incident(s), and, if applicable, the resulting action(s) taken by the disciplinary board.
 - b. If you are reporting more than one incident, you must describe every case that has been filed.

| (C) Have you been charged and/or convicted in any criminal offense not previously reported | in |
|--|----|
| writing to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing, including those pending appeal? (You may exclude | de |
| minor traffic violations, but must report all DUI/DWI charges and/or DUI/DWI convictions) | |
| Check all that apply: | |

| Check an that appry. |
|--|
| [] been convicted of a misdemeanor? |
| [] been convicted of a felony? |
| [] pled nolo contendre, no contest, or guilty? |
| [] received deferred adjudication, to include but not limited to deferred prosecution |
| agreement? |
| [] been placed on community supervision or court-ordered probation, whether or not adjudicated guilt? |
| been sentenced to serve jail or prison time? Court-ordered confinement? |
| been granted pre-trial diversion, to include but not limited to Drug Court? |
| [] have any pending criminal charges? |
| have any pending violation of the law? |
| been subject of a court-martial; Article 15 violation; or received any form of military |
| judgment/punishment/action? |
| No, none of the above applies. |

NOTE: Expunged and Sealed Offenses: While expunged or sealed offense, arrests, tickets, or citations need not be disclosed, it is your responsibility to ensure the offense, arrest, ticket or citation has, in fact, been expunged or sealed. It is recommended that you submit a copy of the Court Order expunging or sealing the record in question to our office with your application. Non-disclosure of relevant offenses raises questions related to truthfulness and character.

- (D) If you checked any of the above (except "No, none of the above applies"):
 - a. If you answered "yes", you must type in the space available a statement describing the date, location, and circumstances of the incident(s), and, if applicable, the resulting action(s) taken by the court.
 - b. If you are reporting more than one incident, you must describe every case that has been filed.
 - c. You will need to upload <u>certified</u> copies of Court Records to include the Information Sheet, Incident Report, Complaint, and/or Charges; Affidavit of Probable Cause; Judgment and Sentence; and verification of completion of the Judgment and Sentence. The Court Records must be obtained from the Court(s) in which the offense(s) occurred.
- (E) Have you ever been judicially declared incompetent in any state, territory or country not previously reported **in writing** to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing?
 - a. If you answered "yes", you must type in the space available a statement describing the date, location, and circumstances of the incident(s), and, if applicable, the resulting action(s) taken by the court or agency. If you are reporting more than one incident, you must describe every case that has been filed.
 - b. You will need to upload a <u>certified</u> copy of the Court Order.
- (F) Have you ever submitted a petition for a Determination of Eligibility to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing?
- 5. **Declaration of primary state of residence:** In order to be eligible to obtain a multistate license from the State of Oklahoma, you must declare Oklahoma as your primary state of residence. If you do not have a current Oklahoma mailing address, you must upload a legible, color copy of one of the following documents:
 - a. Driver's license with a home address;
 - b. Voter registration card displaying a home address;
 - c. Federal income tax return declaring the primary state of residence;
 - d. Military Form No. 2058 (state of legal residence certificate); and/or
 - e. W2 from US Government or any bureau, division or agency thereof indicating the state of residence.

If you do not have one of these documents, please contact the Board office for further direction regarding the processing of your application.

- 6. **Fee:** You must pay the application fee online, using a VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer when completing the application online in the Nurse Portal link. Fees submitted are not refundable. If you meet either military personnel options listed in the Military Personnel section above, a fee is not required.
- 7. **Temporary License:** To request a temporary **single-state** license which is valid for 90 days, check the box in the application where you may request for a temporary license. Please note that the temporary license shall NOT grant multistate licensure privileges.

Requirements for a temporary license include:

• A completed application form;

- Fee for endorsement and for the temporary license;
- Proof of current unrestricted licensure in another state, territory or country with no history of arrest or disciplinary action requiring further review;
- Verification of licensure, completion of a board-approved nursing education program
 meeting the educational standards established by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing and
 degree received, and passing the licensure examination, received from your original state
 of licensure:
- Demonstrating evidence of meeting continued qualifications for practice within the last five (5) years prior to receipt of the completed application; and
- Submission of fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state and national criminal background search.

A temporary license will not be issued to anyone who has had a history of arrest, criminal charges, adjudication of incompetence, or disciplinary action; or who will be required to take the NCLEX exam or meet additional requirements for continuing qualifications for practice prior to licensure in Oklahoma. A temporary license will not be issued if the application is complete.

- 8. **Name Change:** If you have been licensed with this Board under a different name, you must complete a *Name Change Request* found in the <u>Other Applications link</u> on your Nurse Portal page, upload a certified copy of the legal document changing your name and submit the required fee in order to be licensed under your new name.
- 9. *Interstate Verification:* Verification of licensure status, completion of a board-approved nursing program, degree received and date of conferral, and completion of the licensure examination from your <u>original state of licensure</u> are required. This verification must come in written form directly from the Board of Nursing in the original state of licensure or from the Nursys system at the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. Please note that each state or Nursys will charge a fee for this verification. Contact your state of original licensure or log on to <u>www.nursys.com</u> for information on the procedure and fees.
 - If your original state of licensure is not listed on the Nursys site, you must contact your original state directly.
 - If your state does not fully verify your nursing education, the Board will request that an official transcript be submitted to this office directly from the nursing program.
 - O To prevent possible delays, you may wish to request a transcript be sent from the nursing program directly to the Board office.
- 10. Verification of continuing qualifications for practice: If you have worked at the same level of licensure for which you are applying for a minimum of 520 hours in the last five years, please upload an *Employment Verification Form* signed by your employer and job description indicating a nursing license is required for that position(s). Each employer providing verification must complete and submit a separate *Form*.
 - Please note that this *Form* must be completed and signed by an administrator/supervisor at the place of employment or by an authorized individual in the Human Resources Department

If you have not practiced as a licensed nurse for at least 520 hours in the last five years prior to applying for licensure by endorsement, an official transcript or certificate of completion for a refresher course approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing or an official transcript documenting hours earned in a board-approved nursing education program must be sent directly to this Board from the program. A list of Board-approved refresher courses is available on the Board's website: http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing/education-program-types.html

If you have not worked, completed a board-approved refresher course, or completed hours in a nursing education program, you may upload evidence of completion of at least 24 contact hours of continuing education applicable to nursing practice, upload verification of current certification in a nursing specialty OR please note on the application that you wish to re-take the NCLEX examination to establish continuing qualifications for practice. Board staff will then assist you with registration for the NCLEX examination.

If you took the NCLEX within the last two years, your state of original licensure must provide evidence that you graduated from your nursing education program within the two years prior to taking the NCLEX. Otherwise, you must provide evidence of at least six months of work experience as a licensed nurse in the state, US territory or country of licensure at the level of licensure for which you are applying, or evidence of successful completion of a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the Board's policy or nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical experience in a board-approved nursing education program at the appropriate educational level, to include at least 80 hours in classroom and skills laboratory review and at least 80 hours participating in patient care activities in the clinical setting.

GENERAL INFORMATION

The Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act requires you to obtain a dated Oklahoma temporary license or valid Oklahoma license **prior** to employment in nursing in Oklahoma. This requirement does not apply to nurses practicing in certain federal facilities (contact the federal facility regarding its requirements for licensure).

You must obtain a temporary/permanent license before orienting or working in a position requiring a nursing license.

Issuance of a temporary license does not guarantee you will qualify for permanent licensure in Oklahoma.

All applications are reviewed in the order they are received. You may view average processing times of a completed application on our website at: http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing/agency-data-and-reports.html. To check on the status of your application, visit the Nurse Portal. If further review is required, the processing time may be lengthened. Every effort is made to process applications expeditiously.

Once licensed, the License Verification Portal https://okbn.boardsofnursing.org/licenselookup on the Board's website will be the first place your new license will be noted.

Registered Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee's birth month in even-numbered years, and Licensed Practical Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee's birth month in odd-numbered years following the date of issuance. The application fee includes the processing of your application and licensure through the current renewal period. Fees are not pro-rated and are non-refundable.

If you are an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (Certified Nurse Practitioner-CNP; Clinical Nurse Specialist-CNS; Certified Nurse Midwife-CNM; or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist-CRNA), you may not practice in Oklahoma as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse until you have a current Oklahoma license to practice as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse. You will find the application for licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse in your Nurse Portal on the Board's home page.

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. § 567.7.E), the Executive Director shall suspend the license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named. The suspension becomes effective ten (10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and the impending suspension to the person's address on file. Upon notification of suspension, the person may reinstate the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and any and all costs associated with notice and collection. The suspension shall be exempt from the Administrative Procedures Act.

COMMON MISTAKES THAT DELAY PROCESSING

- Failing to provide the full legal name (with the notation "NMN" if there is no middle name)
- > Failing to submit fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state and national criminal background search
- > Failing to upload the employer-signed *Employment Verification Form* to verify 520 hours work experience in the past five years as needed
- Failing to upload a notarized *Evidence of Status Form* and supporting documentation
- Failing to write in the space available for each question a complete description and <u>upload</u> certified copies of documentation regarding history of criminal charges, disciplinary action, judicial declaration of incompetence or participation in state Board designee monitoring program

Appendix

Privacy Act Statement and Applicant Notification

Authority: The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Public Law 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or other responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.

Applicant Record Challenge: Before a final decision is made, you have the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification record. The procedure for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an FBI identification record is set forth in Title 28, CFR 16.34. For information on updating the national criminal history record, visit www.FBI.gov.

If certified documents are obtained for the purpose of updating your criminal history record, the documents should be forwarded to the FBI and to the repository in the state where the arrest occurred.