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2025 NEW Dental Assistant Permit Application

By CREDENTIALS
Non-Refundable Fee for Permit $100.00
You must secure this permit within 30 days of employment in a Dental Office!ll

This form must be COMPLETED in full and returned with a check, cashier’s check or money order (Non-Refundable)
ONLY to:

Oklahoma State Board of Dentistry
2920 N Lincoln Blvd., Ste. B
OKC, OK 73105
*IF THIS APPLICATION IS NOT FILLED OUT IN FULL IT WILL BE RETURNED BY THE BOARD OFFICE*

Section |. Official Registration and Correspondence Address
*All information in Section | is required*

Name: Address:

City: County: State: Zip:
Daytime Phone: ( ) - Date of Birth: / /
Email Address: @ SSN:

Have you ever held an Oklahoma Dental license or permit (of any type) under a previous name? Yes /No

List all previous name(s)

Section Il. List all office in which you practice as a dental assistant in the past year

Current Employing Dentist: Start Date: / /
Full Time Part Time Phone: ( ) - Fax: ( )
Address: City: State: Zip:

Section lll. Education and Training

1. Are you currently a dental assistant student in Oklahoma? Yes/No If yes, what school?

2. Have you ever held expanded functions through another State? Yes /No
If yes, what state? which expanded functions?
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Section IV. You MUST answer all questions below and sign the affidavit.

1. Have you ever been suspended from practice, reprimanded, censured, or otherwise disciplined or disqualified as a Dentist,
Dental Hygienist, or Dental Assistant from any State or Licensing Jurisdiction, or are you currently under any investigation?
Yes No

*I have read this question carefully and answered honestly (initial)
2. Other than traffic tickets, have you ever been arrested for any crime or the subject of ANY disciplinary action by ANY government

agency or licensing authority; Federal, State, or Municipal, even if the case was deferred, dismissed, or expunged?

Yes No
*I have read this question carefully and answered honestly (initial)
3. Have you ever been arrested, convicted of, or pled guilty to, or no contest to any offense related to controlled dangerous
substances, a DUI, DWI, or APC? Yes No
*I have read this question carefully and answered honestly (initial)

*If you answered YES to ANY of the questions listed in Section IV, please attach a letter with an explanation including
ANY charges, dates, county/state, and the outcome.

**Failure to include this explanation may delay the process of your application.*

Section V. Continuing Education

1. I understand that between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2025, [ must accumulate and report 2 hours of infection
control continuing education credits.

2.l understand that I MUST report my CE online via my online account. To access go to www.ok.gov/dentistry and
click on Access my online account on the home page.

Section VI. Affidavit of Dental Assistant

I do hereby attest that all information or statements made on this form(s) or any information given in connection therewith, to be
true and correct. | understand and agree that this is a State of Oklahoma official document and any misrepresentation or
fraudulent statement on any part of this form(s) may be grounds for disciplinary action as set forth by the Oklahoma State Dental
Act as well as other laws under the State of Oklahoma.

Dental Assistant Signature: Date:

Total Permit and Other Fees:

1. 2025 Dental Assistant Permit (Check, Cashier’s check or Money Order Only) - $100.00 (Non-Refundable)

*IMPORTANT*
Include a color copy of your Driver License or passport (Do Not Cut Out)
Answer all question(s) honestly
Application is Completed and Notarized

THE OKLAHOMA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Dr. Bobby Carmen Norman, President Sheriff Andrew Simmons, Muskogee Dr. Shawn Scott, Marlow
Dr. Scott White, Glenpool Rachel Ostberg, RDH, Bartlesville Chief ].R Kidney, Tecumseh
Dr. Stan Crawford, Grove Dr. Lisa Nowlin, Elk City Dr. Brant Rouse, Ft. Gibson

Dr. Krista Jones, Edmond Dr. Erin Roberts, Enid


http://www.ok.gov/dentistry

Please note you CANNOT fill out both affidavits. All natural persons fourteen (14) years of age or older and present in the United States,
applying for a license with the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry are required by the provisions of 56 0.S. Supp. 2207 § 71, to provide the Board with verification
of lawful presence in the United States by executing on of the Affidavits below before Notary Public or other Officer authorized to notarize Affidavits under

State law. The Board’s licensing offices are staffed with notaries who are available to provide notary service at no cost to applicants.

Option1- Verification of Citizenship

Affidavit of:

(Applicant’s Name)

STATE OF: )
COUNTY OF: )
, of lawful age, being duly sworn, upon oath states, under penalty of
perjury, as follows: I am a United States Citizen.
(Signature of Applicant)

Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this day of , 20
By

(Applicant)

My Commission Expires:
(Notary)

(SEAL)

Option 2- Verifying Qualified Alien Status — Please submit a copy of your passport, green card, etc. with this application!

Affidavit of:

(Applicant’s Name)

STATE OF: )

COUNTY OF: )

, of lawful age, being duly sworn, upon oath states, under penalty of
perjury, as follows: | am a qualified alien under Federal Immigration and Naturalization Act, and | am lawfully present in the United States.

(Signature of Applicant)

Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this day of , 20

By

(Applicant)

My Commission Expires:

(Notary) (SEAL)



DENTAL ASSISTANT OUT OF STATE EXPANDED FUNCTION REQUEST INSTRUCTIONS

This application is for dental assistants who have obtained any expanded function(s) from another
state and wish to see if they are eligible for expanded function(s) in the State of Oklahoma.

‘What to do first:

You must obtain an Oklahoma Dental Assistant Permit before you are legally authorized to work in
a dental office and before you are eligible for any expanded function(s). You can find the
application on our website at www.ok.gov/dentistry under the Applications and Forms tab. You
may submit this request once you have obtained your permit.

Oklahoma Rules and Regulations 195:15-1-4 states that:

“Applicants who successfully complete recognized expanded duty training at a formal dental assisting
program approved by the Board and the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association shall be eligible for permits.”

Therefore, you must have completed a CODA approved Dental Assisting program in order to be
eligible for any out of state expanded functions. To see if your school is CODA approved, you may
go to http://www.ada.org/en/coda and click on “Find a Program.” If your school is not on the list
of approved programs, you will be required to retake any expanded function course(s) in the State of

Oklahoma to be eligible to perform that function. You can contact the Oklahoma Dental
Foundation at (405)241-1299 or visit www.okdf.org for course information.

The Committee meets quarterly, so you may not hear anything on your request for up to 3 months,
depending on when the Board Office receives your request. You will be notified in writing at the
address on file for you once the Committee has made a recommendation and the Board has
approved the recommendation. Should the Committee approve you for expanded function(s), the
Board Office will send you the appropriate application to complete. You are not authorized to
perform any expanded function(s) until it reflects on your permit that is displayed in the dental
office.

If you cannot or do not submit a complete packet, there is no guarantee the Committee will be
able to make a recommendation to the Board. The Committee reviews your education, not your
permit itself, in attempt to establish equivalency in education.

If you have any questions please contact the Board Office during normal business hours at
(405)522-4844.



http://www.ok.gov/dentistry
http://www.ada.org/en/coda
http://www.okdf.org/

DENTAL ASSISTANT OUT OF STATE EXPANDED FUNCTION REQUEST

In order to be eligible for an out-of-state Dental Assistant permit with expanded duties,
applicants must have a valid dental assistant permit for (2) years, in good standing and has
completed a CODA approved program.

Ifyou have received an Expanded Function permit outside of Oklahoma, please be aware that they DO NOT
automatically transfer. You must be permitted through the State of Oklahoma.

Dental Assistant Name: Date: / /
Mailing Address:
Daytime Phone Number: Oklahoma Dental Assistant Permit #: DA

Name of Dental Assistant School:

Program State: Email Address:

What expanded function(s) are you requesting?

____ Radiation Safety and Protection

____ Coronal Polishing & Topical Fluoride

__ Pit & Fissure Sealants

___ Assisting in the Administration of Nitrous Oxide

Please attach the following documentation to this request for the Committee on Allied Dental
Education to review:

|:| Education: The course outline on all expanded functions requested and CPR card-if assisting with
Nitrous; Official transcripts-must be in a sealed envelope. Proof of a valid certificate with a minimum of
(1) year

|:| Verification of Licensure: Contact the State Board you currently held a license.

|:| Specific clinical experience: Letter of recommendation from previous/current employer working
for a minimum of (1) year.

|:| Military Service: Proof of military service of (2) years with any certifications or training in any of

the certification/expanded areas; Verification from the commanding officer of the medical program or
appropriate supervisor confirming functions were provided on patients for a minimum of (1) year within
the past (5) years.

Once you have a complete packet, please mail to:
Oklahoma State Board of Dentistry

2920 N Lincoln Blvd., Ste. B
OKC, 0K 73105




