
   

WYOMING 
 

(To follow links, right-click link and open in a new page or tab) 

Administration 

1. Agency regulating oil and gas exploration/production: Wyoming Oil and Gas 
Conservation Commission, P.O. Box 2640, Casper, WY 82602. Phone: (307) 
234-7147.  

2. Contact for regulatory updates: Supervisor. 

3. Docketing procedure: Oil and gas hearings are scheduled a year in advance, 
generally on the second Tuesday of each month. Applications are accepted and 
heard monthly and orders issued within 30 days. W.S. 30-5-103(c) and W.S. 30-
5-105. 

a. Emergency orders: Emergency orders can be issued without notice and 
hearing. A regular hearing with notice must be held within 15 days. W.S. 
30-5-111 (c). 

b. Notice: Notice of hearings given by the Commission at least 10 days prior 
to the date of the hearing; 30 days on rule changes and on applications for 
aquifer exemptions. Chapter 4, Section 12. The Commission gives notice 
in all applications. Occasionally the applicant duplicates the notice. W.S. 
30-5-111(d). 

4. Agency regulating air emissions: Wyoming Department of Environmental 
Quality. 

5. Agency regulating water quality: Wyoming Department of Environmental 
Quality. 

License 

1. License required: No. 

2. Conditions of license: N/A 

Bond/Surety 

1. Purpose of surety: To ensure that each well shall be operated and maintained in 
such a manner as not to cause waste or damage the environment and upon 
permanent abandonment each well shall be plugged in accordance with the Rules 
and Regulations of the Commission. Seismic Chapter 4, Section 6(h); Operating, 
Plug and Abandon, Idle Wells, Pits Chapter 3, Section 4; Split Estate W.S. 30-5-
401 thru 410.  
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2. Plugging and restoration: Chapter 3, Section 4 Idle Well Bond $10.00/foot.  
 

3. Compliance bond required: Yes. 

4. Types of surety accepted: 

a. Owner's surety bond. Chapter 3, Section 4 - $10,000 or $20,000 as 
applicable.  
 

b. Owner's blanket bond. Chapter 3, Section 4 - $75,000.  
 

c.  Letter of Credit. Chapter 3, Section 6.  
 

d. Certificate of deposit. Chapter 3, Section 5.  
 

e.  Cash (cashier's check). Chapter 3, Section 5. 

5. Conditions of bond: 

a. Amount per well: Owner’s surety bond. Chapter 3, Section 4 - $10,000 
less than 2,000’ or $20,000 greater than 2,000’. 

b. Amount of blanket bond: Owner's blanket bond. Chapter 3, Section 4 - 
$75,000. 

Land Leasing Information 

1. Leasing method: Public Auction - no sealed bids sale; open oral bid - if no bid is 
received - offer the lease over the counter at first come first served basis.  
 

2. Notice method: Advertise the sale in the newspapers in the Rocky Mountain area.  
 

3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre): $1.00/acre bonus.  
 

4. Qualification of the bidder: A U.S. Citizen, 19 years of age minimum, and as a 
corporation, qualified by the Secretary of State to do business in Wyoming.  
 

5. State statutes: W.S. 36-6-101 and General Chapter 6 Rules of the Board of Land 
Commissioners.  
 

6. Maximum acres: 640 acres.  
 

7. Royalty rates: No. State Land and Investments Office regulates.  
 

8. Agency in control of leasing: State Land and Investments Office regulates.  

Setbacks 
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1. What rules/regulations/policies does your jurisdiction have in regard to well 
setbacks from private residences and/or other habitable structures for use by 
humans or animals? Chapter 3 Section 47 (a) Pits, wellheads, pumping units, 
tanks, and treaters shall be located no closer than five hundred feet (500') to an 
existing Occupied Structure(s) as measured from the closest exterior wall or 
corner of the Occupied Structure(s). 

2. Are there other sources of information on this matter that you could identify? Yes. 
Chapter 3 Section 47 (e) Where a Well(s), as measured to the center of the 
wellhead, or Production Facilities, as measured to the nearest edge, corner or 
perimeter, are proposed for location within one thousand feet (1,000’) of an 
existing Occupied Structure(s). 

Spacing 

1. Spacing requirements: Yes. 

a. Density: 40 acres for an oil well; One and up to two wells per 160 acres 
for gas wells; 40 and 80 acres for a coalbed methane well; 640 acres for 
PRB wells greater than 11,000’ to the Muddy, Dakota or Frontier 
formations. 

b. Lineal: For an oil well, not closer than 460 feet to the exterior boundaries 
of a 40-acre subdivision. Same for a gas well or a coalbed methane well, 
center of NE/4 or SW/4 with 200 feet of tolerance on 40 acres, and the 
center of a 160-acre tract with 200 feet of tolerance. Chapter 3, Section 2. 

2. Exceptions: Yes.  
 

a. Basis: Geologic or topographic.  
 

b. Approval: Administratively in the absence of any objection; by 
Commission order should there be an objection. Chapter 3, Section 3 and 
Chapter 5, Section 16. 

Pooling 

1. Authority to establish voluntary: Yes. W.S. 30-5-109(c). 

2. Authority to establish compulsory: Yes. 

Unitization 

1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply: Yes. 

2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of compulsory 
unitization: 
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a. Working interest: after six months can be lowered to 75%. 

b. Royalty interest: after six months can be lowered to 75%. 

Drilling Permit 

1. Permits required for: 

a. Drilling a producing or service well: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 8. 

b. Seismic drilling: Yes. Chapter 4, Section 6. 

c. Recompletion: Yes. Chapter 3, Sections 1, 10 thru 12. 

d. Plugging and abandoning: Yes. Chapter 3, Sections 14 thru 18. 

2. Permit fee: 

a. Drilling: $50.00 drilling permit; good for one year. 

b. Seismic drilling: No fee. 

c. Recompletion: $50.00 if P&Ad. No fee if not P&Ad. 

d. Plugging and abandoning: No fee. 

3. Require filing report of work performed: Yes. Form 4, for wells and pits; and 
Form 15A Seismic Completion Report for seismic projects. 

4. Sundry notices used: Yes. Form 4. Chapter 3, Sections 10 thru 12 and 17. 

Vertical Deviation 

1. Regulation requirement: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 24 and 25. 

a. A directional survey is necessary when: When doing controlled directional 
drilling, a plan shall be filed before drilling. Chapter 3, Section 25. 

b. Filing of survey required: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 25. 

c. Format of filing: Chapter 3, Section 25 with certification. 

Casing and Tubing 

1. Minimum amount required: 

a. Surface casing: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 22. 
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b. Production casing: Yes. Chapter 3, Sections 26 and 27; Chapter 2, Section 
7. 

2. Minimum amount of cement required: 

a. Surface casing: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 22. 

b. Production casing: Yes 

c. Setting time: Yes, eight hours. 

3. Tubing requirements: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 22. 

a. Oil wells: Yes 

b. Gas wells: Yes 

Hydraulic Fracturing 

1. Permitting: Yes 

a. Before drilling: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 45. 

b. Before fracing: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 45. 

c. How long before: Prior to initiation. 

2. Reporting requirements: Yes. 

a. Where reported: WOGCC, all treatments (Fee, State, Federal). 

b. When reported: Within 30 days of completion. 

3. Source water requirements: Approved by State Engineer’s Office.  

4. Mechanical integrity: Yes. 

a. Cementing log required: No. 

b. Pressure testing: All casing required to be properly tested. 

c. Pressure monitoring: Yes. 

d. Blowout preventer required: Yes, if wellhead is not installed. 

5. Disposal of flowback fluids: 

a. Retaining pits: Yes, if lined. 

b. Tanks: Yes. 
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c. Approved discharge to surface water: Yes (NPDES administered by 
WDEQ). 

d. Underground injection: Yes, if approved by UIC Program. 

6. Chemical disclosure requirement: 

a. Mandatory: Yes. 

b. Where disclosed: WOGCC. 

c. When disclosed (pre-fracing, post-fracing, both): Both. 

d. Time limit to disclose: pre-frac: prior to initiation; post-frac: Within 30 
days of completion. 

e. Information required to be disclosed: Fluid types, additives, chemical 
compound name and CAS, and concentrations. 

f. Trade secret protection: Yes. 

g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: No. 

Underground Injection 

1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class: WOGCC, 
Class II; DEQ, Class I, Class V, Class VI. 

Completion 

1. Completion report required: Yes, Form 3. 

a. Time limit: Within 30 days after completion. 

b. Where submitted: WOGCC. 

2. Well logs required to be filed: Yes. 

a. Time limit: Within 30 days after logs are run or within 30 days after 
completion of any further operation on it; if such operations involve 
drilling or redrilling. If requested, a 30-day extension to the filing due date 
may be granted. 

b. Where submitted: WOGCC. Chapter 3, Section 21. 

c. Confidential time period: Yes. Six months if requested. 

d. Available for public use: Yes. 
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e. Log catalog available: Yes. 

3. Multiple completion regulation: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 35. 

a. Approval obtained: Administratively, in the absence of any objection; 
otherwise by Commission order. 

4. Commingling in well bore: Yes. Chapter 3, Section 35. 

a. Approval obtained: Administratively, in the absence of any objection; 
otherwise by Commission order. 

Oil Production 

1. Definition of an oil well: Oil well shall mean a well the principal production of 
which, at the mouth of the well, is oil, as defined by the Wyoming Conservation 
Law, Chapter 1, Section 2(ii).  

2. Potential tests required: Yes, Form 3, Form 10 for horizontal. 

a. Time interval: Within 30 days. 

b. Witness required: Yes, by the operator; occasionally by the Commission. 

3. Maximum gas-oil ratio: No. 

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio: Occasionally. Only after notice and 
hearing in order to prevent subsurface waste and maintain the maximum 
reservoir pressure. 

b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes. 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Yes, if ran. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: They can be, Chapter 3, Section 
36. 

5. Commingling oil in common facilities: Chapter 3 Section 34. If royalties and 
working interests are the same, it can be considered administratively. If royalties 
and working interests are not the same, a hearing before the Commission upon 
application is required. In either case, adequate measuring and testing must be 
assured. 

6. Measurement involving meters: Chapter 3 Section 30. The volume of production 
of oil shall be computed in terms of barrels of clean oil on the basis of meter 
measurements or tank measurements of oil-level difference. 

7. Production reports: 
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a. By lease: No. 

b. By well: Yes. 

c. Time limit: 30 days after production. 

Gas Production 

1. Definition of a gas well: Gas well shall mean a well the principal production of 
which, at the mouth of the well, is gas, as defined by the Wyoming Conservation 
Law, Chapter 1, Section 2(u). 

2. Pressure base 14.73 psia @ 60 degrees F. 

3. Initial potential tests: Yes. Form 3, and Forms 10 through 13. 

a. Time interval: When necessary. 

b. Witness required: Supervisor’s discretion. 

c. Horizontal: every year, Form 10. 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Yes. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: They can be. 

5. Commingling of gas in common facilities: Chapter 3 Section 34. If royalties and 
working interests are the same, it can be considered administratively. If royalties 
and working interests are not the same, a hearing before the Commission upon 
application is required. In either case, adequate measuring and testing must be 
assured. 

6. Measurement involving meters: Chapter 3 Section 31 gas of all kinds shall be 
measured by meter unless otherwise authorized by the Supervisor. 

7. Production reports: 

a. By lease: No. 

b. By well: Yes. 

c. Time limits: 30 days after production. 
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