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NEBRASKA 
 

I. Administration 

1. Agency regulating oil and gas exploration/production: 

Nebraska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission, P.O. Box 399, 
Sidney, NE 6 9162. Phone: (308) 254-6919. Web site 
http://www.nogcc.ne.gov.  

 

2. Contacts for regulatory updates:  Stan Belieu, Director; Todd Boesiger, 
Petroleum Engineer. 

 
3. Docketing procedure:  Hearings held on fourth Tuesday of each month.  

Application must be received 21 days prior to hearing date.  Original and 
six copies must be filed. 

a. Emergency orders:  Yes.  Order is effective upon promulgation but 
shall remain effective until heard at next scheduled Commission 
hearing. 

b. Notice:  Fifteen (15) calendar days prior to hearing.  Applicant is 
responsible to notice parties by certified mail and the Commission 
publishes its notice in a legal newspaper published or read in the 
county. 

4. Agency regulating air emissions:  Nebraska Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 98922, Lincoln, NE, 68509-8922. 

5. Agency regulating water quality:  Nebraska Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 98922, Lincoln, NE, 68509-8922. 

 

II. License 

1. License required: N/A 

2. Conditions of license: N/A 

III. Bond/Surety 

1. Purpose of surety:  To ensure each well is plugged and abandoned and 
the location is returned to former use. 

2. Plugging and restoration:  Required before bond is released. 

3. Compliance bond required:  Yes. 

http://www.nogcc.ne.gov/
http://www.nogcc.ne.gov/
http://www.deq.state.ne.us/
http://www.deq.state.ne.us/
http://www.deq.state.ne.us/
http://www.deq.state.ne.us/


Nebraska  2 

4. Types of surety accepted:  Insurance or Certificate of Deposit on a 
Nebraska bank. 

5. Conditions of bond:   

a. Amount per well:  $10,000. 

b. Amount of blanket bond:  $100,000. 

IV. Land Leasing Information 

1. Leasing method:  Nominated by interested parties prior to sale and then 
oral bids at public auction. 

2. Notice method:  Noticed by mailing to parties and public notice for two 
consecutive weeks in legal newspapers which are either published or 
generally read in the county where the land to be leased is situated. 

3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre):  If the land is located in a county and there 
is no oil and gas production, the minimum bid is $1 per net mineral acre 
and a 1/8 royalty; if the land is located in a county and there is oil and gas 
production, the minimum bid is $2 per net mineral acre and 1/6 royalty. 

4. Qualification of the bidder:  Must post bond prior to award of lease. 

5. State statutes:  Nebraska Revised Statutes 23-3109; 23-3110; and 57-
220. 

6. Maximum acres:  640 acres. 

7. Royalty rates:  Variable by County.  1/8 to 1/6 

8. Agency in control of leasing:  Board of Educational Lands and Funds, 555 
North Cotner Blvd., Lincoln, NE 68505-2353.   Telephone:  (402) 471-
2014.  Ms. Laura Bahr-Frew, Minerals Administrator.   

V. Setbacks 

 In Nebraska, we do not have any rules pertaining to set backs from any 
structures.  The reality is that you probably wouldn’t get closer than 200’ 
because of the size of a location doesn’t really allow for it.    We evaluate the 
surrounds of a well and do ask that an operator be considerate of neighbors.   
Setbacks may be addressed in oil and gas leases. 

 

VI. Spacing 

1. Spacing requirements 

http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=23-3109
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=23-3110
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=57-220
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=57-220
file://///Server01/old%20s%20drive%20data/VB/Summary%20Update/2012%20Responses/belf.nebraska.gov/
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a. Density:  40-acres per well statewide. 

b. Lineal:  No closer than 500 feet to 40-acre legal subdivision line for 
oil or gas wells deeper than 2,500’.  No closer than 300 feet to 40-
acre legal subdivision for wells less than 2,500’ in depth.  Rule 
3.013. 

2. Exceptions 

a. Basis:  Topographical, irregular sections, geological or geophysical 
considerations. 

b. Approval:  Administrative if all owners within 500 feet of proposed 
well approve, or by public hearing.  Production may be limited to 
protect correlative rights. 

VII. Pooling 

1. Authority to establish voluntary:  Yes. 

2. Authority to establish compulsory:  Yes. 

VIII. Unitization 

1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply: 
Yes. 

2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of 
compulsory unitization: 

a. Working interest:  65% 

b. Royalty interest:   75% 

IX. Drilling Permit 

1. Permits required for: 

a. Drilling a producing or service well:  Yes.  Rule 3.003. 

b. Seismic drilling:  Yes.  Rule 3.032. 

c. Recompletion:  No, but new Form 5, Well Completion, required. 

d. Plugging and abandoning:  Yes. 

2. Permit fee: 

a. Drilling:  $200.  No fee for injection wells. 

http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section3.pdf
http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section3.pdf
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b. Seismic drilling:  None. 

c. Recompletion:  None. 

d. Plugging and abandoning:  $100 for cased wells.  None for dry 
holes.  Rule 3.028. 

3. Require filing report of work performed:  Yes.  Rules 3.006 and 007. 

4. Sundry notices used:  Notice of Intent to Plug and Abandon, Form 4. 

 

X. Vertical Deviation 

1. Regulation requirement:  Yes.  Rule 3.014. 

a. When is a directional survey necessary:  Required when any well is 
intentionally deviated from vertical.  Directional plan required for 
initial approval of well and final directional survey required upon 
completion of well. 

b. Filing of survey required:  Yes, thirty (30) days after work is 
performed. 

c. Format of filing:  Accurate and complete copy of the directional 
survey as approved by Director. 

XI. Casing and Tubing 

1. Minimum amount required: 

a. Surface casing:  Through potable fresh-water aquifers; variable by 
location of well. 

b. Production casing:  No. 

2. Minimum amount of cement required: 

a. Surface casing:  Cement to surface. 

b. Production casing:  No. 

c. Setting time:  Yes.  Five hundred (500) psi compressive strength. 

3. Tubing requirements: 

a. Oil wells:  No. 

http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section3.pdf
http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section3.pdf
http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section3.pdf
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b. Gas wells:  No. 

XII. Hydraulic Fracturing 

1. Permitting: 

a. Before drilling:  No. 

b. Before fracturing:  No.  

c. How long before:  N/A 

2. Reporting requirements:  Yes. 

a. Where reported:  Form 5, Well Completion or Re-completion 
Report, for new wells and also will be posted to the FracFocus 
Chemical Disclosure Registry.  Stimulations performed during 
workovers may be reported on the Sundry Notice, Form 4. 

b. When reported:  Within 60 days after stimulation performed. 

3. Source water requirements:  None. 

4. Mechanical integrity: 

a. Cementing log required:  No. 

b. Pressure testing:  Yes.  Prior to stimulation. 

c. Pressure monitoring:  Yes.  Two annular spaces if applicable. 

d. Blowout preventer required:  No. 

5. Disposal of flowback fluids: 

a. Retaining pits:  Yes. 

b. Tanks:  Yes. 

c. Approved discharge to surface water:  No. 

d. Underground injection:  Yes. 

6. Chemical disclosure requirement: 

a. Mandatory:  Yes but only for fracture stimulations.   Rule 3.043 

b. Where disclosed:  FracFocus Chemical Disclosure Registry. 

http://fracfocus.org/
http://fracfocus.org/
http://www.nogcc.ne.gov/Publications/AMENDEDNE_Case12-02.pdf
http://fracfocus.org/
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c. When disclosed (pre-fracing, post-fracing, both):  Post-stimulation. 

d. Time limit to disclose: Sixty (60) days after stimulation. 

e. Information required to be disclosed:  All elements of stimulation 
fluid. 

f. Trade secret protection:  Yes.  Rule 3.044. 

g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel:  Yes.  Rule 
3.044.. 

XIII. Underground Injection 

1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class:  
Nebraska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission, Class II.  Nebraska 
Department of Environmental Quality, Classes I, III, IV, and V.  No 
primacy granted for proposed Class VI wells as of July 2017. 

XIV. Completion 

1. Completion report required:  Yes.  Rule 3.006. 

a. Time limit: Thirty (30) days after completion or re-completion. 

b. Where submitted:  Commission Headquarters Office, Sidney, NE. 

2. Well logs required to be filed:  Yes.  Rule 3.031 

a. Time limit: Thirty (30) days from logging date. 

b. Where submitted:  Commission Headquarters Office, Sidney, NE. 

c. Confidential time period:  Yes.  Not more than 12 months. 

d. Available for public use:  Yes. 

e. Log catalog available:  No. 

3. Multiple completion regulation: Yes.  Rule 3.017. 

a. Approval obtained:  Application and public hearing. 

4. Commingling in well bore:  Yes.  Rule 3.016. 

a. Approval obtained:  Application and public hearing. 

XV. Oil Production 

http://www.nogcc.ne.gov/Publications/AMENDEDNE_Case12-02.pdf
http://www.nogcc.ne.gov/Publications/AMENDEDNE_Case12-02.pdf
http://www.nogcc.ne.gov/Publications/AMENDEDNE_Case12-02.pdf
http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section3.pdf
http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section3.pdf
http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section3.pdf
http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section3.pdf
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1. Definition of an oil well:  A well from which the principal production at the 
wellhead is oil as defined by the Act.  Rule 1.009.  

2. Potential tests required:  Yes. 

a. Time interval:  Thirty (30) days or in accordance with special field 
rules. 

b. Witness required:  No. 

3. Maximum gas-oil ratio:   Yes, to prevent waste only. 

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio:  Yes, to prevent waste. 

b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio:  Yes. 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required:  When required by special 
field rules. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys:  As required by special 
field rules. 

5. Commingling oil in common facilities:  Yes, providing production is 
metered or measured separately. 

6. Measurement involving meters:  To the extent that production is 
accurately measured. 

7. Production reports:  Yes. 

a. By lease:  Yes. 

b. By well:  Only by specific order 

c. Time limit:  Twenty-fifth (25th) day of month following production. 

XVI. Gas Production 

1. Definition of a gas well?  The principal production of which at the wellhead 
is gas as defined in the Act.  Rule 1.010. 

2. Pressure base:   14.73 psia at 60 degrees F.  Rule 3.019. 

3. Initial potential tests:  Yes. 

a. Time interval:  30 days. 

b. Witness required:  No. 

http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section1.pdf
http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Oil_and_Gas_Conservation_Commission/section1.pdf
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4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required:  Yes. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys:  When required by special 
field rules. 

5. Commingling of gas in common facilities:  Yes, after application and public 
hearing. 

6. Measurement involving meters:  Yes. 

7. Production reports:  Yes. 

a. By lease:  Yes. 

b. By well:  When required by special filed rules. 

c. Time limits:  Twenty-fifth (25th) day of month following production. 

 


