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OKLAHOMA CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES BOARD 

 
                                  2401 NW 23rd, Suite 2F 
                         OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73107 
             PH: (405) 521-6550 or Toll Free (877) 484-4424 
                               Web site: www.ok.gov/cib 

 
MECHANICAL APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR LIMITED RESI DENTIAL INSTALLER 

 
FEES – MUST ACCOMPANY APPLICATION: 
Make remittance payable to the CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES BOARD (CIB) 
Limited Residential Installer   $75.00          (License  Fee $50.00 + Application Fee $25.00= total  $75.00) 
 
LIMITED RESIDENTIAL INSTALLER: 
A limited residential installer license entitles the licensee to install complete new systems in new construction for detached one or two 
family dwellings and multiple single family dwellings (townhouses) not  more than three stories in height with a separate means of 
egress. Installations shall include 5-ton or less cooling systems and 150,000 Btu/h or less heating systems and related accessories such 
as humidifiers, filtering systems, kitchen vent hoods, exhaust fans and clothes dryer vent exhausts for such dwellings. Such 
installations shall not include any fuel gas piping, welding, soldering, brazing or final connection of refrigerant lines or final 
connection of any electrical wiring permitted to be   installed in accordance with Oklahoma statutes. 
 
EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
All persons applying for a license must provide proof of experience in the mechanical trade. Applicants for mechanical license 
examinations who are not licensed and wish to include experience gained in Oklahoma must maintain an apprentice registration on 
file with the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board for all experience obtained in Oklahoma. The Construction Industries Board 
will not consider experience obtained in or outside of Oklahoma as verifiable experience for periods in which an apprentice is 
unregistered, except for experience lawfully obtained according to any applicable federal or state laws, and must be comprised of 
mechanical work as defined under the Act and in this Chapter. 
 
"Verifiable experience" means mechanical experience obtained while employed by a licensed Mechanical contractor, or by other 
means approved by the Committee of Mechanical Examiners including equivalent experience earned while serving in the U.S. 
Military, for which one year of verifiable experience equals two thousand (2,000) hours.  
 
Applicants for a limited residential installer license must be at least eighteen (18) years of age and have: 
1. one (1) year of verifiable experience in the mechanical trade in the category for which he or she is applying, or 
2. a vocational diploma certifying completion of an educational program consisting of a minimum of two hundred and fifty (250) or 
more hours from a school, approved by the Committee, which exhibits knowledge of the trade and in the category of limited 
residential applied for, and six (6)  months of verifiable experience in the mechanical trade, or 
3. equivalent, verifiable experience in the mechanical trade while serving in the U.S. military. 
 
EXAMINATION INFORMATION and MATERIAL FOR STUDY: 
All applicants are required to pass the Oklahoma mechanical limited residential installer exam to gain licensure.  
Once the Construction Industries Board receives your application and remittance, it will be reviewed for approval. Once approved you 
will receive a letter stating your application has been approved and your information will be forwarded to our national testing provider 
PSI for testing. You are responsible for contacting PSI to schedule an appointment to take the exam by calling 800-733-9267 or 
via the internet at www.psiexams.com. Contact PSI for study materials, testing sites, testing fees and testing dates or download the 
Candidate Information Bulletin from their website. 
 
Any applicant initially failing to pass the examination shall not be permitted to take another examination for a period of thirty (30) 
days.  Any applicant subsequently failing to pass the examination shall not be permitted to take another examination for a period of 
ninety (90) days. 
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Oklahoma Construction Industries Board  
2401 N.W. 23rd Street, Suite 2F 
Oklahoma City, OK  73107 
Telephone:  (405) 521-6550 
 

APPLICATION FOR L IMITED RESIDENTIAL INSTALLER EXAM INATION 
 License Fees Must Accompany Application 

Type or print in ink 
 
1. NAME __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                       First                                                          Middle                                                          Last 
 
2. Mailing Address___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                                                       City                            State                         Zip 
        Physical Address__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                                                       City                            State                         Zip 
        Email: ___________________________________________ SSN Required: _______________________________________ 
 
3. TELEPHONE: (        ) ______________ (         ) _____________   (         ) _____________ BIRTHDATE: ____/____/________ 
                                             Residence                                Business                       Cell Phone 
 
4.  EDUCATION (Attach copy of a transcript from colleges, universities, or trade schools approved by the Committee of 

Mechanical Examiners and other documents per OAC 158:50-9-1(B)(3)) 
       (A list of approved schools can be found under testing information on the CIB website)  Transcript Provided         Yes               No 
 
5. I AM APPLYING FOR:  
                Limited Residential Installer  Send $75 with Application ($25 application fee & $50 License fee) 

   
 
 6.             I agree to read the Mechanical Licensing Act & Industry Regulations and will comply with them.  

 
I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Oklahoma that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 
 7.  Applicant’s Signature ____________________________________________    Date: ______/_____/_______________ 
                                                                                      Sign before Notary 
 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

This section to be filled out by Notary only 
 

State of ____________________ County of ______________________ 
 

Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this _____ day of ______________, 20___, by _______________________________. 
                                                                                        [Applicant's Name – Please Print]                     
My Commission Expires: ______________           _________________________________              
                                                                                                    [Signature of Notary]                                         
My Commission Number: ______________                                                                                                         (Notary Seal)                 
 
 
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Do Not Mark in This Section            File #__________________ 
 
Approved   By_______________________   Date ___/___/______ 
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Applicant’s Name:__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Certifier: ____________________________________________ License #:____________          Journeyman           Contractor          Not Licensed 
 
 
Company Name (if applicable) _____________________________________Certifiers Telephone No. (      ) ______________________________ 
 
 
StreetAddress__________________________________________________________________________________________________________  
                                                                                                                 City                                                 State                                     Zip                                             
 
Type of work performed: _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

(If other than install be specific) 
 
Employment Dates- Start date: ____________________ End Date (or still employed):_______________________ for a total of _________ hours.  
                                                   
 
 
          I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Oklahoma that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 
 _________________________________          __________________________________        (_____)_______________________ 
Signature of Person Certifying Experience                               Print Name                                      Area Code/Telephone Number 
              Sign before Notary 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

This section to be filled out by Notary only 
 
State of__________________________ County of__________________________ 
 
Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this ____ day of ______________, 20___, by ______________________________. 
                                                                                   [Certifier's Name – Please Print]                     
My Commission Expires: _________________                     ___________________________________________                                                          

                             [Signature of Notary] 
My Commission Number: ________________                                                                                                                                 (Notary Seal)              
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

LIMITED RESIDENTIAL INSTALLER   
CERTIFIER MUST COMPLETE ALL INFORMATION 

List mechanical experience on the following affidavit.  Affidavit must be signed and notarized by someone having 
personal knowledge of applicant’s mechanical experience.  Attach additional affidavits as necessary.  Any additional 
information may be attached to the Application.  
A limited residential  installer  license entitles the licensee to install complete new systems in new construction for detached one or 
two family dwellings and multiple single family dwellings (townhouses) not more than three stories in height with a separate means of 
egress. Installations shall include 5-ton or less cooling systems and 150,000 Btu/h or less heating systems and related accessories such 
as humidifiers, filtering systems, kitchen vent hoods, exhaust fans and clothes dryer vent exhausts for such dwellings. Such 
installations shall not include any fuel gas piping, welding, soldering, brazing or final connection of refrigerant lines or final 
connection of any electrical wiring permitted to be installed in accordance with Oklahoma statutes. 
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Instructions for Required Affidavit:  
 
All natural persons fourteen (14) years of age or older and present in the United States, applying for a license with the 
Oklahoma Construction Industries Board are required, by the provisions of 56 O.S. § 71, to provide the Board with 
verification of lawful presence in the United States by executing the Affidavit shown below before a notary public or 
other officer authorized to notarize affidavits under State law.  The Board’s licensing office is staffed with notaries who 
are available to provide notary service at no cost to Applicants. 
 
 
 AFFIDAVIT VERIFYING LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED S TATES 
 
  
 Affidavit of  
 
_______________________________   STATE OF OKLAHOMA  ) 
         [Applicant's Full Name]          ) ss: 

COUNTY OF _______________ ) 
 
 
I ________________________, of lawful age, being first duly sworn, upon oath state, under penalty  
         [Applicant's Full Name] 

 
of perjury, as follows: 
 
 
Please check the appropriate box: 

 

Option 1:  □ I am a United States Citizen. 

Option 2:  □ I am a qualified alien under the federal Immigration and Naturalization Act, and I am 
lawfully present in the United States.  For this Option, a copy of a valid immigration 
document which reflects the applicant's "A" number or "I-94" number must accompany this 
Affidavit. 

 
 

____________________________________ 
                        [Signature of Applicant] 

 
 

Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this ______ day of ________________, 20_____, by 
_________________________________. 
                [Applicant's Name – Please Print]                              
   

        
     ____________________________________ 

                        [Signature of Notary] 

  
My Commission Expires: _______________ 
 
My Commission Number: _______________                                            (Notary Seal)    


