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Administration 

1. Agency regulating oil and gas exploration/production: Oil and Gas Conservation 
Commission, 1120 Lincoln St., Suite 801, Denver, CO 80203. Phone: (303) 894-
2100. Statutory Authority: Oil and Gas Conservation Act, § 34-60-101 et. seq., 
C.R.S. (“Act”). Rules: 2 CCR 404-1 (“Rule” or “Rules”) 

2. Contact for regulatory updates: Hearings and Regulatory Affairs Manager: Julie 
M. Murphy, julie.murphy@state.co.us, (303) 894-2100, ext. 5152. 

3. Docketing procedure: The Commission may initiate a proceeding on its own 
motion (Rule 502.a.) or in response to an application (Rule 503.a.) 

When a proceeding is initiated, the Secretary of the Commission assigns a new 
docket number which is entered on a separate page of a docket, along with the 
date of the filing of the application or the date of the entry of the Commission 
Order initiating the proceeding. All subsequent pleadings are assigned the same 
docket number and noted with the date of filing upon the docket page or 
continued docket page. (Rule 504.). 

a. Emergency orders:  

The Commission can issue an emergency order without notice of hearing. The 
emergency order is effective upon issuance and remains effective for no more 
than 15 days. Notice of the emergency order must be given as soon as possible 
after issuance. (Rule 502.a.). 

b. Notice:  

For applications for hearing, the Commission must give notice at least 20 days 
in advance of a Commission hearing at which the matter will be heard. (Rule 
507.a.). Notice requirements for specific types of applications are in Rule 
507.b. Generally, notice must adhere to the requirements of § 34-60-108(4), 
C.R.S.: 

i. Mailing to the last known mailing address of the person to be given 
notice or by personal service. 
 

ii. Publication at least 10 days prior to the hearing in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the city and county of Denver and in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the county where the land 
affected, or some part thereof, is situated. 
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iii. Contents of the notice: the time and place at which the hearing will 
be held, the time within which protests to the granting of a petition 
shall be filed if a petition has been filed, and the purpose of the 
proceeding. The notice must also be signed by the Secretary of the 
Commission.  

4. Agency regulating air emissions: Colorado Department of Public Health and the 
Environment (CDPHE), Air Pollution Control Division, Air Quality Control 
Commission. 

5. Agency regulating water quality: Colorado Department of Public Health and the 
Environment (CDPHE), Water Quality Control Division, Water Quality Control 
Commission. 

License 

1. License required: Colorado does not require licensing of operators. Instead, all 
producers, operators, transporters, refiners, gasoline or other extraction plant 
operators, and initial purchasers must register via a Form 1 Registration for Oil 
and Gas Operations. (Rule 302.a.). All operators must maintain general liability 
insurance in the minimum amount of $1,000,000 per occurrence, with the 
Commission as a “certificate holder.” (Rule 708) 

2. Conditions of license: N/A 

Bond/Surety 

1. Purpose of surety: The purpose of financial assurance is to ensure the 
performance of an operator’s obligations under the Act and Rules. 

2. Plugging and restoration: Soil protection and plugging and abandonment financial 
assurance requirements are found in Rule 706. Final reclamation threshold for 
release of financial assurance is in Rule 1004.c. 

3. Compliance bond required: Prior to oil and gas operations, an operator shall be 
properly bonded in accordance with the 700 Series Rules. 

4. Types of surety accepted: COGCC accepts the following: 1) cashier’s checks 
payable to COGCC, 2) fully executed surety bonds, or 3) CDs set up as public 
fund accounts from an eligible public depository bank. 

5. Conditions of bond: Release of bond contingent upon operator's compliance with 
all rules and regulations of the Commission. 

a. Amount per well: Rule 706.a. requires a $10,000 bond for wells less than 
3,000 feet in total measured depth and $20,000 for wells greater than or 
equal to 3,000 feet in total measured depth. 
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Rule 703 financial assurance for surface owner protection also applies for 
a permit to drill, deepen, re-enter, or recomplete: $2,000 bond is required 
for non-irrigated lands, or $5,000 bond is required for irrigated lands. An 
approved surface use agreement may be accepted in lieu of bonds. 

Rule 712 requires operators of Class II Commercial Underground 
Injection Control (UIC) wells to provide a $50,000 financial assurance for 
each facility. 

Other COGCC specific bonding requirements are set forth in Rule 704 for 
Centralized E&P Waste Management Facilities and Rule 705 for Seismic 
Operations. 

b. Amount of blanket bond: Rule 706.b. requires a $60,000 bond for the 
drilling and operation of greater than 4 wells (and up to 99 wells) and a 
$100,000 bond for 100 or more wells. 

Rule 703 allows a statewide $25,000 blanket surface bond for a permit to 
drill, deepen, re-enter or recomplete a well, regardless if the surface is 
irrigated or non-irrigated land. 

Land Leasing Information 

**Note: COGCC is not involved in mineral leases. Operators submit descriptions of 
leased lands along with the Form 2, Application for Permit to Drill, but not details of the 
lease. The State Board of Land Commissioners manages state lands and minerals and has 
provided responses to the questions below. 

1. Leasing method: Leasing is by competitive bid and is accomplished via oral and 
online auctions. 

2. Notice method: Notices are posted on the State Board of Land Commissioners 
website and at regional offices. Additional notices are distributed through industry 
publications and an industry mailing list. 

3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre): $2.50 per acre is the minimum bid. 

4. Qualification of the bidder: Bidders must have a “Certificate of Good Standing” 
issued by the Secretary of State, and Articles of Incorporation including a list of 
entities that have authority to bind the company. 

5. State statutes: § 36-1, C.R.S., Natural Resources, Public Lands and Rivers, State 
Board of Land Commissioners. 

6. Maximum acres: There is no maximum acreage that can be leased by an entity. 

7. Royalty rates: The standard royalty rate is 16.67%. 
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8. Agency in control of leasing: State Board of Land Commissioners, 1127 Sherman 
Street, #300, Denver, CO 80203. Phone: (303) 866-3454 

Setbacks  
 

Four categories of rules: 100 Series: Definitions; 300 Series: Drilling, Development, 
Producing and Abandonment; 600 Series: Safety; and 800 Series: Aesthetic and 
Noise Control.  

The 100 Series- Definitions:  

 Designated Setback Location – includes any Oil and Gas Location within, or 
proposed to be constructed within, a Buffer Zone Setback (1,000 feet), 
Exception Zone Setback (500 feet), within 1,000 feet of a High Occupancy 
Building Unit, or within 350 feet of a Designated Outside Activity Area, as 
referenced in Rule 604.  

 Designated Outside Activity Area – Outdoor venue or recreation area 
designated for special consideration by the Commission at a public hearing. 

 Building Unit – includes Residential Building Units, 5,000 sq. ft. commercial 
areas, and 15,000 sq. ft. warehouses. 

 Residential Building Unit – Designed for use as a place of residency. 
 High Occupancy Building Unit – Facilities as defined by Colorado Revised 

Statutes: schools, nursing facility, hospitals, life care institutions and 
correctional facilities serving 50, or an operating child care center serving 6 or 
more. 

 Urban Mitigation Area – 22 Building Units within a 1,000 foot radius of 
proposed location, or 11 Building Units within semi-circle of 1,000 foot 
radius. 

The 300 Series- Drilling, Development, Producing and Abandonment. (Rules 305, 
306): 
Notification to neighbors and local governments are required when wells are 
proposed to be less than 1,000 feet from an occupied building. Neighbors and local 
governments are encouraged to meet with operators to discuss plans and options and 
may also provide input into the permitting process regarding potential additional 
mitigation measures.  

The 600 Series- Safety and Nuisance: 

 150 foot setback required from a surface property line. (Rule 603.a(2)). 
 200 foot setback required from buildings of any kind, public roads, major 

above-ground utility lines, or railroads. (Rule 603.a(1)). 
 350 foot setback required from the boundary of a Designated Outside Activity 

Area. (Rule 604.a(4)). 
 500 foot Exception Zone setback is required from a Building Unit. Additional 

mitigation requirements for Urban Mitigation Areas. (Rule 604.a(1)). 
 1,000 foot Buffer Zone setback from a Building Unit. (Rule 604.b(2)).  
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 1,000 foot High Occupancy Building setback from High Occupancy Building 
Units. (Rule 604.b(3)). 

These setbacks are in addition to those required for spacing as set forth in Rule 318. 
An operator may only locate a well or production facility less than these setbacks if 
the following requirements are met: 
 

 Within an Exception Zone setback within an Urban Mitigation Area: The 
operator must: (1) submit a waiver from each Building Unit owner within 500 
feet from the proposed location or obtain a variance pursuant to Rule 502; (2) 
certify it has complied with the consultation requirements in Rules 305.a., 
305.c., and 306.e.; and (3) have a Form 2 or 2A that contains mitigation 
measures as conditions of approval. Or the location must be approved as part 
of a Comprehensive Drilling Plan. (Rule 604.a(1)A). 

 With an Exception Zone setback outside of an Urban Mitigation Area or the 
Buffer Zone setback: The operator must (1) certify it has complied with the 
consultation requirements in Rules 305.a., 305.c., and 306.e.; and (2) have a 
Form 2 or 2A that contains mitigation measures as conditions of approval. 
(Rules 604.a(1)B and 604.a(2)).  

 Within a High Occupancy Building setback: The operator must: (1) receive 
Commission approval upon an application and a hearing and (2) implement 
Exception Zone mitigation measures. (Rule 604.a.(3)). 

 Within a Designated Outside Activity Area setback: The operator must: (1) 
receive Commission approval based on the totality of the circumstances and 
(2) implement the Buffer Zone mitigation measures. (Rule 604.a(4)).  

 Within any type of setback: The operator applies for and is granted a variance 
under Rule 502.b. or one of the exceptions in Rule 604.b. applies. 

 
Spacing 

1. Spacing requirements: 

a. Density: Well density requirements vary by Basin and are also affected by 
Commission orders. Generally, there can be approximately one well 
within each 40 acre quarter-quarter, as a result of the lineal spacing 
requirements (Rule 318.a. and Rule 318.b.). Rule 318A details special 
rules for the Greater Wattenberg Area; Rule 318B for Yuma and Phillips 
County. 

b. Lineal:  

i. Wells 2,500 feet or greater in depth: Must be located no less than 
600 feet from any lease line, and not less than 1,200 feet from 
any other producible or drilling oil or gas well when drilling to 
the same source of supply. (Rule 318.a.). 

ii. Wells less than 2,500 in depth: Must be located not less than 200 
feet from any lease line, and not less than 300 feet from any 
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other producible oil or gas well, or drilling well when drilling to 
the same source of supply. (Rule 318.b.). 

2. Exceptions:  

a. Basis: 

An exception may be granted for geologic, environmental, topographic, or 
archaeological conditions, irregular sections, a surface owner request, or 
for other good cause shown. (Rule 318.c.). 

b. Approval: 

An exception can be approved in the following ways: (1) a waiver is 
signed by the lease owner toward whom the well location is proposed to 
move or other impacted party; (2) a waiver cannot be obtained from all 
parties, no party objects to the location, and the operator applies for a 
variance under Rule 502.b. to be granted by the Director; or (3) if parties 
object to a location, the operator may apply for a Commission hearing on 
the exception location and the Commission may grant the exception. (Rule 
318.c.). 

Pooling 

1. Authority to establish voluntary: To prevent or to assist in preventing waste, to 
avoid the drilling of unnecessary wells, or to protect correlative rights, the 
Commission, upon its own motion or on a proper application of an interested 
party, but after notice and hearing, has the power to establish drilling units of 
specified and approximately uniform size and shape covering any pool. (§ 34-60-
116(1), C.R.S.). 

2. Authority to establish compulsory: If pooling cannot be accomplished voluntarily, 
the Commission, upon the application of any interested person, may enter an 
order pooling all interests in the drilling unit. (§ 34-60-116(6), C.R.S.). 

Unitization 

1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply: The 
COGCC can consider the application of any interested person to hold a hearing to 
consider the need for the operation as a unit of one or more pools. It will enter a 
unitization order if it finds that (1) such operation is necessary to increase the 
ultimate recovery of oil or gas, and (2) the value of the estimated recovery of oil 
or gas exceeds the estimated additional cost incident to conducting such 
operations. (§ 34-60-118(2)-(3), C.R.S. and Rule 530). 

2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of compulsory 
unitization: 
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a. Working interest: 80%. § 34-60-118(5), C.R.S. 

b. Royalty interest: 80%. § 34-60-118(5), C.R.S. 

Drilling Permit 

1. Permits required for: 

a. Drilling a producing or service well: A Form 2 Application for Permit to 
Drill (Rule 303.a.) and Form 2A Location Assessment (Rule 303.b.) are 
required before drilling or re-entering a well. In general, Form 2 specifies 
downhole conditions; Form 2A relates to surface conditions. Every well 
requires a Form 2; a Form 2A may cover a multi-well pad or a facility 
such as a tank battery that does not include a well. 

b. Seismic drilling: Form 20 Notice of Intent to Conduct Seismic Operations 
does not result in a “permit”, but proposed work must be approved prior to 
commencement of shothole drilling or recording operations. (Rule 333.a.). 

c. Recompletion: Recompletions are not considered separately from other 
drilling permits under the Rules. (Rule 303.a.). A Form 2A may be 
required depending on the need to expand the presently approved area of 
disturbance. (Rule 303.b.). 

d. Plugging and abandoning: Form 6 Well Abandonment Report is not a 
“permit”, but COGCC must approve planned abandonment procedures 
prior to initiation of work. A Form 6 Subsequent Report of Abandonment 
must be filed to report work performed and approved by COGCC prior to 
release of any applicable bonds. (Rule 311, 319). 

2. Permit fee: 

**Note: COGCC does not require permit fees. Staff costs are covered by the Oil and 
Gas Conservation levy (“mill levy”) and other funding mechanisms. (Rule 310, § 34-
60-122(1)(a), C.R.S.). However, the Act allows COGCC to impose a permit fee of 
less than $200. (§ 34-60-106(1)f, C.R.S.). Rule 303.a(4) references a fee schedule 
shown in Appendix III to the Rules, but the fee amount shown in Appendix III is $0. 

a. Drilling: N/A 

b. Seismic drilling: N/A 

c. Recompletion: N/A 

d. Plugging and abandoning: N/A 

3. Require filing report of work performed:  
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 Form 5 Drilling Completion Report is required within 60 days of rig release after 
drilling, sidetracking, or deepening a well to total depth. This Form documents 
basic information about the wellbore, including physical surface location, total 
depth, spud date, casing and cement, and perforated intervals. Directional surveys, 
logs, and other test reports are required to be submitted with this form. (Rule 
308A.b(1)). 

 
 Form 5A Completed Interval Report is required within 30 days after a formation 

is completed; temporarily or permanently abandoned; recompleted, reperforated, 
or restimulated; or commingled. (Rule 308B). Fracture stimulations must also be 
reported to Fracfocus.org. (Rule 205A.b(2)A).  

 
 Form 6 Well Abandonment Report is required within 30 days after a well has 

been plugged and abandoned. This report includes description of material left in 
the hole, materials used for plugging and independent verification of plugging. 
(Rule 311). 

 
 Form 20A Completion Report for Seismic Operations is required within 60 days 

after completion of the project. A map is required to identify receiver lines, 
energy source lines, and shotholes. Documentation of the plugging of shotholes is 
also required. (Rule 333.d.). 

 
 Form 4 Sundry is used at the direction of staff in situations where no other form 

applies. 

4. Sundry notices used:  

 Form 4 Sundry is used for general, technical and environmental sundry 
information. (Rule 307, Appendix I). COGCC has a number of other forms for 
transmitting specific information that might be classified as “sundry” in other 
jurisdictions. (See Appendix I to the Rules for descriptions; COGCC’s website 
cogcc.state.co.us, “Regulation” page under “Forms”, for electronic versions of 
the Forms). Some of the operations for which a Form 4 is required include: 
 

o Changes to location, well status, objective formation, or casing and 
cementing program after permit is issued. (Rules 303.d., 707.b.). 

o Notice of intent or data related to various technical and 
environmental projects such as flaring, bradenhead monitoring, 
and E&P waste management. (Rules 341, 405, 907.a(3), 911, 912). 

o Notice that interim and final reclamation is complete. (Rule 1003, 
1004).  

o Request for site specific exceptions to ground water sampling. 
(Rules 609.c., 318A.e(4)). 
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o Request for confidential status. (Rule 308C). 

 Form 42 Field Operations Notice is also used by operators to notify COGCC of 
commencement or completion of a number of activities. Rule 316C lists all of 
the activities that require a Form 42: 
 

o Notice of Intent to Conduct Hydraulic Fracturing Treatment  

o Notice of Spud 

o Notice of Construction or Major Change  

o Notice to Run and Cement Casing  

o Notice of Formation Integrity Test  

o Notice of Mechanical Integrity Test  

o Notice of Bradenhead Test  

o Notice of Blow Out Preventer Test  

o Notice of Site Ready for Reclamation Inspection  

o Notice of Pit Liner Installation  

o Notice of Significant Lost Circulation  

o Notice of High Bradenhead Pressure During Stimulation  

o Notice of Completion of Form 2/2A Permit Conditions 

o Notice of Inspection Corrective Actions Performed 

Vertical Deviation 

1. Regulation requirement: A.A.C. R12-7-115. (Notice and hearing required). 

a. A directional survey is necessary when: Anytime a wellbore is planned to 
deviate from vertical, a proposed Deviated Drilling Plan is required with 
the Form 2. (Rule 321). Anytime a Directional Survey has been run, it 
must be submitted with the Form 5 Final Drilling Completion Report. 
(Rule 308A.b.). 

b. Filing of survey required: A proposed Deviated Drilling Plan and 
Directional Data template are required with the Form 2. The actual 
Directional Survey and Directional Data template are required with the 
Form 5. The required data for both of these forms includes offset 

 CO 9 

https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6271&fileName=2%20CCR%20404-1#page=52
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/WebReportPDF_42_Final_20150325.pdf
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6271&fileName=2%20CCR%20404-1#page=56
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/WebReportPDF_42_Final_20150325.pdf
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/form2_20130806.pdf
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/Form2A_20130806.pdf
http://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_12/12-07.pdf#page=5
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/form2_20130806.pdf
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6271&fileName=2%20CCR%20404-1#page=80
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/form5.pdf
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6271&fileName=2%20CCR%20404-1#page=50
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/form2_20130806.pdf
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/form5.pdf


  

coordinate listings for corresponding depths and wellbore deviation plots, 
both plan and side view. (Rule 321, 308A.b.). 

c. Format of filing: The Deviated Drilling Plan and Directional Survey are 
submitted as a document file through COGCC’s eForm application. The 
Directional Data template for both is a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet 
formatted for direct input in to COGCC’s database and GIS mapping 
software. The result is a map view of projected and actual wellbore paths. 
(See cogcc.state.co.us, “Regulation” page, under “Policies,” “COGCC 
Policy for Electronic Submittal of Directional Surveys and Plans” 
(1/01/2012)). 

Casing and Tubing 

1. Minimum amount required: 

a. Surface casing:  

i. Surface casing where subsurface conditions are unknown: Must 
be run to reach a depth below all known or reasonably estimated 
utilizable domestic fresh water levels and to prevent blowouts or 
uncontrolled flows, and shall be of sufficient size to permit the 
use of a string or strings of casings. It also must be set in or 
through an impervious formation and cemented by pump and 
plug or displacement or other approved method with sufficient 
cement to fill the annulus to the top of the hole. (Rule 317.f.). 

ii. Surface casing where subsurface conditions are known: Must be 
set and cemented to the surface by the pump and plug or 
displacement or other approved method at a depth and in a 
manner sufficient to protect all known fresh water and to ensure 
against blowouts or uncontrolled flows. (Rule 317.g.). 

b. Production casing: The casing program adopted for each well must be so 
planned and maintained as to protect any potential oil or gas bearing 
horizons penetrated during drilling from infiltration of injurious waters 
from other sources, and to prevent the migration of oil, gas or water from 
one horizon to another, that may result in the degradation of ground water. 
A Sundry Notice, Form 4, including a detailed work plan and a wellbore 
diagram, are required prior to any routine or planned casing repair 
operations. During well operations, prior verbal approval for unforeseen 
casing repairs followed by the filing of a Sundry Notice, Form 4, after 
completion of operations is acceptable. (Rule 317.e.). 

2. Minimum amount of cement required: 

a. Surface casing: Cement must be of adequate quality to achieve a minimum 
compressive strength of at least 300 psi after 24 hours and 800 psi after 72 
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hours measured at 95°F and 800 psi. The cement must be pumped behind 
the production casing 200 feet above the top of the shallowest known 
producing horizon. All surface casing shall be cemented with a continuous 
column from the bottom of the casing to the surface. The cement must also 
be pumped behind the intermediate casing to at least 200 feet above the 
top of the shallowest known production horizon. (Rule 317.i.). 

b. Production casing: Cement must be of adequate quality to achieve a 
minimum compressive strength of at least 300 psi after 24 hours and 800 
psi after 72 hours measure at 95°F and 800 psi. The cement must be 
pumped behind the production casing 200 feet above the top of the 
shallowest known producing horizon. All fresh water aquifers that are 
exposed must be cemented behind the production casing. (Rule 317.j.). 

c. Setting time:  

i. Surface and intermediate casing: Cement is required to set a 
minimum of 8 hours, or until 300 psi calculated compressive 
strength is developed, whichever occurs first, prior to commencing 
drilling operations. (Rule 317.i.). 

ii. Production casing: Cement is required to set 72 hours or until 800 
psi calculated compressive strength is developed, whichever occurs 
first, prior to commencing drilling operations. (Rule 317.j.). 

3. Tubing requirements 

a. Oil wells: All tubing is required to have working pressure rating suitable 
for the maximum anticipated surface pressure and in good working 
condition according to generally accepted industry standards. (Rule 
603.e(5)). 

b. Gas wells: All tubing is required to have working pressure rating suitable 
for the maximum anticipated surface pressure and in good working 
condition according to generally accepted industry standards. (Rule 
603.e(5)). 

Hydraulic Fracturing 

1. Permitting: The COGCC does not have permit requirements specific to hydraulic 
fracturing. Wells undergoing hydraulic fracturing treatment are subject to the 
same permitting requirements outlined above, in addition to subsequent reporting 
requirements outlined in (2). 

a. Before drilling: N/A 

b. Before fracking: N/A 
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c. How long before: N/A 

2. Reporting requirements: Details regarding any type of well stimulation must be 
reported on Form 5A Interval Completion Report. Hydraulic fracturing chemical 
disclosure is reported on Fracfocus.org. (Rule 205A). Operators must provide a 
Form 42 Notice of Intent to Conduct Hydraulic Fracturing Treatment at least 48 
hours prior to the treatment. (Rule 316C.a.). 

3. Source water requirements: Form 5A Interval Completion Report, requests 
information on the volume of water used, the volume of water recovered, and 
whether the water used was fresh or recycled. (See cogcc.state.co.us, 
“Regulation” page under “Forms”). The operator is responsible for verifying that 
the water source is under a valid water right or permit allowing for industrial use 
approved by the Colorado Division of Water Resources. 

4. Mechanical integrity:  

a. Cementing log required: Operators are required to run a cement bond log 
on all production casing or, in the case of a production liner, the 
intermediate casing, when these casing strings are run. These logs are 
submitted with the Form 5 Final Drilling Completion Report. (Rule 
317.p.). 

b. Pressure testing:  

i. Injection Wells: A pressure test with liquid or gas at a pressure of 
not less than 300 psi or the maximum injection pressure, 
whichever is greater, and not more than the maximum injection 
pressure. (Rule 326.a.1(A)). 

ii. Shut-in and Temporarily Abandoned Wells: A pressure test with 
isolation of the wellbore with a bridge plug or similar approved 
isolating devise set 100 feet or less above the highest perforations 
and a pressure test of not less than 300 psi surface pressure. (Rule 
326.b.(3) and 326.c.(3)). 

c. Pressure monitoring: 

i. Injection Wells: As option to performing a Mechanical Integrity 
Test (MIT) on an injection well the casing-tubing annulus pressure 
may be monitored and reported to the Director on a monthly basis 
for 60 months after the initial pressure test. (Rule 326.a.1(B)). 

ii. Shut-in Wells: A MIT is required to be performed on each well 
within 2 years of the well becoming shut-in and within 5 years of 
the initial MIT. (Rule 326.b.). 
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iii. Temporarily Abandoned Wells: An MIT is required 30 days after 
the well is temporarily abandoned and within 5 years of an initial 
MIT (Rule 326.c.). 

d. Blowout preventer required: An operator must take all necessary 
precautions to keep a well under control while being drilled or deepened. 
The working pressure of any Blowout Prevention Equipment (BOPE) 
must exceed the anticipated surface pressure to which it may be subjected, 
assuming a partially evacuated hole with a pressure gradient of 0.22 psi/ft. 
The Director has the authority to designate specific areas as requiring a 
specific BOPE or condition any permit as requiring a specific BOPE. 
(Rule 317.a.). 

5. Disposal of flowback fluids:  

**Note: Produced water is regulated by COGCC as an Exploration & Production 
waste. (100-Series Rules, Rule 907.c.). Neither “produced water” nor “flowback” are 
defined in COGCC rules. 

a. Retaining pits: Flowback pits are included in the definition of Drilling Pits 
(100 Series). Flowback fluids are not allowed in fresh water storage pits 
(Rule 604.c.(2)B(iv)). 

b. Tanks: COGCC tank requirements are found in the Rules under the 
appropriate topic such as containment (Rules 603, 604), marking (Rule 
210), painting (804) and odor (805). 

c. Approved discharge to surface water: Colorado Department of Public 
Health and Environment (CDPHE) has the authority to regulate discharges 
in Colorado under the Water Quality Control Act. Any discharge of liquid 
wastes to waters of the state would be under permit from CDPHE. 
COGCC Rule 907.c(2)E refers to these permits. 

d. Underground injection: Produced water may be disposed of in Class II 
injection wells per Rule 325. Commercial disposal wells must also satisfy 
financial assurance (Rule 704) and Centralized E&P Waste Management 
Facility (Rule 908) criteria. 

6. Chemical disclosure requirement:  

a. Mandatory: Yes, subject to limited exceptions. A vendor, service provider, 
or operator is not required to disclose chemicals that: qualify as trade 
secrets (Rule 205A.d.), or chemicals that are: 1) not disclosed to the 
vendor, service provider, or operator; 2) not intentionally added to the 
hydraulic fracturing fluid; or 3) incidentally occurring or unintentionally 
present in trace amounts. (Rule 205A.c.). 

b. Where disclosed: Chemical disclosure registry (Fracfocus.org). 
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c. When disclosed (pre-fracking, post-fracking, both): Post-fracturing (Rule 
205A.b.). 

d. Time limit to disclose:  

i. For vendors and service providers: Within 30 days following the 
conclusion of the hydraulic fracturing treatment and in no case 
later than 90 days after the commencement of the treatment. (Rule 
205A.b(1)). 

ii. For operators: Within 60 days following the conclusion of the 
hydraulic fracturing treatment and in no case later than 120 days 
after the commencement of the fracturing (Rule 205A.b(2)). 

e. Information required to be disclosed: Voluntary to FracFocus.org. 

i. The operator’s name and date of the hydraulic fracturing treatment. 

ii. Well Information: The county in which the well is located, the API 
number for the well, the well name and number, the longitude and 
latitude of the wellhead, and the true vertical depth of the well. 

iii. The total volume of water used in the treatment and total volume 
of base fluid if something other than water. 

iv. Additives: Each hydraulic fracturing additive used in the fluid and 
the trade name, vendor, and brief descriptor of the intended use of 
function of each hydraulic fracturing additive in the hydraulic 
fracturing fluid. 

v. Chemical Information: Each chemical intentionally added to the 
base fluid; the maximum concentration, in percent by mass, of 
each chemical intentionally added to the base fluid; and the 
chemical abstract service number for each chemical intentionally 
added to base fluid, if applicable. 

f. Trade secret protection: 

i. Operators, service providers, and vendors are not required to 
disclose trade secrets to the chemical disclosure registry. (Rule 
205A.d.). 

ii. If an operator, service provider, or vendor claims that the identity 
of a chemical and/or the concentration of the chemical are trade 
secrets, they must file a Form 41 claim of entitlement to withhold 
the information. (Rule 205A.b(2)B). 
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g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: Operators, service 
providers, and vendors must identify the identity and concentration of 
chemicals claimed to be subject to trade secret protection to: 1) any health 
professional who requests such information in writing and executes a 
confidentiality agreement (Form 35) (Rule 205A.b(5)), or 2) to the 
Director upon receipt from the Director stating that such information is 
necessary to responds to a spill or release. The Director may then disclose 
this information to any Commissioner, the relevant county public health 
director, or to CDPHE’s Chief Medical Officer upon request from that 
individual. (Rule 205A.d(2)). 

Underground Injection 

1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class:  

a. Class II UIC Wells: 

COGCC was granted primacy for Class II Oil and Gas Related injection 
wells in a Memorandum of Agreement with U.S. EPA Region 8 on August 
31, 1989. (See cogcc.state.co.us, “Government” page, “Federal”, “MOUs 
with Federal Agencies” for a copy of this agreement). 

Disposal wells are regulated under Rule 325. They require a Form 31 
Underground Injection Formation Permit Application, a Form 33 Injection 
Well Permit Application, and a Form 26 Source of Produced Water for 
Disposal. In addition, the permit review process is defined by Rule 303 
Permit to Drill, Rule 324B Exempt Aquifers, Rule 326 Mechanical 
Integrity Testing, and Rules 706, 707, and 712, which identify Financial 
Assurance requirements. 

Enhanced recovery injection wells are a part of the COGCC Class II 
program and are further regulated by the 400 Series Rules. 

b. Class I, III, IV, and VI Wells: 

The Environmental Protection Agency Region 8 has jurisdiction over 
Class I, III, IV, V, and VI wells in Colorado. 

Completion 

1. Completion report required: 

a. Time limit: A Form 5 Preliminary Drilling Completion Report is due 
within 10 days if drilling is suspended prior to reaching total depth and 
does not recommence within 90 days. (Rule 308A.a.(1)). A Form 5 Final 
Drilling Completion Report is required within 60 days of rig release after 
drilling, sidetracking, or deepening a well to total depth. (Rule 
308A.b.(1)). 
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b. Where submitted: The preferred method is to file through COGCC 
electronic forms management system, eForm, available on the COGCC 
website cogcc.state.co.us, “Regulation” page under “Forms”. The form 
may also be submitted as a document via mail or email to the COGCC 
Denver office. 

2. Well logs required to be filed: 

**Note: Rule 317.p. requires each well to have at least two logs: (1) a resistivity log 
with gamma-ray or other logs to describe the stratigraphy of the wellbore, and (2) a 
cement bond log. Although Rule 308A requires operators to submit all logs in paper 
and digital form, the paper format was removed by policy. (See cogcc.state.co.us, 
“Regulations” page under “Policies”, “Log Submittal Policy (12/23/2012)). 

a. Time limit: Well logs must be submitted within 30 days of setting 
production casing, plugging a dry hole, or changing wellbore 
configuration. 

b. Where submitted: Any paper copies should be mailed to COGCC Denver 
office; electronic submittals should follow requirements outlined in the 
Log Submittal Policy. 

c. Confidential time period: If an operator submits a request for 
confidentiality via a Form 4 Sundry Notice, then the logs, Drilling 
Completion Reports, and Completed Interval Reports will be confidential 
for six months after the date of completion. (Rule 308C). 

d. Available for public use: All logs and other documents associated with a 
particular well are linked by API number and are available in digital 
format on the COGCC’s website cogcc.state.co.us, “Data” page. Paper 
copies are now stored in an off-site facility and require advance request for 
retrieval. 

e. Log catalog available: No separate log catalog is available. COGCC’s 
database is searchable by API number, location, operator name, well 
name, and other parameters. The database is also linked to COGCC’s 
interactive map, under the “Maps” page on the COGCC website. 

3. Multiple completion regulation: 

COGCC does not have a rule that specifically addresses multiple completions. 
Issuance of the Permit to Drill is approval to produce from the formation(s) listed 
in the Form 2 Application. All formations shown on the Form 5A, Completed 
Interval Report, must have been approved on the Permit prior to drilling and 
completing the well. 

4. Commingling in well bore: 

 CO 16 

https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6271&fileName=2%20CCR%20404-1#page=60
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6271&fileName=2%20CCR%20404-1#page=50
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/form4_05152014.pdf
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6271&fileName=2%20CCR%20404-1#page=52
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/form2_20130806.pdf
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/Form5A__20120705.pdf
http://cogcc.state.co.us/forms/PDF_Forms/Form5A__20120705.pdf


  

Commingling in the wellbore is encouraged and may be conducted at the 
discretion of an operator, unless excluded by a Commission Order. These orders 
may be specific to well, geologic formation, geographic areas, or field. (Rule 
322). There are several formations that are commonly comingled which have been 
defined as common sources by policy. (See cogcc.state.co.us, “Regulation”, 
“Policy”, “APDs in Areas with Designated Sources of Supply (3/9/2004)”). 

Oil Production 

**Note: Oil is defined in the Act, § 34-60.103(6.5), C.R.S., as “crude petroleum oil and 
any other hydrocarbons, regardless of gravities, which are produced at the well in liquid 
form by ordinary production methods, and which are not the result of condensation of gas 
before or after it leaves the reservoir.” Rule 328 contains requirements for oil 
measurement. 

Gas is defined in the Act, § 34-60.103(5), C.R.S., as “all natural gases and all 
hydrocarbons not defined in this section as oil.” Rule 329 contains requirements for gas 
measurement. 

Using these definitions, wells are classified based on the initial gas/oil ratio reported on 
the Form 5A Completed Interval Report. 

1. Definition of an oil well: A gas/oil ratio less than 15,000 measured as cubic feet 
per barrel. 

2. Potential tests required: No test methods are specified but the test method must be 
reported. The time interval of the test is required on the Form 5A Completed 
Interval Report, as is a 24-hour calculation based on that result. 

a. Time interval: N/A 

b. Witness required: N/A 

3. Maximum gas-oil ratio:  

COGCC does not have a rule limiting gas-oil ratios. Some field orders include 
specific ratios based on reservoir characteristics. 

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio: No 

b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio: No 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Bottom-hole pressure tests are not 
required for oil wells. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: No 
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5. Commingling oil in common facilities: Volume of oil shall be measured and 
recorded prior to removal from the lease or production unit (Rule 328). There is 
no rule regarding commingling oil at the surface. 

6. Measurement involving meters: Requirements for calibration, accuracy and 
acceptable corrections are found in Rule 328. 

7. Production reports:  

Form 7 Operator’s Monthly Report of Operations is required by Rule 309. 

a. By lease: No. 

b. By well: The Form 7 requires reporting by well and by formation within 
the well in the case of multiple completions or comingling. 

c. Time limit: The first report must be filed within 45 days after the month in 
which production occurs, and reporting continued until the month after a 
well has been plugged. Because this is a Report of Operations, the report 
is required all months prior to plugging, including those for which the 
status is shut-in or temporarily abandoned. (Rule 309, Rule 707). 

Gas Production 

1. Definition of a gas well: A gas/oil ratio greater than 15,000 is measured as cubic 
feet per barrel. 

2. Pressure base: 14.7 psia @ 60 degrees F. 

3. Initial potential tests: No test methods are specified but the test method must be 
reported. The time interval of the test is required on the Form 5A Completed 
Interval Report, as is a 24-hour calculation based on that result. 

a. Time interval: N/A 

b. Witness required: N/A 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: Bottom-hole pressure tests are 
required for certain coal bed methane wells per Rule 608.d. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: N/A 

5. Commingling of gas in common facilities: Volume of gas shall be measured and 
recorded prior to removal from the lease or production unit. (Rule 329). There is 
no rule regarding commingling gas at the surface. 

6. Measurement involving meters: Requirements for installation, calibration, 
accuracy, and gas quality are found in Rule 329. 
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7. Production reports: 

a. By lease: No. 

b. By well: The Form 7 requires reporting by well and by formation within 
the well in the case of multiple completions or comingling. 

c. Time limits: The first report must be filed within 45 days after the month 
in which production occurs, and reporting continued until the month after 
a well has been plugged. Because this is a Report of Operations, the report 
is required all months prior to plugging, including those for which the 
status was shut-in or temporarily abandoned. (Rule 309, Rule 707). 
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