Oklahoma Board of Nursing

2501 N Lincoln Blvd., Ste 207 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 962-1800

http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing

INSTRUCTIONS for LICENSURE by ENDORSEMENT of NURSES EDUCATED OUTSIDE the UNITED STATES

Application Fee - \$125.00 (Endorsement \$85.00 + Education Equivalence Evaluation <math>\$40.00) If a temporary license is requested – Add \$10.00

Per 59 O.S. § 4100.8, if you are active duty military personnel or the spouse of an active duty military personnel who has received orders or notice for military transfer or honorable discharge to this state, there is NO fee required to submit this application. Please see the "Military Personnel" section for more information.

Use this application if you:

- Were <u>originally</u> educated in and graduated from a nursing program in a country outside the United States and U.S. territories; and
- Were originally licensed in a country outside the United States and U.S. territories; and
- Have not previously held a license (at the same level) in Oklahoma; and
- Want to endorse your license into Oklahoma as a single-state license.

Please note that an applicant educated in a U.S. territory not recognized as a full member of National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) must meet the requirements for applicants educated in foreign countries. An applicant educated in a U.S. territory that is a full member of NCSBN but in a nursing education program not included on the NCSBN state-approved programs of nursing list at the time of the applicant's graduation from the program must meet the requirements for applicants educated in foreign countries.

You are submitting an application for a single-state Oklahoma license. A single-state Oklahoma license will allow you to practice nursing in Oklahoma only. To apply for a multistate license, you must submit the Application for Multistate Licensure by Endorsement for Nurses Educated Outside the United States.

PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY

<u>BEFORE</u> COMPLETING THE APPLICATION.

Pursuant to 485:10-1-3 (b) (2): REFUNDS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED

FOR SUBMISSION OF AN INCORRECT APPLICATION

Forms referenced can be found in the Forms/Applications area on the Board's website located at this link: www.oklahoma.gov/nursing/applications.html

Form RS-05 1 10/5/2023

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE IN OKLAHOMA

Age: The applicant for AUA certification must be a minimum of eighteen (18) years of age.

Verification of citizenship status: State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a certificate only to U.S. citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens; and qualified alien applicants who present, *in person*, valid documentary evidence of:

- 1) A valid, unexpired immigrant or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.;
- 2) A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.;
- 3) Admission into the U.S. in refugee status;
- 4) A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.;
- 5) Approved deferred action status; or
- 6) A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or conditional resident status.

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive certification that is valid for the time period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to the time period of their authorized stay, for one year. The certification is required to indicate that it is temporary. The information will be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) Program, operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Graduation from a government-approved program of registered or practical nursing: You must be a graduate of a government-approved post-secondary program of registered or practical nursing, as verified by the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS)* or Josef Silny & Associates, Inc., International Education Consultants (JS&A)*. A translated transcript from the nursing education program with certified proof of translation <u>must be provided by CGFNS, JS&A or directly from the nursing education program.</u> The nursing education program you attended **must have included theory and clinical experience in the following areas**:

- Care of the adult
- Care of children
- Maternal-newborn nursing
- Psychiatric-mental health nursing (Exception: psychiatric clinical experience is not required for practical nurse applicants)

An evaluation of educational requirements must be conducted by CGFNS* or JS&A*.

You may make arrangements to have <u>either</u> of the following credentials presented <u>directly to the</u> Oklahoma Board of Nursing from CGFNS:

- A Credentials Evaluation Service Professional Report completed by the Credentialing Evaluation Service of CGFNS, or
- A verification of your CGFNS Certificate or VisaScreen Certificate **AND** validation of your nursing education and professional registration/licensure (eDas report).

OR

You may make arrangements to have a foreign credential evaluation for state boards of nursing presented to this Board from JS&A.

If you have previously obtained a Healthcare Profession and Science Course by Course Report from the Credentialing Evaluation Service of CGFNS, and that report is still available for release by CGFNS, you may request that CGFNS provide a copy of that report directly to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.

Please see the *Instructions* section below for further information on obtaining the necessary documents from CGFNS or JS&A.

- Reports received from CGFNS and JS&A must have been completed within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date of application for licensure by endorsement.
- The five-year requirement is waived if the applicant holds a license in another state.

*The requirement for verification by CGFNS or JS&A is waived for applicants currently licensed in another state when the state validates that the credential review report was prepared by an independent credentials review agency.

Completion of the licensure examination: In order to be eligible for licensure by endorsement, the Registered Nurse must be licensed by exam as follows:

- a. After February 1, 1989: by achieving a score of "PASSED" on the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN), OR
- b. Between July 1, 1982, and February 1, 1989: by passing the NCLEX-RN with a score of at least 1600, OR
- c. Between January 1, 1952, and July 1, 1982: by passing the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE) for registered nurse licensure in medical nursing, surgical nursing, obstetrical nursing, nursing of children and psychiatric nursing with a score of 350 or more in each subject,
- d. Canadian nurses originally licensed by exam in the following provinces in the years indicated: Alberta 1952-70; British Columbia 1949-70; Manitoba 1955-70; Newfoundland 1961-70; Nova Scotia 1955-70; Prince Edward Island 1956-70; Quebec (*English language*) 1959-70; and Saskatchewan 1956-70.

RN licensure by the following exams is **not recognized:** New Mexico 1974; Puerto Rico prior to 1976 or after August, 2006; Puerto Rico-Spanish language version exam any year; Alaska prior to 1954; Virgin Islands prior to 1964; Guam prior to 1969; any state constructed examination; any foreign exam.

• Any nurse originally licensed by any of these exams must write and pass the licensing examination adopted by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.

In order to be eligible for licensure by endorsement, the Licensed Practical Nurse must be licensed by exam as follows:

- a. LPNs who were licensed between July 1, 1954, and October 1, 1988, must have passed the examination adopted by the Board for practical nurse licensure achieving a standard score of 350 on either the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE) for licensed practical nurse licensure or the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-PN).
- b. LPNs licensed since October 1, 1988, must have achieved a score of "PASSED" on the NCLEX-PN.

LPN licensure by the following exams is **not recognized**: California- May 1974 through September 1986; Texas prior to 1969; Puerto Rico prior to 1976 or after August 1, 2006; Puerto Rico-Spanish language version exam any year; any foreign exam.

• Any nurse originally licensed by any of these exams must write and pass the licensing examination adopted by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.

Verification of licensure in the country in which you graduated: You must hold a license or registration as required in the country in which you graduated from your nursing education program. Licensure or registration must be verified in the form of an official verification received directly from CGFNS* or JS&A*.

- If you are also licensed in another U.S. state or territory, your licensure status must also be verified by Nursys, if the state participates in Nursys, or from the Board in the state in which you were originally licensed.
- If disciplinary action has been taken, approval of the Board may be required.

Submission of evidence of continuing qualifications for practice: You must upload evidence of continued qualifications for practice through completion of one of the following requirements within the last five years prior to receipt of the application in the Board office:

- a. Cause Submission of an official transcript or certificate of completion verifying completion of a nurse refresher course approved by the Board (see list of approved refresher courses on website: http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing/education-program-types.html); or
- b. Successfully passing the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered or Practical Nurses; or
- c. Cause submission of an official transcript, provided by an entity approved and recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a primary source for providing education transcripts, verifying successful completion of at least six academic semester credit hours (or 105 contact hours) of nursing courses which include classroom and clinical instruction; or
- d. Upload an *Employment Verification Form* and an accompanying job description that provides evidence of licensure in another state, territory or country and employment in a position requiring nursing licensure with verification of at least 520 work hours during the past five (5) years. **This form must be signed by the employer.**
- e. Upload evidence of completing at least 24 contact hours of continuing education applicable to nursing practice; or
- f. Submit current certification in a nursing specialty area.

Applicants for endorsement who took the NCLEX examination for initial licensure <u>within the last two years</u> must:

- a. <u>Cause submission of evidence of completion of the nursing education program within two</u> years of initial application for licensure by examination; or
- b. Upload verification through an *Employment Verification Form* of at least six months work experience in the state, U.S. territory, or country of licensure; or
- c. Cause submission of evidence of successful <u>completion of</u> a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the Board's policy; or
- d. successfully complete nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical experience in a board-approved nursing education program at the appropriate educational level, to include at least 80 hours in classroom and skills laboratory review and at least 80 hours participating in patient care activities in the clinical setting.

Verification of English language competence: All foreign-educated applicants must submit verification of English language competence, with the exception of:

- a. graduates of nursing education programs taught in English in Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ireland, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Trinidad, Tobago, Jamaica, Barbados, South Africa and the United States,
- b. applicants who are licensed in another U.S. state or territory.

An original official copy of the scores must be received directly from the testing service or from CGFNS.

Verification of English language competence includes the following:

- a. Passing scores for Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL-iBT), offered by the Educational Testing Service; or
- b. Passing scores for Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC), to include the Listening and Reading Test and the Speaking and Writing Test, offered by the Educational Testing Service; or
- c. Passing scores for International English Language Testing System (IELTS); or
- d. Passing scores for the Michigan English Test- (MET)
- e. Passing scores for Pearson Test of English (PTE) Academic

Passing Scores Established for English Language Competency Testing:

<u>TEST</u>	<u>RN</u>	<u>LPN</u>
TOEIC Listening and Reading	725	700
Speaking and Writing	150	150
IELTS	6.5 (academic format)	6.0 (general training format)
	7.0 (spoken band)	7.0 (spoken band)
TOEFL-iBT	24 Speaking 81 Total	24 Speaking 77 Total
MELAB	55 Speaking 55 Total	55 Speaking 55 Total
PET	55 overall No section < 50	55 overall No section < 50

Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence:

State law (59 O.S. § 567.5 B 2.) requires each applicant for licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse to have a fingerprint-based background check not more than ninety (90) days old prior to submission of the application for licensure. The background check consists of fingerprint-based searches of the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Criminal History Record Information databases and name index searches of computerized databases containing criminal history records. Please read the *Privacy Act Statement and Applicant Notification* found in the Appendix to this set of instructions. Please see the "Instructions" section for further information on obtaining a fingerprint-based background check.

In addition to the background check, applicants for licensure are required to notify the Oklahoma Board of Nursing, in writing, specific information related to criminal charges and/or convictions, investigations, disciplinary actions, and/or judicial declaration of mental competence. A "report in writing" means that the applicant/licensee provided a description stating in his/her own words the date, location, and circumstances of the incident, and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, or disciplinary board. The report should be in the form of a statement in the provided space on the application. Certified court records or a board order, as applicable, must be uploaded during the application process. A verbal report does not constitute a "report in writing". A written report not accompanied by a full set of certified court records or the board order(s) does not constitute a "report in writing". Failure to report such action is a violation of the *Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act*.

An applicant for a license to practice as a Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse must submit to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing "certified written evidence that the applicant has never been convicted of a felony crime that substantially relates to the occupation of nursing and poses a reasonable threat to public safety" [59 O.S. § § 567.5, 567.6].

Military Personnel:

Per 59 O.S. § 4100.8, if you are an active duty military personnel or the spouse of an active duty military personnel who has received orders or notice for military transfer or honorable discharge to this state, please upload a copy of the United States Uniformed Services Identification and Privilege Card and a copy of the military member's Permanent Change of Station (PCS) orders. No application fee is required. Following confirmation that you hold a valid license in another state that is in good standing and reasonably equivalent to the requirements of this state, a temporary license will be granted within 30 days.

If you are relocating to this state pursuant to your spouse's official military orders and you have not worked 520 or more hours in a licensed position in a state in which you were actively licensed within the past five years, state law [O.S. 59 § 567.11.8] allows you to practice nursing in the state of Oklahoma for one hundred twenty days (120) after submission of an application and fees for licensure to the Board, provided that you:

- have an active, unencumbered license from another state or territory;
- have no health-related license in a disciplinary status; and
- furnish to the employer satisfactory evidence of current, unencumbered licensure in another state or territory.

If this applies to you, please upload evidence of your nursing license from another state or territory and a copy of your spouse's official military orders with your application.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION

1. **Completion of application**: The application should be completed and submitted online on the Board's website via your Nurse Portal account. You must complete all modules of the application with your **full legal name** which is the name on your birth certificate and any subsequent legal name changes. Please indicate "NMN" if you do not have a middle name. **You must provide a Social Security number on the application**. This information is mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A, for administration of the tax laws of the State of Oklahoma.

2. **Citizenship:** All applicants for licensure must complete the appropriate notarized *Evidence of Status Form*.

If you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or legal permanent resident alien, you must upload a photocopy of one of the documents listed under "Primary Evidence of Citizenship" on the *Evidence of Status Form: Part A*.

According to State law, **if you are a qualified alien, you must bring in person** the *Evidence of Status* form to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing office along with the original documents that support your qualified alien status, as shown on the *Evidence of Status Part B Form*. At the Board office, a staff member will copy your qualified alien status documentation and will notarize the *Evidence of Status Form*.

- 3. **Background Check:** Each applicant must provide fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state and national criminal history records search through the OSBI and FBI. The Oklahoma Board of Nursing is not authorized to receive criminal history record information prior to receiving an application; therefore, you will receive information on obtaining a fingerprint-based background check in the Message Center of your Nurse Portal account after your application has been successfully submitted. In the event that you submit an incorrect application and fingerprints are collected and submitted following the submission of the incorrect application, note that the criminal history records search must be conducted through the Board's vendor, IDEMIA no more than (90) days prior to receipt of the application in the Board office. The results of the search are provided directly to the Board office by the OSBI usually within one to two weeks. Please read the *Privacy Act Statement and Applicant Notification* found in the Appendix to this set of instructions. Procedures for changing, correcting or updating OSBI and/or FBI results are set forth in Title 28, C.F.R., §16.34 and will be furnished as needed.
- 4. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental Incompetence: If you answer "yes" to the criminal charge, discipline, or competency questions on the application, you must write a statement in the available space on the application form, describing the date, location and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting action taken by the court or disciplinary board. If you have more than one incident you are reporting, you must speak to every case/charge that has been filed. In addition, you will be required to upload certified copies of identified documents.
 - (A) Have you ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, recognition, certificate, or privilege to practice; any professional or occupational license, recognition, or certificate; and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, recognition, or certificate in any state, territory or country not previously reported **in writing** to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing?"
 - a. If you answered "yes", you must type in the space available a statement describing the date, location, and circumstances of the incident(s), and, if applicable, the resulting action(s) taken by the disciplinary board.
 - b. If you are reporting more than one incident, you must describe every case that has been filed.

- c. You will need to upload certified copies of the charges/complaints, findings of fact, and orders from the licensing agency.
- (B) Is there currently any investigation of your nursing license, recognition, certificate, or privilege to practice; and/or any professional or occupational license, recognition, or certificate; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, recognition, or certificate in any state, territory or country not previously reported **in writing** to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing?
 - a. If you answered "yes", you must type in the space available a statement describing the date, location, and circumstances of the incident(s), and, if applicable, the resulting action(s) taken by the disciplinary board.
 - b. If you are reporting more than one incident, you must describe every case that has been filed.
- (C) Have you been charged and/or convicted in any criminal offense not previously reported in writing to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing, including those pending appeal? (You may exclude minor traffic violations, but must report all DUI/DWI charges and/or DUI/DWI convictions)

 Check all that apply:

eneek an mai appij:
been convicted of a misdemeanor?
been convicted of a felony?
pled nolo contendre, no contest, or guilty?
received deferred adjudication, to include but not limited to deferred prosecution
agreement?
been placed on community supervision or court-ordered probation, whether or not
adjudicated guilt?
been sentenced to serve jail or prison time? Court-ordered confinement?
been granted pre-trial diversion, to include but not limited to Drug Court?
have any pending criminal charges?
have any pending violation of the law?
been subject of a court-martial; Article 15 violation; or received any form of military
judgment/punishment/action?
No, none of the above applies.

NOTE: Expunged and Sealed Offenses: While expunged or sealed offense, arrests, tickets, or citations need not be disclosed, it is your responsibility to ensure the offense, arrest, ticket or citation has, in fact, been expunged or sealed. It is recommended that you submit a copy of the Court Order expunging or sealing the record in question to our office with your application. Non-disclosure of relevant offenses raises questions related to truthfulness and character.

- (D) If you checked any of the above (except "No, none of the above applies"):
 - a. If you answered "yes", you must type in the space available a statement describing the date, location, and circumstances of the incident(s), and, if applicable, the resulting action(s) taken by the court.
 - b. If you are reporting more than one incident, you must describe every case that has been filed.
 - c. You will need to upload <u>certified</u> copies of Court Records to include the Information Sheet, Incident Report, Complaint, and/or Charges; Affidavit of Probable Cause; Judgment and Sentence; and verification of completion of the Judgment and Sentence. The Court Records must be obtained from the Court(s) in which the offense(s) occurred.

- (E) Have you ever been judicially declared incompetent in any state, territory or country not previously reported **in writing** to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing?
 - a. If you answered "yes", you must type in the space available a statement describing the date, location, and circumstances of the incident(s), and, if applicable, the resulting action(s) taken by the court or agency. If you are reporting more than one incident, you must describe every case that has been filed.
 - b. You will need to upload a <u>certified</u> copy of the Court Order.
- (F) Have you ever submitted a petition for a Determination of Eligibility to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing?
- 5. **Fee:** You must pay the application fee online, using a VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer when completing the application online in the License Registration link. *Fees submitted are not refundable*. If you meet either military personnel options listed in the Military Personnel section above, a fee is not required.
- 6. Credentials evaluation or certification: Please arrange to have either an evaluation from CGFNS or JS&A sent to this Board:
 - a. Contact the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) to apply for a *Credentials Evaluation Service Professional Report*. If you hold a CGFNS Certificate or VisaScreen Certificate, you may instead request that CGFNS forward a copy of your certificate; verification of your nursing education and professional registration/licensure (eDAS report); and English language test scores, if applicable. If you have previously obtained a Healthcare Profession and Science Course by Course Report from the Credentialing Evaluation Service of CGFNS, and that report is still available for release by CGFNS, you may request that CGFNS provide a copy of that report directly to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing.
 - b. Contact Josef Sliny & Associates, Inc., International Education Consultants (JS&A) to request a foreign credential evaluation for state boards of nursing and have that report sent by them directly to this Board.

The requirement for verification by CGFNS and JS&A is waived for applicants currently licensed in another state when the state validates that the credential review report was prepared by an independent credentials review agency.

7. **Temporary License:** To request a temporary **single-state** license which is valid for 90 days, check the box in the application where you may request for request for a temporary license.

Requirements for a temporary license include:

- a. A completed application form;
- b. Fee for endorsement and for the temporary license;
- c. Proof of current unrestricted licensure in another state, territory or country with no history of arrest or disciplinary action requiring further review;

- d. Verification of licensure, completion of a board-approved nursing education program meeting the educational standards established by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing and degree received, and passing the licensure examination, received from your original state of licensure;
- e. Demonstrating evidence of meeting continued qualifications for practice within the last two (2) years prior to receipt of the completed application;
- f. Receipt of completed CGFNS or JS&A report and transcripts that verify eligibility for licensure:
- g. Receipt of passing English language testing scores, if required for licensure; and
- h. Submission of fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state and national criminal background search.

A temporary license will not be issued to anyone who has had a history of arrest, criminal charges, adjudication of incompetence, or disciplinary action, or who will be required to take the NCLEX exam or meet additional requirements for continuing qualifications for practice prior to licensure in Oklahoma. A temporary license will not be issued if the application is complete.

- 8. *Name Change:* If you have been licensed with this Board under a different name, you must complete a *Name Change Request* found in the <u>Other Applications link</u> on your Nurse Portal page, upload a certified copy of the legal document changing your name and submit the required fee in order to be licensed under your new name.
- 9. *Interstate Verification:* Verification of licensure status, completion of a board-approved nursing program, degree received and date of conferral, and completion of the licensure examination from your <u>original state of licensure</u> are required. This verification must come in written form directly from the Board of Nursing in the original state of licensure or from the NURSYS system at the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. Please note that each state or Nursys will charge a fee for this verification. Contact your state of original licensure or log on to <u>www.nursys.com</u> for information on the procedure and fees.
 - If your original state of licensure is not listed on the NURSYS site, you must contact your original state directly.
 - If your state does not fully verify your nursing education, the Board will request that an official transcript be submitted to this office directly from the nursing program.
 - o To prevent possible delays, you may wish to request a transcript be sent from the nursing program directly to the Board office.
- 10. **Verification of continuing qualifications for practice:** If you have already taken the NCLEX examination and have worked at the same level of licensure for which you are applying for a minimum of 520 hours in the last five years, please upload an *Employment Verification Form* signed by your employer and job description. Each employer providing verification must complete and submit a separate *Form*.
 - Please note that this *Form* must be completed and signed by an administrator/supervisor at the place of employment, or by an authorized individual in the Human Resources Department.

If you have not practiced as a licensed nurse for at least 520 hours in the last five years prior to applying for licensure by endorsement, an official transcript or certificate of completion for a refresher course approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing or an official transcript documenting hours earned in a board-approved nursing education program must be sent directly to this Board from the program. A list of Board-approved refresher courses is available on the Board's website.

If you have not worked, completed a board-approved refresher course, or completed hours in a nursing education program, you may upload evidence of completion of at least 24 contact hours of continuing education applicable to nursing practice, upload verification of current certification in a nursing specialty OR please note on the application that you wish to re-take the NCLEX examination to establish continuing qualifications for practice. Board staff will then assist you with registration for the NCLEX examination.

If you took the NCLEX within the last two years, your state of original licensure must provide evidence that you graduated from your nursing education program within the two years prior to taking the NCLEX. Otherwise, you must provide evidence of at least six months of work experience as a licensed nurse in the state, US territory or country of licensure at the level of licensure for which you are applying, or evidence of successful completion of a Board-approved refresher course in accordance with the Board's policy or nursing didactic coursework and faculty-supervised clinical experience in a board-approved nursing education program at the appropriate educational level, to include at least 80 hours in classroom and skills laboratory review and at least 80 hours participating in patient care activities in the clinical setting.

GENERAL INFORMATION

The *Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act* requires you to obtain a dated Oklahoma temporary license or valid Oklahoma license <u>prior</u> to employment in nursing in Oklahoma. This requirement does not apply to nurses practicing in certain federal facilities (contact the federal facility regarding its requirements for licensure).

You must obtain a temporary/permanent license before orienting or working in a position requiring a nursing license.

Issuance of a temporary license does not guarantee you will qualify for permanent licensure in Oklahoma.

You may view average processing times of a completed application on our website in the Agency Data and Reports section. All applications are reviewed in the order they are received. To check on the status of your application, visit the Nurse Portal. If further review is required, the processing time may be lengthened. Every effort is made to process applications expeditiously.

Your Application for Licensure by Endorsement is valid for one year from the date it is received in the Board office. All requirements must be met within that year; otherwise, a new application and fee must be submitted.

Once licensed, the License Verification Portal https://okbn.boardsofnursing.org/licenselookup on the Board's website will be the first place your new license will be noted.

Form RS-05 11 10/5/2023

Registered Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee's birth month in even-numbered years, and Licensed Practical Nurse licenses expire the last day of the licensee's birth month in odd-numbered years following the date of issuance. The application fee includes the processing of your application and licensure through the current renewal period. **Fees are not pro-rated and are non-refundable.**

If you are an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (Certified Nurse Practitioner-CNP; Clinical Nurse Specialist-CNS; Certified Nurse Midwife-CNM; or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist-CRNA), you may not practice in Oklahoma as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse until you have a current Oklahoma license to practice registered nursing <u>and</u> a license to practice as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse.

You will find the application for licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse in your Nurse Portal on the Board's home page.

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. § 567.7.E), the Executive Director shall suspend the license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named. The suspension becomes effective ten (10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and the impending suspension to the person's address on file. Upon notification of suspension, the person may reinstate the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and any and all costs associated with notice and collection. The suspension shall be exempt from the Administrative Procedures Act.

Form RS-05 12 10/5/2023

COMMON MISTAKES THAT DELAY PROCESSING

- > Leaving application questions incomplete or unanswered
- > Not providing a Social Security number
- Failing to provide the full legal name (with the notation "NMN" if there is no middle name)
- > Failing to provide license or certificate numbers for all licenses held
- Failing to request that all required CGFNS documentation be submitted directly to the Board office by CGFNS, foreign credential evaluation from JS&A or verification of a credentials review from an independent credentials review agency from the state of original licensure, be submitted directly to the Board office
- > Failing to request that official English language test scores be submitted directly to the Board office by the testing service, if English language testing is required or verification of a credentials review from an independent credentials review agency from the state of original licensure, be submitted directly to the Board office
- Failing to submit fingerprint images to be used for the purpose of permitting a state and national criminal background search no more than 90 days prior to receipt of the application in the Board office
- > Failing to upload the employer-signed *Employment Verification Form* to verify 520 hours work experience in the past five years as needed
- Failing to submit an Evidence of Status Form and supporting documentation
- > Failing to write in the space available for each question a complete description and upload documentation regarding a history of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence

Form RS-05 13 10/5/2023

Appendix

Privacy Act Statement and Applicant Notification

Authority: The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Public Law 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or other responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.

Applicant Record Challenge: Before a final decision is made, you have the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification record. The procedure for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an FBI identification record is set forth in Title 28, CFR 16.34. For information on updating the national criminal history record, visit www.FBI.gov.

If certified documents are obtained for the purpose of updating your criminal history record, the documents should be forwarded to the FBI and to the repository in the state where the arrest occurred.

Form RS-05 14 10/5/2023