

Oklahoma State Department of Health Creating a State of Health

Medical Direction and Coordination Committee REGULAR MEETING Wednesday, February 7, 2024 – 10:00 a.m.

Location of Meeting: ODOT Training Center 5307 NE 122nd Street • Oklahoma City, OK 73131

The Medical Direction and Coordination Committee regular meeting notice was posted on the OSDH website located at https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/licensing-inspections/emergency-systems/oterac.html as well as the Secretary of State's website located at https://www.sos.ok.gov/meetings/legacy/search.aspx on December 4, 2023.

Agenda

- 1. Call to Order Dr. Patrick Cody, Chair Dr. Cody called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM.

Present at Roll Call	Absent at Roll Call
David Behm, DO	James Campbell, DO
David Caughell, MD	Lindsay DaVault, MD
Amanda Celii, MD	Jason McElyea, DO
Patrick Cody, DO	
David Gearhart, DO	
Curtis Knoles, MD	
Charles Olson, MD	
R. William Worden, DO	

- 3. Introductions and Announcements...... Dr. Patrick Cody, Chair Dr. Cody asked if there were introductions or announcements. There were none.
- 4. Approval of Minutes from November 1, 2023...... Dr. Patrick Cody, Chair A motion was made to approve the minutes by Dr. Gearhart and seconded by Dr. Worden. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed.

Ayes	Nays	Abstain
David Behm, DO		
David Caughell, MD		
Amanda Celii, MD		
Patrick Cody, DO		
David Gearhart, DO (1 st)		
Curtis Knoles, MD		
Charles Olson, MD		



- 5. Discussion, consideration, possible action, and vote to recommend...... Dr. Patrick Cody, Chair
 - Revised Interfacility Trauma Triage Reference Manual including defined nomenclature Ms. Lee presented the changes the committee had worked on the previous meeting. The Committee members then discussed other possible changes. After a lengthy discussion, the committee decided to work on heavily revise the document in order to make it more accessible and less textbook like. Dr. Cody will speak with Grace Pelley in order to find a reasonable starting point for the revisions. The committee will revisit at the next meeting.
 - Revise and amend current State protocol guidelines The committee chose to review and revise the State protocol guidelines. They assigned sections to review as follows:
 - Section 1: General Assessment & General Supportive Care Dr. Knoles
 - Section 2: Airway Dr. Cody
 - Section 3: Pulmonary/Respiratory Dr. Cody
 - Section 4: Cardiac Arrest Dr. Knoles
 - Section 5: Cardiac (Non-Arrest) Dr. Caughell
 - Section 6: Neurologic/Altered Mental Status Dr. Olson
 - Section 7: Psychiatric/Behavioral Disorders Dr. Olson
 - Section 8: Toxicologic/Poisonings Dr. Worden
 - Section 9: Medical Dr. Behm
 - Section 10: Trauma Dr. Celii
 - Section 11: Environmental Dr. Gearhart
 - Section 12: Fireground Related Dr. Worden
 - Section 13: Obstetric/Gynecologic Dr. Caughell
 - Section 14: Response, Scene Issues & Patient Transportation Dr. Campbell
 - Section 15: Mass Casualty/Disaster/Terrorist Events Dr. Gearhart
 - Section 16: Formulary Whole group
 - Section 17: Reserved for Agency Specific Use Dr. McElyea
 - Section 18: Reserved for Agency Specific Use Pilot Programs/Research
 - Section 19: Appendices Dr. McElyea
- 6. Next Meeting Date
 - May 1, 2024 10:00 a.m.
- 7. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

8. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made by Dr. Caughell and seconded by Dr. Worden. A roll call vote was taken, and the meeting adjourned at 12:00pm

Ayes	Nays	Abstain	
David Behm, DO			
David Caughell, MD (1 st)			
Amanda Celii, MD			
Patrick Cody, DO			
David Gearhart, DO			
Curtis Knoles, MD			
Charles Olson, MD			
R. William Worden, DO (2 nd)			