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ARKANSAS 
 

I. Administration 

1. Agency regulating oil and gas exploration/production: Arkansas Oil and Gas 
Commission, 301 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 102, Little Rock, AR 
72205. Phone: (501) 683-5814. 

2. Contact for regulatory updates: Shane Khoury, Deputy Director / General 
Counsel. 

3. Docketing procedure: Applications for hearings are required to be filed no 
less than 20 days prior to the date of the hearing. Hearings are typically 
scheduled for the fourth Tuesday of each month. Filing fee is $500.00 for all 
matters except for appeals of a Director’s decision which is $250.00. 

a. Emergency orders: The Commission can issue an emergency order 
without notice of a hearing.  Said order remains in force until the 
next regularly scheduled Commission hearing.  

b. Notice: At least 10 days prior to the hearing, and not more than 30 
days prior to the hearing. Applicant supplies names and addresses 
of interested parties.   Applicant mails notice to interested parties and 
provides to the Commission an affidavit of notice and a proof of 
publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the county(ies) 
containing the subject property or units. 

4. Agency regulating air emissions: Arkansas Division of Environmental 
Quality. 

5. Agency regulating water quality: Arkansas Division of Environmental 
Quality. 

II. License 

1. License required: No. 

2. Conditions of license: N/A 

III. Bond/Surety 

1. Purpose of surety: Plugging, well repair, and restoration of well site.  

2. Plugging and restoration: Yes. 

3. Compliance bond required: Not in addition to plugging and restoration 
bond. 

http://www.aogc.state.ar.us/
http://www.aogc.state.ar.us/
http://www.adeq.state.ar.us/
http://www.adeq.state.ar.us/
http://www.adeq.state.ar.us/
http://www.adeq.state.ar.us/
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4. Types of surety accepted: Surety bond, irrevocable letter of credit, 
certificate of deposit, cash. 

5. Conditions of bond: (Not including Class II Disposal or Class V Brine 
Wells, which have higher amounts) 

a. Amount per well: Minimum = $3,000 

b. Amount of blanket bond: 

No. of Wells Minimum Sum 
1-25 25,000.00 

26-100 50,000.00 

Over 100 100,000.00 
 
 IV. Land Leasing Information 

1. Leasing method: Sealed bids. 

2. Notice method: In a newspaper of general circulation in this state for no 
fewer than 3 consecutive days and in a newspaper of general circulation 
in the county in which the property is located for not less than 1 day, a notice 
that an application has been filed. 

3. Minimum bidding $ (per acre): No statutory or set minimum bid amount. 
State looks at each application on a case by case basis and takes 
recommendations from the State Oil and Gas Commission staff, as well as 
other interested agencies. 

4. Qualification of the bidder: Any person, firm, company, corporation or 
association. 

5. State statutes: §22-5-805, §22-5-806, and §22-5-808. 

6. Maximum acres: 1,500 acres. 

7. Royalty rates: Minimum of 1/8th.  State looks at each application on a case 
by case basis and takes recommendations from the Oil and Gas 
Commission, and other state agencies. 

Agency in control of leasing: Commissioner of State Lands Offices 
109 State Capitol 
Little Rock, AR 72201 
Main Number: 501-324-9222 

V. Setbacks  
 

1. What rules/regulations/policies does your jurisdiction have in regard to well 
setbacks from private residences and/or other habitable structures for use 

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/arcode/
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/arcode/
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/arcode/
http://www.cosl.org/
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by humans or animals? Well setbacks are contained in Arkansas Fire 
Prevention Code. Minimum distance is 100 feet; however, the setback 
distance increases dependent upon the types and uses of buildings.  
Standard lease provision requires 200 feet from a habitable dwelling. 

2. Are there other sources of information on this matter that you could identify?  
None for wells.  However, the AOGC does have setbacks regarding the 
placement of gas well produced fluids storage tanks and crude oil tank 
batteries.  General rule is 100 feet from a habitable dwelling (an exception 
may be granted to allow the placement up to 100 feet from a habitable 
dwelling if the owner agrees in writing), and 300 feet from a school, hospital 
or other type of public use building. 

VI. Spacing 

1. Spacing requirements: 

a. Density: No minimum for oil or gas wells in uncontrolled production 
areas.  In controlled production areas for oil, units are normally 10 to 
160 acres with exceptions. In controlled production areas for natural 
gas, units are normally 640-acre governmental sections with 
exceptions. 

b. Lineal: Oil well setbacks are variable as specified by field rule. 
Conventional gas well setbacks are 1320 or 1180 feet, with 
exceptions, from the unit line based on specific field rule. 
Unconventional (horizontal shale wells) are 560 feet from the unit 
line, with exceptions.  A minimum of 280' from a governmental 
division line, lease line or property line for oil or gas wildcat wells and 
wells drilled in fields not covered by field rules. 

2. Exceptions: Yes. 

a. Basis: If a well drilled at a different location is likely to prevent waste 
or protect correlative rights of owners within the unit, or both. 

b. Approval: A public hearing held and ruling granted by the 
Commission.  Administrative exceptional locations can also be 
granted, with a notice given to the parties having the right to drill in 
the unit being encroached, if no objections are filed within 15 days of 
publication of notice in certain circumstances. 

VII. Pooling 

1. Authority to establish voluntary: Yes. 

2. Authority to establish compulsory: Yes, Act 536 of 1963. Ark. Code Ann § 
15-72-303. 

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/arcode/Default.asp
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/arcode/Default.asp
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VIII. Unitization 

1. Compulsory unitization of all or part of a pool or common source of supply: 
Yes. 

2. Minimum percentage of voluntary agreement before approval of 
compulsory unitization: 

a. Working interest: 75%. 

b. Royalty interest: 75% of royalty and overriding interests. 

IX. Drilling Permit 

1. Permits required for: 

a. Drilling a producing or service well: Yes. 

b. Seismic drilling: Yes. 

c. Recompletion: No. 

d. Plugging and abandoning: No. 

2. Permit fee: 

a. Drilling: $300. 

b. Seismic drilling: minimum $250, maximum $500. 

c. Recompletion: None. 

d. Plugging and abandoning: None. 

3. Require filing report of work performed: Yes. 

4. Sundry notices used: Yes. Available on webpage and sent to appropriate 
Regional Office. 

X. Vertical Deviation 

1. Regulation requirement: 

a. When is a directional survey necessary: When a wellbore is thought 
to have deviated in excess of 3 degrees from the vertical. 

b. Filing of survey required: (a) in all cases where the operator has 
proposed to deliberately drill a directional well from an exceptional 
surface location and/or to an exceptional bottom hole location; (b) 
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prior to a permit being issued, if an off-set operator requests a 
directional survey and agrees in writing to pay all costs and expenses 
of such survey and to assume liability for all risks associated with the 
survey and further posts a bond in sufficient sum as determined by 
the Commission as security against all costs and risks associated 
with the survey or, (c) at any time, by order of the Commission, if the 
Commission is first presented with substantial evidence that it is 
likely that the well was drilled other than at the location permitted or 
that the well has deviated in the direction of a unit boundary to a 
bottom location which would necessitate an increased penalty upon 
the well's production allowable. 

c. Format of filing: Paper filing.  

XI. Casing and Tubing 

1. Minimum amount required: 

a. Surface casing: Yes. 

b. Production casing: Yes. 

2. Minimum amount of cement required: 

a. Surface casing: Yes. 

b. Production casing: Yes. 

c. Setting time: Minimum 24 hours unless accelerators are used. 

3. Tubing requirements: 

a. Oil wells: Yes. 

b. Gas wells: No. 

XII. Hydraulic Fracturing 

1. Permitting: 

a. Before drilling: Notification required at time of issuance of permit to 
drill. 

b. Before fracing: Yes.  

c. How long before: Prior to commencement of hydraulic fracturing 
operation. 

2. Reporting requirements: 
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a. Where reported: Appropriate AOGC Regional Office. 

b. When reported: Within 30 days of the original completion, 
recompletion or workover of the well and prior to commencement of 
production. 

3. Source water requirements: Yes.  

4. Mechanical integrity: 

a. Cementing log required: If requested by the Director. 

b. Pressure testing: No. 

c. Pressure monitoring: Yes. 

d. Blowout preventer required: Yes. 

5. Disposal of flowback fluids: 

a. Retaining pits: Yes. 

b. Tanks: Yes. 

c. Approved discharge to surface water: No.  

d. Underground injection: Yes. 

6. Chemical disclosure requirement: 

a. Mandatory: Yes. 

b. Where disclosed: AOGC files and AOGC website. 

c. When disclosed (both pre-fracing and post-fracing): Master list of 
companies performing hydraulic fracturing operations within 
Arkansas is disclosed.  Post-fracturing report for specific well is also 
required. 

d. Time limit to disclose: Master list of companies performing hydraulic 
fracturing operations within Arkansas is disclosed prior to use in 
Arkansas.  Post-fracturing report for specific well is also required to 
be filed within 30 days of the completion of the well. 

e. Information required to be disclosed: On a well specific basis, a list 
of all base fluids, a list of all additives (expressed as gallons per 
thousand gallons or pounds per thousand gallons, and as a total 
percentage of the entire hydraulic frac job), and a list of all chemical 
constituents and associated CAS numbers.  Additionally, all base 
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fluids, additives, and chemical constituents and CAS numbers are 
disclosed on master list of companies performing hydraulic fracturing 
operations. 

f. Trade secret protection: Yes. If approved, the chemical family name 
may be submitted as opposed to the chemical constituent and 
associated CAS number. 

g. Required disclosure to health/emergency personnel: Yes. 

XIII. Underground Injection 

1. Agencies that control the underground injection of fluid by well class: Class 
II and Class V brine related wells – Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission and 
Arkansas Division of Environmental Quality work together.  AOGC handles 
the underground disposal and surface facilities for non-commercial wells 
with 1,000 bbls or less of on-site storage capacity.  For commercial wells, 
and non-commercial wells with more than 1,000 bbls of on-site storage 
capacity, AOGC handles the underground disposal, and ADEQ handles the 
surface disposal facilities.  ADEQ controls the remaining classes of injection 
wells. 

XIV. Completion 

1. Completion report required: Yes.  

a. Time limit: Within 30 days of completion date and prior to 
commencement of production.  

b. Where submitted: Appropriate Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission 
Regional Office. 

2. Well logs required to be filed: 

a. Time limit: Within 30 days of completion date and prior to 
commencement of production. 

b. Where submitted: Appropriate Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission 
Regional Office. 

c. Confidential time period: Yes, maximum of 90 days from completion 
date. 

d. Available for public use: Yes. 

e. Log catalog available: No. 

3. Multiple completion regulation: Yes.  
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a. Approval obtained: Wells may be completed as a multiple completion 
if the Commission staff is assured that the zones are separated in 
the wellbore by approved methods. 

4. Commingling in well bore: Yes. 

a. Approval obtained: Gas wells – commingling authorized in certain 
circumstances by Rule. Oil wells -A field-wide hearing is held to 
consider the feasibility of commingling marginal zones.  If it appears 
feasible, the Commission staff is authorized to review and approve 
or disapprove application for commingling on an individual well basis. 

XV. Oil Production 

1. Definition of an oil well: Any well capable of producing oil in paying 
quantities not a gas well. An oil well is considered to be a well completed in 
a reservoir containing liquid hydrocarbons at original reservoir conditions 
(pressure, temperature, etc.) 

2. Potential tests required: Yes. 

a. Time interval: At commencement of production.  

b. Witness required: Initial tests are typically witnessed on high gas-oil 
ratio wells. 

3. Maximum gas-oil ratio: Yes. The standard gas-oil ratio is 2000/1. 

a. Provision for limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes. Wells are penalized if the 
GOR exceeds the 2000/1 GOR limit (or the limiting GOR as set out 
in a specific Field Rule Order). The allowable is: 

Bbls/day = Bbls (Normal Oil Allowable) x 2000 (or limit in Field Rule Order). 
Actual Producing GOR 

 
b. Exception to limiting gas-oil ratio: Yes.  The Commission may 

approve a higher GOR limit for a pool after public hearing. 

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: The initial BHP is listed on the 
Completion Report. 

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: Only in pools that have 
volumetric formulas used in allowable computations. 

5. Commingling oil in common facilities: Upon proof that production is 
produced from wells having common ownerships, unless specifically 
prohibited by Field Rule or Commission Order. 
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6. Measurement involving meters: Yes. Measurement of oil by meters must be 
approved by the Commission. 

7. Production reports: 

a. By lease: Yes. Purchaser reports amount of uncontrolled oil 
purchased by lease on a monthly basis. 

b. By well: Yes.  Operator reports controlled production by well on a 
monthly basis with the exception of unitized pools. 

c. Time limit: On or before the 15th of the next succeeding month. 

XVI. Gas Production 

1. Definition of a gas well: (1) a well which produces natural gas only; (2) any 
well capable of producing gas in commercial quantities and also producing 
oil from the same common source of supply but not in commercial 
quantities; (3) any well classed as a gas well by the Arkansas Oil and Gas 
Commission for any reason; or (4) a well that contains no liquid 
hydrocarbons in the reservoir.  A gas well is considered to be a well 
completed in a reservoir containing hydrocarbons in a gaseous state at 
original reservoir conditions. 

2. Pressure base 14.65 psia @ 60 degrees F. 

3. Initial potential tests: Yes.  

a. Time interval: Within 10 days after a new well has commenced 
production.  

b. Witness required: No.  

4. Bottom-hole pressure test reports required: No, however, annual back 
pressure test required.  

a. Periodical bottom-hole pressure surveys: No. 

5. Commingling of gas in common facilities: Yes, with AOGC approval. 

6. Measurement involving meters: Yes.  

7. Production reports: 

a. By lease: No. 

b. By well: Yes. 

c. Time limits: Within 45 days following month of production.  
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