Oklahoma Board of Nursing 2501 N. Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 207 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 962-1800

http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing

REINSTATEMENT of ADVANCED UNLICENSED ASSISTANT CERTIFICATE Instructions

Application fee = \$65.00

Use this application if:

- You have been previously certified as an Advanced Unlicensed Assistant (AUA) in Oklahoma; and
- Your certification is currently lapsed, suspended, voluntarily surrendered, or revoked.

Persons employed as an AUA without a valid Oklahoma certification are notified to cease employment immediately until a valid AUA certificate is issued. Continued employment in a position requiring AUA certification without a valid AUA certification will be considered in violation of the provisions of the *Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act*.

PLEASE REVIEW THESE INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR SUBMISSION ONLINE THROUGH https://okbn.boardsofnursing.org/okbn.

A paper copy may be requested by the individual applicant by submitting a written request for such to the Board office. The applicant must include a postage-paid (\$1.06 postage cost) $8\frac{1}{2}$ x 11 inch return envelope for Board staff to return an application.

Forms referenced may be found at this link: http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing/forms.html

REQUIREMENTS for REINSTATING your AUA CERTIFICATE

Verification of citizenship status: State law requires the Board of Nursing to issue a certificate only to U.S. citizens, nationals and legal permanent resident aliens; and to qualified alien applicants who present, *in person*, valid documentary evidence of:

- 1. A valid, unexpired immigrant or nonimmigrant visa status for admission into the U.S.;
- 2. A pending or approved application for asylum in the U.S.;
- 3. Admission into the U.S. in refugee status;
- 4. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the U.S.;
- 5. Approved deferred action status; or
- 6. A pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent residence status or conditional resident status.

Applicants in the above six categories will only be eligible to receive a certificate card that is valid for the time period of their authorized stay in the U.S., or if there is no date of end to the time period of their authorized stay, for one year. The certificate card is required to indicate that it is temporary. The information will be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE)

Program, operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Verification of continuing qualifications for practice: The application for reinstatement must include one of the following:

- verification of employment as an AUA in an acute care setting for a minimum of 12 months within the previous 24 months; or
- verification of successful completion of twelve hours of clinical in service appropriate to the AUA role within the previous 24 months; or
- rewriting the certification examination with a passing score, both the written and core skills portions of the exam; or
- verification of initial certification as an AUA within the 24 months immediately prior to reinstatement of AUA certification.

Review of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence: Applicants for AUA reinstatement/return to active status who have ever been summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter; or have ever had disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification or if there is currently any investigation of your nursing license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, or have ever been judicially declared incompetent are required to notify the Oklahoma Board of Nursing if the incident has not A "report in writing" means that the previously been reported in writing to the Board. applicant/licensee provided a signed and dated description stating in his/her own words the date, location, and circumstances of the incident, and if applicable, the resulting action taken by the court, agency, or disciplinary board. The report may be in the form of a letter or a statement in the provided space on the application. The report must be accompanied by certified court records or a board order. A verbal report does not constitute a "report in writing". A written report not accompanied by a full set of certified court records or the board order(s) does not constitute a "report in writing". Failure to report such action is a violation of the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION

- 1. **Completion of application**: The application should be completed and submitted online on the Board's website: https://okbn.boardsofnursing.org/okbn. You must complete all sections of the application using your name as it appears on your certification card.
 - If you have had a name change since your certificate has not been in an active status, you must submit a *Name Change Request Form*, fee and the required supporting documentation. You may obtain the *Name Change Request* form on the Board's website, by clicking on the link to "Other Applications" or at this link: http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing/forms.html

You must provide a Social Security number on the application. This information is mandatory, pursuant to 56 O.S. § 240.21A.

If submitting a hard copy application, you may NOT use correction fluid on the application. When you are finished entering your information, sign the application LEGIBLY, using your full legal name.

Fee: Payment can be made in the form of VISA, MasterCard or electronic fund transfer when completing the application online in the License Registration link.

• If a hard copy application is submitted, attach to your application to the Board office the appropriate fee payable by cashiers check, money order, or personal check. If the fee is not submitted with the application or if the fee is incorrect, the application will be immediately returned without review. Fees submitted are not refundable

2. Citizenship:

a. <u>U.S. Citizens, U.S. Nationals, and Legal Permanent Resident Aliens</u>: If your certificate lapsed <u>on or before</u> November 1, 2007, you must complete an *Evidence of Status* form Part A. If you are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or legal permanent resident alien, <u>you must submit a photocopy of one of the documents listed</u> under "Acceptable Documents to Establish Evidence of Citizenship" on the *Evidence of Status* form. A certificate will not be issued until the appropriate documentation is submitted.

If your certificate lapsed <u>after</u> November 1, 2007, you are not required to submit an *Evidence of Status* form; however, all certificate holders who are U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals, or legal permanent resident aliens are required to submit an *Affidavit of Citizenship Status*. If you have not submitted an *Affidavit of Citizenship Status* previously, you must submit one.

- b. **Qualified aliens:** If you are a qualified alien, you must personally bring your *Evidence of Status Part B* form to the Oklahoma Board of Nursing office, along with the original documents that support your qualified alien status, as shown on the *Evidence of Status Part B* form. At the Board office, a staff member will copy your qualified alien status documentation and will notarize the *Evidence of Status* form. If the application is mailed to the Board office, the application will not be processed until the applicant presents in person the original documentation of alien resident status.
- 3. Criminal Charges, Disciplinary Action, or Judicial Declaration of Mental Incompetence: If you answer "yes" to the criminal charges, discipline, or competency questions on the application, you must submit a statement on the application form, describing the date, location and circumstances of the incident, and the resulting action taken by the court or disciplinary board. If you have more than one incident you are reporting, you must speak to every case/charge that has been filed. If you have reported a history of being summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pleaded guilty to, the violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any misdemeanor or felony, or being requested to appear before any prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter, you must submit certified copies of the Information Sheet (brief summary of the incident prepared by the court), Affidavit of Probable Cause, Charges (listing of the charges brought against you), Judgment and Sentencing (findings of the court and sentence imposed), and verification that sentencing requirements are complete. Certified copies are copies of court records obtained from the courthouse in the county/state where the action occurred, dated and signed by the court clerk, and affixed with the court seal. You may obtain these documents from the courthouse in the county/city or in the federal court of the district in which the court

action occurred. If no records are found, have the agency provide a certified letter stating no records were found in a search from the date of offense through current. Internet court documents (such as OCIS case reports) and faxed records will not be accepted. Please note that you must report all arrests and/or charges that have been brought against you. If you have reported a history of disciplinary action taken against a nursing license, certification or registration, any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification and/or any application for a nursing or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any professional or occupational license, registration, or certification; and/or any application for a nursing and/or professional or occupational license, registration, or certification in any state, territory or country, please request that a certified copy of the Board order be submitted directly to the Board office from the licensing agency. If you have reported a history of judicial declaration of mental incompetence, please contact the Board office for further instructions

- 4. **Verification of continuing qualifications for practice**: In order to reinstate your AUA certification, one of the following documents must be submitted:
 - a. an *Employment Verification Form* verifying employment as an AUA in an acute care setting for a minimum of 12 months within the previous 24 months directly to the Board of Nursing from the employer; or
 - b. documentation verifying successful completion of twelve hours of clinical inservice appropriate to the AUA role within the previous 24 months; or
 - c. a request for a registration to rewrite the certification examination; or
 - d. verification on the application form that initial certification as an AUA was completed within the 24 months immediately prior to reinstatement of AUA certification.

GENERAL INFORMATION

You are required to notify the Board in writing of any address changes occurring during the registration and testing process. This notification must be signed and submitted in person, by mail, or by facsimile.

Your application to the Board is valid for one year after receipt. After that time, a new application and fee must be submitted. Applications are processed in the order they are received. You may view average processing times of a completed application on the Board's website at: http://www.oklahoma.gov/nursing/agency-data-and-reports.html

Repeated telephone calls to check on the status of your application will delay, rather than facilitate, the processing of your application. **Fees submitted are not refundable**.

In accordance with Oklahoma law (59 O.S. §567.7 (E)), the Executive Director shall suspend the license or certificate of a person who submits a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment of a fee which is not honored by the financial institution named. The suspension becomes effective ten (10) days following delivery by certified mail of written notice of the dishonor and the impending suspension to the person's address on file. Upon notification of suspension, the person may reinstate the authorization to practice upon payment of the fees and any and all costs associated with notice and collection. The suspension shall be exempt from the Administrative Procedures Act.

COMMON MISTAKES THAT DELAY APPLICATION PROCESSING

- > Leaving application questions incomplete or unanswered on the application
- > Not providing a Social Security number
- > Failing to provide an *Evidence of Status Form* or *Citizenship Affidavit* and accompanying documentation as needed
- Failing to request that the employer submit an *Employment Verification Form* directly to the Board office as needed
- > Failing to include contact information for your current or most recent employer on the application
- > Failing to provide a complete description and documentation regarding history of criminal charges, disciplinary action, or judicial declaration of incompetence unless it has been reported to the Board before.