## My Favorite Book

a Statewide Reading and Writing Contest for Children and Young Adults

2022-23 Awards Program

May 12, 2023 | 10:30AM-12PM Oklahoma State Capitol Building | Multi-Purpose Room 100

Introduction Connie Armstrong Executive Director, Oklahoma Center for the Book

Greetings from the State Library Natalie Currie Director, Oklahoma Department of Libraries

Master of Ceremonies Steven Baker President, Friends of the Oklahoma Center for the Book

## Level I Awards

**Milo Manning Third Place** Homeschool, Sallisaw For letter to author **Harold Keith** for *Rifles for Watie* 

**Saray-al Butler Second Place** Epic Charter Schools, Del City For letter to author **Carole Boston Weatherford** for *The Faith of Elijah Cummings* 

Olivia Baldwin First Place Blanchard Intermediate
For letter to author Ally Carter for the *Winterborne* book series
Presentation of \$1,000 to Blanchard Intermediate Public School Library

## Level II Awards

Cynthia Gonzalez Third Place Bethany Middle School For letter to Jacqueline Woodson for the *Before the Ever After* 

**Sarah Avelar Second Place** Sequoyah Middle School, Edmond For letter to **Kelly Yang** for *Front Desk* 

Azmerrah Teav First Place Homeschool, Broken Arrow
For letter to author Noah Webster for Webster's American English Dictionary
Presentation of \$1,000 to South Broken Arrow Public Library/Tulsa County Library System

## **Level III Awards**

**Quinn Brown Third Place** Pawnee High School For letter to author **Jerry Spinelli** for *Milkweed* 

**Everleigh Rainbolt Second Place** Sapulpa High School For letter to author **Alton Carter** for *The Boy Who Carried Bricks* 

Emercyn Looper First Place El Reno Public High School For letter to author Markus Zusak for *The Book Thief* Presentation of \$500 grant to El Reno Public High School Library and \$500 to El Reno Public Library

