OKLAHOMA BOARD OF CORRECTIONS REGULAR MEETING AGENDA

EDDIE WARRIOR CORRECTIONAL CENTER
601 N. Oak St.,
Taft, Oklahoma 74463
1:00 PM on July 27, 2022

ITEM PRESENTER

1. Call to Order:

to Order: T. Hastings Siegfried
A. Pledge of Allegiance Chair

B. Roll Call

2. Approval of Board of Corrections Regular Meeting Minutes for:

A. May 25, 2022

T. Hastings Siegfried Chair

3. Chairman's Welcome

T. Hastings Siegfried Chair

4. Facility Warden Welcome

Gregory Breslin Warden

5. Director's Comments:

Scott Crow Director

A. Emergency Purchases:

Pursuant to 61 O.S. § 130, the chief administrative officer of a public agency with a governing body shall notify the governing body within ten (10) days of the declaration of an emergency if the governing body did not approve the emergency. The notification shall contain a statement of the reasons for the action and shall be recorded in the official minutes of the governing body.

- I. Emergency purchase to repair a gas line at Lexington Reception and Assessment Center (LARC) on June 10, 2022.
- II. Emergency purchase to repair a sewer line at Lexington Reception and Assessment Center (LARC) on June 16, 2022.
- III. Emergency purchase for tower team emergency rescue at Mack Alford Correctional Center (MACC) on July 25, 2022.
- B. Community Correction Centers American Correctional Association (ACA) Accreditation
- C. Correctional Officer Applications Since April 1st
- D. Appointment of Jason Sparks as Chief Administrator of Oklahoma Correctional Industries
- 6. Warden Appointment
 - A. OSR Interim Warden William "Chris" Rankins

B. NOCCC Interim Warden Derrick Yazel

Jason Bryant Chief Administrator of Institutions James Rudek Chief Administrator of Community Corrections 7. Inmate/Offender Population Update

Travis Gray Administrator of Classification and Population

- 8. Agency Budget Update:
 - A. FY2022 BOC Budget Reports
 - B. FY2023 Budget Work Program
 - C. FY2024 Capital Outlay Request
- 9. Legislative Update

Antwonette Kimble Chief Administrator of Business Services

Justin Wolf Chief Administrator of Communications and Government Relations

Chief Administrator of

Auditing and Compliance

- 10. Approval of Board of Correction Policy:
 - A. P-020100 entitled "Management of Oklahoma Department of Corrections Information"
 - B. P-060100 entitled "Classification and Case Management of Inmates/Offenders"
 - C. P-090100 entitled "Provisions of Programs"
 - D. P-170100 entitled "Community Sentencing"
- 11. Approval of Delegation Authority to the Director to Declare Emergencies Pursuant to 61 OS §130 (B):

The governing body of a public agency may, upon approval of two-thirds (2/3) majority of all of the members of the governing body, delegate to the chief administrative officer of a public agency the authority to declare an emergency whereby the provisions of the Public Competitive Bidding Act of 1974 with reference to notice and bids shall not apply to contracts less than Seventy-five Thousand Dollars (\$75,000.00) in amount; provided, such authority of the Department of Transportation and the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority shall not extend to any contract exceeding Seven Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars (\$750,000.00) in amount and such authority of the Department of Corrections shall not extend to any contract exceeding Two Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars (\$250,000.00) in amount for situations in which the emergency impacts the conditions of confinement, health and safety of correctional officers and inmates in the custody of the Department of Corrections.

Kari Hawkins General Counsel

Shelly Bear

12. Unit Spotlight:

A. ReMerge Program

Dusty Tate Probation and Parole Officer

- 13. Committee Reports Standing Committees:
 - A. Executive Chair Hastings Siegfried, Vice-Chair Calvin Prince and Secretary Dr. Kathryn LaFortune
 - B. Population/Security/Private Prison Chair Calvin Prince, Members Hastings Siegfried, and Lynn Haueter
 - C. Public Policy/Affairs/Criminal Justice Chair Betty Gesell,
 Members Daryl Woodard, Dr. Kathryn LaFortune, and
 Stephan Moore
 - D. Audit/Finance

 Chair Randy Chandler,Members Hastings Siegfried, Lynn Haueter, and Erick Harris
 - E. FY22 Focus Chair Hastings Siegfried, Members Calvin Prince, and Randy Chandler

Committee Chairs

14. New Business T. Hastings Siegfried Chair

15. Election of Officers:

All Members

- A. Chair
- B. Vice-Chair
- C. Secretary
- 16. Approval to Enter into Executive Session:

Kari Hawkins General Counsel

- A. Pursuant to 25 O.S. § 307(B)(4), discussion regarding Smith, et al. v. Allbaugh, CIV-19-470-G (U.S. District Court for the Western District of Oklahoma)
- B. Pursuant to 25 O.S. § 307(B)(4), discussion regarding Coddington, Crow Case No. 22-6100 (Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals)
- C. Office of Inspector General Update on Control of Contraband in State Correctional Facilities
- 17. Approval to Return from Executive Session

Kari Hawkins General Counsel

18. Adjournment T. Hastings Siegfried Chair

The next regular meeting of the Board of Corrections will be held at 1:00 PM on Wednesday, September 28, 2022, at the James Crabtree Correctional Center, Helena, Oklahoma.

Updated on 7/26/2022 10:04:51 AM