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In December of 2019, the president signed
legislation raising the minimum legal age for

tobacco sales from 18 to 21. The new law is known as
“Tobacco 21" or “T21" In May of 2020, the Oklahoma
governor signed T21 legislation into state law.

Federal AND state law now prohibit retailers from
o R I 2 I selling tobacco to anyone under 21 years of age.

When and where does the new law apply? What are the current federal penalties

. . , for selling to those under 21?
Immediately. It is now illegal to sell any tobacco

product to anyone under 21, including members First-time violators receive a Warning Letter
of the military. The ban includes cigarettes, cigars from the FDA. A second violation within 12
and e-cigarettes. It applies to all U.S. states, months will result in a $292 penalty. A
territories and tribal jurisdictions. maximum penalty of $11,698 may be assessed

for a sixth or subsequent violation at the same

retail location within a 48-month period. The
- FDA may also pursue a No-Tobacco-Sale Order
(NTSO) against retailers that have five or more
violations within 36 months. Retailers are
prohibited from selling regulated tobacco
products at the specified location during the
period of the NTSO. More information is
available at: bit.ly/FDATobENf

What are the penalties for youth who are caught trying to purchase or those
who are using tobacco products?

In Oklahoma, underage tobacco possession is a violation of Oklahoma law. The fine for the first offense
is $100, and the second offense is $200. Fines may be reduced by contacting the ABLE Commission at
1-866-894-3517, Option 4, and settling the case before the hearing date.



What are the current Oklahoma penalties for selling tobacco products
to underage persons?

Anyone caught selling tobacco to underage persons is subject to fines ranging from $100 to $300.
Nonpayment will result in driver’s license suspension. A retailer’s tobacco or sales tax permit may also
be suspended. If you have questions, please contact the ABLE Commission’s Enforcement Division at
405-521-6578 or review their Tobacco Information Downloads at:
www.ok.gov/able/Tobacco_Information_Downloads/index.htm!

Who currently enforces tobacco How do | report a violation?

laws in Oklahoma? L -
To report a violation, please visit the FDA's

Tobacco laws are enforced by the Oklahoma Potential Tobacco Violation Reporting System
Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement or call 1-877-CTP-1373, and select Option 3.
Commission (ABLE Commission). The ABLE Submissions are reviewed by FDA's Center for
Commission enforces the law through random Tobacco Products, Office of Compliance and
inspections and investigations of complaints. Enforcement. To report a violation to the
More ]nformation is avai|ab|e at: ABLE CommiSSiOﬂ, Ca” 1-866-894-3517
www.ok.gov/able/Enforcement/index.html and select Option 1.

Underage Tobacco Possession

Enforcement Division

Report Violations to the FDA

Report Violations to the ABLE Commision

What services are available for individuals interested in quitting tobacco?

The Oklahoma Tobacco Helpline offers at least one quit coaching call and a two-week supply of FREE
nicotine replacement therapy which includes patches, gum or lozenges. Services are available by
calling 1-800-QUIT NOW (1-800-784-8669) or by visiting www.OKhelpline.com.

The Tobacco Prevention & Youth Engagement Resource Guide is a digital resource. It is available to
people who educate youth about the dangers of tobacco use. Find it here: bit.ly/OKTobaccoYouthGuide



Where can retailers find resources about preventing underage tobacco sales?

National Resources

1w

The FDA's “This is Our Watch” program helps tobacco retailers better understand FDA tobacco

regulations, the importance of compliance and the greater purpose — protecting youth from the

harms of tobacco use. Free resources include a digital age verification calendar that quickly

determines if a customer is old enough to purchase tobacco products. The calendar can be

programmed to display the exact date a customer must have been born on or before to legally buy
tobacco products. Resources are available at: bit ly/RetailWatch

For a tutorial on using the calendar, visit: bit.ly/CalendarTutorial

State Resources

Education and technical assistance are available to retailers and clerks through several Oklahoma state

agencies. There is also a prerecorded webinar available that features the following information:

- Oklahoma Compliance & Enforcement Investigations

- R.EFUS.E. System — Tips for what clerks should look for during a tobacco sale

- Components of acceptable identification documents for tobacco sales

The prerecorded webinar is available at: bit.ly/OKTobaccoWebinar

Please contact the following agencies for additional assistance.

Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Laws
Enforcement Commission

(Enforcement Division)

1-866-894-3517 (Option 1)
www.ok.gov/able/Enforcement/index.htm!

Oklahoma Department of Mental Health
and Substance Abuse Services

(Prevention Services)

405-248-9200
www.ok.gov/odmhsas/Prevention_/index.htm!

Oklahoma State Department of Health
(Center for Chronic Disease Prevention
and Health Promotion)

405-271-3619 | Center@health.ok.gov

www.ok.gov/health/Health_Promotion/index.html

Oklahoma Tobacco

Settlement Endowment Trust
(Public Information and Outreach)
405-521-3888 | tset@tset.ok.gov
tset.ok.gov/content/about-us




