
OKLAHOMA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING 
ADVISORY BOARD ON MASSAGE THERAPY 
2401 NW 23rd Street, Suite 74, Oklahoma City, OK 73107-2453 
Student Department 405.521.2441 • Oklahoma.gov/cosmo 

 

J. KEVIN STITT 
Governor 

 
Leah Longest 

Board Chair 
 

 
 

 

APPRENTICE PROGRAM GENERAL INFORMATION 

OSBCB FORM 111 
Revised 10/24 

The following are short excerpts from our Rules, Regulations and Law Book: 
 
 • Only a licensed Instructor may train an apprentice in an establishment. Only one (1) apprentice per establishment shall be 
approved to be trained at any given time. 
 
• A currently licensed Instructor who wishes to train an apprentice shall make written application to the Board.  The application 
shall include: 
 

Apprentice inspection fee of $20, which includes purchase of rules, regulations and law books; apprentice registration; 
and inspection fee. 
 
A statement from the establishment owner granting permission to conduct the apprenticeship within their 
establishment.  

 
• An inspection will be made by the Board for approval of required equipment, textbooks, and theory tests. 
 
• Apprentice must show proof of at least an 8th grade education or equivalent. 
 
• Apprentice training may be approved for the following courses: Cosmetology, Barber, Manicurist, Facialist, and 
Cosmetician. Training may also be approved for review hours as required to reinstate an expired license. 
 
• Hours required for completion double under the apprenticeship training program: 
 Basic Cosmetologist 3,000 hours 
 Barber   3,000 hours 
 Manicurist  1,200 hours 
 Facial Operator 1,200 hours 
 Cosmetician  1,200 hours 
 
• The instructor may NOT charge the apprentice for training.  The instructor MAY charge for services rendered by the 
apprentice while in apprentice training. 
 
Please contact the Board offices if you have additional questions. 


