

Oklahoma State Department of Health Creating a State of Health

SOUTHEAST REGION (5) REGIONAL TRAUMA ADVISORY BOARD (RTAB)

REGULAR MEETING

Thursday, August 10, 2023 – 10:30 a.m.

Location of meeting: Pittsburg County Health Department • 1400 East College Avenue • McAlester, OK 74501

The Southeast Region (5) REGIONAL TRAUMA ADVISORY BOARD (RTAB) regular meeting notice was posted on the OSDH website located at <u>https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/licensing-inspections/emergency-</u> <u>systems/trauma-division/rtabs-regional-trauma-advisory-boards-/region-5-rtab.html</u> as well as the Secretary of State's website located at <u>https://www.sos.ok.gov/meetings/notices/001302/0569422211181213.htm</u> on November 18, 2022 at 12:13 p.m.

Minutes

- 1. Pamela Cunningham, Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:32 a.m.
- 2. Roll Call was taken. Attendance was recorded as follows:

Absent at Roll Call
International Paper EMS
Eastern Oklahoma Medical Center
AllianceHealth Madill
Pafford EMS of Oklahoma (McAlester)
Medical Air Rescue Company
James Smith – AELT 129, AELT 139, AELT, 149,
AELT Durant, AELT 158, AELT 022, AELT 065,
AELT 073.
Arrived at approximately 10:38 a.m.
Wewoka Fire Department
McCurtain Memorial Hospital
Coalgate Fire Department
Colbert EMS
McAlester Army Ammunition Plant
Holdenville General Hospital

3. Pamela Cunningham, Chair, shared with Stakeholders to be sure their agency authorized representative forms are up to date.



4. Pamela Cunningham moved to approve the May 11, 2023 minutes and Randy Bryant seconded. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
Lisa Vowels		TJ Caudill
Nate Toews		Randy Springfield
Gerrick Johnson		
Brandy Ray		
Keith Lickly		
Randy Bryant		
Benny Brooks		
Pamela Cunningham		
James Smith MMEMS		
Samantha McDowra		
Jauquetta Trotter		

- 5. Reports
 - Tessa Cleary-Smith shared that the Oklahoma Trauma Education Program was starting back later this month.
 - Grace Pelley reported that Trauma Registry Training is scheduled and if you would like to attend email
 <u>Esystems@healht.ok.gov</u> Also the hospital representatives need to see Grace after the meeting for
 their compliance reports.
 - Nate Toews reported there were only 4 CQI members present at the last meeting held July 21, 2023. The Committee is behind on sending out letters so the letter you may receive could be from the previous meeting. 17 letters were sent out and there were two good job letters. The next meeting will be held October 6, 2023 at the Commons in Oklahoma City. Jamie Lee went over two scenarios for the RTAB group as if they were reviewing the CQI case. Ms. Lee brought up that you should be following your trauma plan, proper patient prioritization transporting to proper Trauma Centers. For Hospitals length of stay, prioritization of patient, and unnecessary delays in transport of the patient.
 - Regional Educational Planning Committee did not meet.
 - Nicole Gregory reported the Region Medical Planning Group is meeting August 23, 2023 in McAlester and will be an in-person meeting.
- 6. Sarah Connally informed the group that EMS-C is focusing on safe sleep awareness, Autism/Non-verbal, and water safety this year. They still have Pedi-mates available if EMS needs them. For upcoming training event contact Ms. Connally.
- 7. Laura Isom shared about upcoming Stroke events. 1. St. Francis Trauma & Stroke Symposium September 14, 2023 and OU Stroke Symposium August 26, 2023.
- 8. Christian Bonds presents concussion awareness material that shows what the guidelines are for prevention and response. Mr. Bonds shares the state law and the requirements of schools and discusses options for schools to become compliant with Oklahoma's concussion law.



9. Business

• A motion was made by Nate Toews to add Chris Miller to the CQI committee and was seconded by Pamela Cunningham. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
James Smith AELT		
Lisa Vowels		
Randy Bryant		
Randy Springfield		
Nate Toews		
Gerrick Johnson		
Brandy Ray		
Keith Lickly		
TJ Caudill		
Benny Brooks		
Pamela Cunningham		
James Smith MMEMS		
Samantha McDowra		
Jauquetta Trotter		

• A motion was made by Nate Toews to excuse absence for Medical Air Rescue Company (MARC) for August 10, 2023 and was seconded by T.J. Caudill. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
James Smith AELT	-	
Lisa Vowels		
Randy Bryant		
Randy Springfield		
Nate Toews		
Gerrick Johnson		
Brandy Ray		
Keith Lickly		
TJ Caudill		
Benny Brooks		
Pamela Cunningham		
James Smith MMEMS		
Samantha McDowra		
Jauquetta Trotter		

- Nominations for RTAB Officers for 2024;
 - A. Chair Pamela Cunningham
 - B. Vice Chair Benny Brooks
 - C. Secretary Korey Langston



Proposed 2024 RTAB Board Members

Hospitals - 2024	EMS Agencies - 2024
AllianceHealth Durant	Air Evac Lifeteam 129 Idabel
Atoka County Medical Center	McAlester Regional Air Care
Choctaw Memorial Hospital	Seminole FD EMS
Choctaw Nation Health Service Authority	Bryan County EMS
Eastern Okla Medical Center	City of Antlers
Mary Hurley Hospital	Colbert EMS
McAlester Regional Health Center	EMS of LeFlore County
McCurtain Memorial Hospital	Hughes Co EMS
Pushmataha County Hospital	Wewoka Fire Department
Creek Nation Community Hospital	McCurtain County EMS

• 2024 Committee Members

2024 REPC	2024 CQI
Kari Beggs - Chair	Nate Toews, Chair
Larry Burrows	Christopher Bradshaw, DO
Delbert Gay	Pamela Cunningham
Brian Norton	Lindsay DaVault, MD
Jauquetta Trotter	Delbert Gay
	Alicia Griffith
	Michael Hunter
	Matthew Sims, DO
	Samantha McDowra
	Chris Miller was approved today

- Discussion about the proposed 2024 RTAB meeting dates, times, and location
 Pittsburg County Health Department, 1400 East College, McAlester, Oklahoma 74501
 - **1.** February 08, 2024 10:30 a.m.
 - **2.** May 09, 2024 10:30 a.m.
 - **3.** August 08, 2024 10:30 a.m.
 - **4.** November 14, 2024 10:30 a.m.

10. Planning discussion topics

- Samantha McDowra, Paris Regional Health Center shared that the Texas Wristband Project was only for the Texas EMS agencies.
- Tessa Cleary-Smith shared about the updated T-3 algorithms and they have been approved by the Oklahoma Trauma and Emergency Response Advisory Council. The updated algorithms are in the meeting packet and are awaiting approval by our Communications department.
- Ms. Cleary-Smith shared EMResource should be updated daily. Grace Pelley talked about the subcategories on EMResource such as does the Region prefer for cardiac. Brian Norton suggested different Levels for Cardiac capabilities for hospitals.

11. No New Business

- 12. Future meeting dates for 2023
 - Thursday, November 9, 2023 10:30 a.m.
- 13. No Public Comment



14. A motion was made by Nate Toews to adjourn and seconded by TJ Caudill at 12:01 p.m. The motion carried as follows:

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
James Smith AELT		
Lisa Vowels		
Randy Bryant		
Randy Springfield		
Nate Toews		
Gerrick Johnson		
Brandy Ray		
Keith Lickly		
TJ Caudill		
Benny Brooks		
Pamela Cunningham		
James Smith MMEMS		
Samantha McDowra		
Jauquetta Trotter		